Customer Reviews for

Spell Bound (Hex Hall Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended series! I fell in love with Rachel Hawkins!!!

I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encoun...
I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encountered in all my joyous readings...I can't wait for Spell bound to hit the shelves I will be front and center getting my copy! Rachel Hawkin's is an amazing author! I love her whitty characters and her writing style in general!!! Ill be awaiting my copy of Spell bound and I truly hope she continues the series past 3 books!!!!!

posted by 8770624 on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Psssshhhaw

I'm kinda disappointed in the book, it took me like 3-4 hours to read it, but it felt like an hour, don't get me wrong, it's likeable and the end is kinda stable, but it seems like there should be more, and maybe there'll be a next book, so we can see izzy and Torin's s...
I'm kinda disappointed in the book, it took me like 3-4 hours to read it, but it felt like an hour, don't get me wrong, it's likeable and the end is kinda stable, but it seems like there should be more, and maybe there'll be a next book, so we can see izzy and Torin's story, Archer's with sophie, college for sophie, the eye and why the adults would choose a kid as the head of the council (idiots, even if it's sophie and they've been doing things wrong), maybe Elodie and Cal. Everything just felt too easy and left me unsettled; i don't dig drama, but there just wasn't enough here.

posted by 7794176 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended series! I fell in love with Rachel Hawkins!!!

    I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encountered in all my joyous readings...I can't wait for Spell bound to hit the shelves I will be front and center getting my copy! Rachel Hawkin's is an amazing author! I love her whitty characters and her writing style in general!!! Ill be awaiting my copy of Spell bound and I truly hope she continues the series past 3 books!!!!!

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book. Should be made into a movie. enjoyed it immensely.

    Great Book. Should be made into a movie. enjoyed it immensely.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    This is a must read series! I read book one and two in one sitting. They were just soooo hard to put down. I can't wait till this one comes out!!! I'm going to pre order it!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    I was very eager to get my hands on this book! I instantly becam

    I was very eager to get my hands on this book! I instantly became addicted when I discovered the first two books Hex Hall and Demonglass a couple months ago. Sophie Mercer, our heroine, is not only strong-willed, she is also extremely funny. She’s one of those characters who in dire situations, make the hard decision of sacrificing oneself in an attempt to save their beloved ones. However, no matter the situation, she always is the one to lighten the mood with a witty or sarcastic remark.

    Plot:

    Spell Bound picks up right where book 2, Demonglass left off or so you’d think… Sophie jumps into the Itineris (magical traveling portal) in hopes of finding her mother, however with Sophie’s powers temporarily bound, the portal has trouble digesting her presence leading to a 2-week loss of time. Landing in enemy territory, powerless and desperate, and with only Archer’s demonglass sword, Sophie’s in quite the quandary. As if her father’s demon-genetics weren’t enough to grasp, she’s now got a whole new set of problems. Not only are the Brannicks not what they appear to be, Sophie learns that she shares an interesting commonality with this fierce group of Amazonians. Also, a warlock trapped in a painting (Hex Hall’s version of mirror mirror on the wall) is proclaiming that the coming, good vs. evil war will be determined by Sophie’s stance…

    Thoughts:

    So far I’ve been pretty impressed with the Hex Hall novels. In the beginning I was very hesitant to finish book one because I felt like the general plot was a bit shallow. However, part way through the book there was a progressive-shift. Not only did a slightly sinister and darker atmosphere develop it also allowed more depth and originality to break through.

    PROS

    Lots of witty dialogue courtesy of Sophie (What’s life or death situations without a little snark?)

    A few new, fierce, and lovable characters (Don’t let your guard down around a small Brannick girl, she may just whip out a blade and try to shank you, repeatedly…)

    Sacrifices are made (Granted this particular character was a favorite… I’m happy to say their death was for the greater good or some mumbo-jumbo like that)

    Elodie’s story has a happy ending (Anyone seen ABC Family’s Teen Spirit? Pretty much Elodie pulls a Amber and ends up with a peaceful afterlife)
    CONS

    Although I’m not one for long and drawn-out series (Seriously House of Night!?) I think Hex Hall could have benefited from either a longer book 3 or a book 4. The story itself played out rather fast towards the end. Throughout the “big” battle I felt like someone was anxious to get to the end so they whipped out a remote to fastforward the story.

    The Eye of God (who’s purpose is to eradicate all supes) was played up to be this big bad, however they never really got their shining moment or basically any moment. They’ve appeared here and there a few times but then this giant battle occurs that could decide the fate of humanity and they’re what, napping?

    I hope you find my own snarky review of this book enjoyable, it’s all in good fun! – Sophie has inspired me . All in all this is a cute and quick trilogy, perfect for the beach or lounging on the deck.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    ....

    I loved all three books right up until the author said "Whos guidence and wisdom hopefully helped me stick the landing."

    Makes it seem kind of final. Like there is no chance of another one. And with the ending the way it is... What with the eye still out there and the school opening again...AND the whole new council thing... If this really is the end off all hex hall i would say the landing was quite...shakey. No way did you stick it.

    And now i say this..in the nicest way i can... MAKE MORE.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Archer+Sophie 4ever WARNING MAY HAVE SPOILERS

    I totally love Archer! He is the best guy ever, And he really loves Sophie, and it was so sweet when he protected her. When he showed up at the party, my heart stopped. My favorite Archer lines are: "She was right. I did want to spend the ball with you." And "And I'm done pretending I don't want you." I might be a little in love with Archer, which sort of stinks since he's fictional. But I've been team Archer all the way through!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glas

    I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glass were really good and well written so I couldn't wait for the third book. But after reading Spellbound, I was very disappointed. It seemed as if the author rushed through the book.

    There was so much more I wanted to know; we learn many things in this book but are still left with many questions of why things happened and what led up to them happenning, as well as leaving me with questions about different relationships.
    Hopefully the author will decide to write a fourth book. She needs to..

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Psssshhhaw

    I'm kinda disappointed in the book, it took me like 3-4 hours to read it, but it felt like an hour, don't get me wrong, it's likeable and the end is kinda stable, but it seems like there should be more, and maybe there'll be a next book, so we can see izzy and Torin's story, Archer's with sophie, college for sophie, the eye and why the adults would choose a kid as the head of the council (idiots, even if it's sophie and they've been doing things wrong), maybe Elodie and Cal. Everything just felt too easy and left me unsettled; i don't dig drama, but there just wasn't enough here.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Spellbound

    OKAY I LIKE NEED THIS NOW!!!!!!

    ( i really gotta stoo reading samples and the not being able to buy it untill the next day)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Hfksk

    THE SUMMARY HAS SO MANY FREAK'IN SPOILERS!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I really like the way Rachel Hawkins writes. Her characters all have good dialog, and some funny bits thrown in between the snark(the Star Wars references were gut busting!!) But Sophie was, and still is, my fave character. She is just what every girl thinks they would be in her position. She is strong when she has to be, deals with things by cracking jokes and acting as if shes not taking anything serous. But when things happen, she steps up and really shows her strength.
    There are some really touching parts of this book, and more than a few times I had to wipe away tears, but the ending is good, a little sad, a little touching, but all the main threads are all tied off. I just wonder if there is going to be any more of Sophe and the others. I kinda hope so, because I hate to say it, but i will miss Hex Hall.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    MUST READ SERIES

    i can wait to read it

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Spell bound

    I think this book was great there was some action and mystery so dont wait to read its amazing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Love book83

    Need a 4th one but love the books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Buy!!!!!

    This was really good. More romance than the other two books. Toward the end it was sad but it was bittersweet the last few pages. A must buy for anyone! I cant wait until the 4th installment for this series.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    So, so good!!

    This is an amazing book. Its funny cute horrifying and keeps you on the edge of your seat. An amazing literary piece. Rachel Hawkins has done an exceptional job of describing and holding your interest. I could not put this book down. A must read I would definetly reccomend to all and everyone.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So of course I had to read this book, having read the other two.

    So of course I had to read this book, having read the other two. I had to see how it ended. I loved the characters and their growth in the first two books and wasn't sure where Hawkins could take it to make it better, but she was able to do it.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.
    Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.
    Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?




    As with the other two books, I really love this cover. There is just something about the two girls reflecting each other that makes me want to jump into the book. And it was easy to understand the meaning behind the reflection of the girl dressed in the school uniform once I saw where the kids ended up.




    As with the other two books, Sophie was great. I have to say that I still had this annoyance with her regarding Cal and Asher. I felt like she had some need to love Cal, but you know she really wants to be with Asher. She tried her hardest not to lead Cal on, but it didn't always work. Other than that, you really watched Sophie's character take shape to become a great heroine, one who is selfless and understands that sacrifice is essential in order to "save the world." Sophie continued to be easy to relate to in this book. I love that she still has that teen angst, but it is not what rules her in the book. And of course Sophie is still as witty as ever. 
    Asher of course is an integral part of this book. He and Sophie are finally a "couple", whether or not others seem to like it. And they certainly show each other that they care for each other and want to be with one another. And the banter that existed between them before continues in this book. I like how it often lightens the mood when they are surrounded with something more serious.
    Hawkins introduced a few new characters in this book: The Brannicks. And you shockingly find out what their connection is to Sophie and her family. I enjoyed learning the story of the Brannicks




    The best part of this book was that Hawkins was not afraid to do what she needed to do with her characters: kill them off, change them, etc. I don't think she could have had a good ending without doing some of those things. I always commend authors who really take that step, even if they know that some people might not like the outcome. The ending made me sad and happy all at the same time. I also did not see many of the twists coming. As with the ending of Hex Hall when Asher suddenly "turns bad", we find out information about these characters' pasts that we really would have never seen coming.




    And Hawkins kept true to her plot and her world building. There wasn't anything too new introduced that would make you feel it was out of place. And her writing flows so well, it's hard to put her books down. I found myself wanting to get to the end. I needed to see where it ended up, how Sophie would save everyone, and who would end up lost in the end. I am sad to have to let these characters go as I have grown rather attached to them.




    I hope some of the unanswered questions are answered in the spin off series School Spirits, which I intend to pick up very soon as I have an ARC!




    4/5 stars from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Best book ever

    If you are condisering getting this book, stop right now. Buying this series was the best chioce I have ever made. To all here loyal readers, I hope you agree that she should right a spin-off series about what happens to everyone. Get this series you will not regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    : 0

    I loved it i still cant belive the end even though i read it twice but i recomend it to people who love romance, fantacy, action...and star wars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    In love

    I pick up the first of the series uust as something to read at b and n and could not stop :) Enjoyed all three books very much. I hope they make a movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11