Customer Reviews for

Spell Bound (Women of the Otherworld Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other

It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other adult novels have. Perhaps it is because Savannah still seems so immature despite her age. She continually makes poor decisions, which in itself is not the issue. The problem is that she doesn't step up to...
It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other adult novels have. Perhaps it is because Savannah still seems so immature despite her age. She continually makes poor decisions, which in itself is not the issue. The problem is that she doesn't step up to the plate and admit her mistakes, she just runs off at the first sign of confrontation. She also threw several "temper tantrums" because things were not going her way. At one point in the book she talks about how she was always respectful and helpful whenever she visited the werewolves growing up, but was completely lazy and constantly disobeyed Paige and Lucas when she was home. It is obvious that she really cares for her guardians, so why treat them with less respect than the werewolves? Clay did seem to give her a wake up call in Spell Bound, so perhaps we will start to see some major progress in her behavior.  Overall, I liked the book. I liked getting to know Savannah better and all the hints at what's coming are intriguing.  I particularly enjoyed how Savannah represented some portion of twenty-somethings in today's world - don't leave the home of their guardians because they don't want to or can't financially. In her case it's because she doesn't want to because she's afraid of losing her family. I loved that. I also enjoyed that she wasn't the foul-mouthed teenager we met in previous books. I felt like Kelley was laying it on a bit thick with that aspect of her and was afraid she was going to make Savannah some sort of evil bad guy just because of her parentage, so I'm glad she became more nuanced as she got older. Despite the Adam and Savannah relationship, I felt this was a good read.    

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Overall, I thought this was a decent Otherworld novel but defintiely not in the league with any of the other books. It read like a young adult book. "Will he kiss me? Maybe he will. Oh wait, no, he's just looking at me really close." "Lucas/Paige won't like me if I'm di...
Overall, I thought this was a decent Otherworld novel but defintiely not in the league with any of the other books. It read like a young adult book. "Will he kiss me? Maybe he will. Oh wait, no, he's just looking at me really close." "Lucas/Paige won't like me if I'm different." "Wait, yes they will..." The pacing was slow and mired down in teenage-like angst. Spellbound is about Savannah, an Otherworld young woman, but unlike the other characters, it lacked emotional depth and adult complexity and themes. Kelley Armstrong has been devoting her energies to writing for her young adult series and wonder if that has spilled over into the Otherworld Series (which is supposed to be adult).

posted by ILoveBooksWI on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other

    It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other adult novels have. Perhaps it is because Savannah still seems so immature despite her age. She continually makes poor decisions, which in itself is not the issue. The problem is that she doesn't step up to the plate and admit her mistakes, she just runs off at the first sign of confrontation. She also threw several "temper tantrums" because things were not going her way. At one point in the book she talks about how she was always respectful and helpful whenever she visited the werewolves growing up, but was completely lazy and constantly disobeyed Paige and Lucas when she was home. It is obvious that she really cares for her guardians, so why treat them with less respect than the werewolves? Clay did seem to give her a wake up call in Spell Bound, so perhaps we will start to see some major progress in her behavior.  Overall, I liked the book. I liked getting to know Savannah better and all the hints at what's coming are intriguing.  I particularly enjoyed how Savannah represented some portion of twenty-somethings in today's world - don't leave the home of their guardians because they don't want to or can't financially. In her case it's because she doesn't want to because she's afraid of losing her family. I loved that. I also enjoyed that she wasn't the foul-mouthed teenager we met in previous books. I felt like Kelley was laying it on a bit thick with that aspect of her and was afraid she was going to make Savannah some sort of evil bad guy just because of her parentage, so I'm glad she became more nuanced as she got older. Despite the Adam and Savannah relationship, I felt this was a good read.    

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will not be disappointed

    This is the twelfth installment of the "Otherworld" series, and it may just be the best one yet! Kelley Armstrong has offered all sorts of demons, witches, vampires, werewolves, fallen angels - a little bit of everything - with each novel she produces. And, in Spell Bound, Ms. Armstrong has brought some truly beloved characters back together again in order to support, offend, kill, maim, and.fall in love with, Savannah Levine. Savannah Levine (for anyone out there who is still unfamiliar with this series) is a PI, and has just returned from her very first 'detective' case which didn't end well. Walking slowly into a hotel, Savannah is trying to get over the fact that she has just solved the murder of three women and sent a half-demon back to Hell.but she feels absolutely broken. You see, after solving the crime the wrong person was incarcerated - taken away from a little girl who truly needed her family. But when Savannah whispers in her own mind that she would gladly give up her own powers to "fix" this mess, she had no idea who was listening. Savannah soon finds out that all of her "spells" are gone; she can't even unlock a door anymore because her wealth of "magic" has suddenly disappeared. Perhaps The Fates had heard her and took her up on the offer, yet everyone knows that The Fates don't work that way. Soon, Adam - the half-demon who Savannah has been in love with since she was twelve, and who is now her best friend - appears by her side. Together, they enter into a seriously messed-up situation that involves, an odd "pair" who are going to demons door-to-door and leaving no trace of themselves behind except a dead body; a small witch-hunter who seems to desperately want to kill Savannah, yet her plan is far more underhanded; Jaime - the psychic friend who has Savannah's mother, 'Eve,' sitting on her shoulder as she performs psychic shows across the country; Hope, the daughter of Lucifer and wife of a werewolf, who is currently about to have a baby and can't seem to stop having nightmarish visions about Savannah holding a strange sword; and, the list goes on, as readers are handed one of the best "Otherworld"-ly books to date. As the characters come forth, readers learn that the supernatural world may be facing a great enemy. In fact, a maelstrom is about to blow through their world and expose each and every one of them to the normal humans who will want nothing more than to study, examine, and carve them all up. The War is coming, and Savannah seems to be one supernatural girl who both 'sides' want on their team. Quill Says: As always, fans will not be disappointed. All the old characters are back, but this twelfth installment seems to be setting the stage for a grand finale!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Satisfying read

    This book did not disappoint. I loved seeing everyone coming together. I am pleased!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Spell Binding

    It makes you want to keep reading until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Love this series

    Love this series love the characters these books are meant for adults this book is the second to last in the series so dont start with this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Extremely recommended to paranormal action junkies!

    I was recommended this series from a borders worker a few years ago and love this series. In this book particularly, is 10 years after the first book. So many different characters and never dull moments. I can't wait to get the last one, Thirteen! I have also read other kelley Armstrong books and I am definitely an author fan. She writes adult and teen thrillers. Amazing!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Love the series...

    Great read, love this series! Can't wait till the next book! Recommend to start the Women of the Otherworld Series before starting this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    FASCINATING !!!!

    A great story. Well-written. The story moves at a fast clip and characters are believable. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great book

    I love this entire series. This book was no different. My only complaint is that it ended rather abruptly and without much resolution. I really hope that the next book in the series will be out sooner than later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Loved It!!!

    I cannot wait for more and was sad when the end came. Armstrong is an excellent writer and I couldn't put the book down. I have read most of her work in the past and she never disappoints. Im just waiting for the next book so I can find out if Adam will finally admit he loves Savannah or still pretend to be just a friend. Even without the little bit of Romance the story itself is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    another hit!

    I love this series! This book was especially great cause she took the time to add more of her famous characters into working together. Finally Sahvanna and Adam are making progress!!! Can't wait for the next one and to see where the "war" leads!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Engaging

    What's a witch to do when she's lost her powers? That's the question Savannah Levine is asking herself at this very moment. When you're one of the most dangerous and powerful witches alive, being without your spells is a very dangerous position to be in. Especially when someone's trying to kill you.

    Savannah has really grown up over the course of the series. Back when we first met her, she was angry and afraid and arrogant. Despite the fact that she still has some anger issues and a bit of an attitude, she handles herself much better than in the early days. She's taken the tragedies of her life and uses them as fuel for the good she's trying to do now. The loss of her spells really hits her hard in this book and leaves her somewhat at a loss for awhile. I really like the young woman she's grown into.

    Her relationship with the half demon Adam grows ever stronger throughout the course of this story. While I hated the dissent between the two of them during the middle portion, I appreciated the real world way in which they both handle themselves, especially when things get difficult and awkward. It makes me both wonder and hope that Savannah's attraction to Adam will be revealed in the next book so that she can have her happy ending.

    Kelley Armstrong's never-ending cast of characters makes for a wonderful world full of surprises, adventure, and always that helping hand when you need it the most. Despite the fact that each book usually centers on a different character, you're sure to run into someone familiar along the way as well. This, along with her flowing, easy style of writing, is why I enjoy this series as much as I do. There's always something new and exciting waiting just around the corner, but you also always have an old friend there to hold your hand while you experience it.
    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Savannah is growing up

    I enjiyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the wait!

    I absolutely loved this book! I had to force myself to slow down while reading it, though, knowing that the last book won't be out until next year ;-) Savannah is quickly moving up the list as one of my favorite Otherworld narrators (only Elena and Eve are ahead of her now), and her eternal crush on Adam is only a tiny little part of it. It's been so much fun watching her grow up in this series--and hard to believe that it's coming to an end next year. Armstrong is pulling out all the stops in the last two books of the Otherworld series, and it shows! Everyone who is anyone in the universe makes at least a small appearance in this novel, it seems. This isn't the book to start the series with, but if you've been a loyal fan so far, it won't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an enjoyable entry in the Otherworld saga

    Her DNA spells trouble for others as kick-butt twentyish six foot witch Savannah Levine takes no prisoners. However, she just worked her first paranormal case as a private investigator in Columbus, Washington (see Waking the Witch), but has a problem to overcome if she is to remain in the business. She has lost her supernatural power while a deadly witch-hunter stalks her.

    Savannah refuses to quit as she had an adrenaline rush from solving the paranormal serial killer case. She plans to use normal detecting skills and assistance from her half-demon BF Adam Vasic. First she must deal with the hunter and find a way to regain the magic taken from her. The case leads her to Supernaturals who plan to step out of the shadows and overtly use their power.

    This is an enjoyable entry in the Otherworld saga (see Waking the Witch) as the focus remains on a rapidly maturing Savannah even with a large diverse "species" support cast. The heroine keeps the storyline anchored as she works an investigation, deals with her lost power and prepares to fight a hunter. Although the enemy is not as powerful as most adversaries in this thrilling urban fantasy series, the overarching Otherworld theme moves forward as fans will relish this deep look at the protagonist who is no longer a petulant teen while the anticipating the war to end wars.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5