Customer Reviews for

Spell Bound (Hex Hall Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended series! I fell in love with Rachel Hawkins!!!

I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encoun...
I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encountered in all my joyous readings...I can't wait for Spell bound to hit the shelves I will be front and center getting my copy! Rachel Hawkin's is an amazing author! I love her whitty characters and her writing style in general!!! Ill be awaiting my copy of Spell bound and I truly hope she continues the series past 3 books!!!!!

posted by 8770624 on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glas

I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glass were really good and well written so I couldn't wait for the third book. But after reading Spellbound, I was very disappointed. It seemed as if the author rushed through the book.

There was so much more ...
I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glass were really good and well written so I couldn't wait for the third book. But after reading Spellbound, I was very disappointed. It seemed as if the author rushed through the book.

There was so much more I wanted to know; we learn many things in this book but are still left with many questions of why things happened and what led up to them happenning, as well as leaving me with questions about different relationships.
Hopefully the author will decide to write a fourth book. She needs to..

posted by 17880880 on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    I was very eager to get my hands on this book! I instantly becam

    I was very eager to get my hands on this book! I instantly became addicted when I discovered the first two books Hex Hall and Demonglass a couple months ago. Sophie Mercer, our heroine, is not only strong-willed, she is also extremely funny. She’s one of those characters who in dire situations, make the hard decision of sacrificing oneself in an attempt to save their beloved ones. However, no matter the situation, she always is the one to lighten the mood with a witty or sarcastic remark.

    Plot:

    Spell Bound picks up right where book 2, Demonglass left off or so you’d think… Sophie jumps into the Itineris (magical traveling portal) in hopes of finding her mother, however with Sophie’s powers temporarily bound, the portal has trouble digesting her presence leading to a 2-week loss of time. Landing in enemy territory, powerless and desperate, and with only Archer’s demonglass sword, Sophie’s in quite the quandary. As if her father’s demon-genetics weren’t enough to grasp, she’s now got a whole new set of problems. Not only are the Brannicks not what they appear to be, Sophie learns that she shares an interesting commonality with this fierce group of Amazonians. Also, a warlock trapped in a painting (Hex Hall’s version of mirror mirror on the wall) is proclaiming that the coming, good vs. evil war will be determined by Sophie’s stance…

    Thoughts:

    So far I’ve been pretty impressed with the Hex Hall novels. In the beginning I was very hesitant to finish book one because I felt like the general plot was a bit shallow. However, part way through the book there was a progressive-shift. Not only did a slightly sinister and darker atmosphere develop it also allowed more depth and originality to break through.

    PROS

    Lots of witty dialogue courtesy of Sophie (What’s life or death situations without a little snark?)

    A few new, fierce, and lovable characters (Don’t let your guard down around a small Brannick girl, she may just whip out a blade and try to shank you, repeatedly…)

    Sacrifices are made (Granted this particular character was a favorite… I’m happy to say their death was for the greater good or some mumbo-jumbo like that)

    Elodie’s story has a happy ending (Anyone seen ABC Family’s Teen Spirit? Pretty much Elodie pulls a Amber and ends up with a peaceful afterlife)
    CONS

    Although I’m not one for long and drawn-out series (Seriously House of Night!?) I think Hex Hall could have benefited from either a longer book 3 or a book 4. The story itself played out rather fast towards the end. Throughout the “big” battle I felt like someone was anxious to get to the end so they whipped out a remote to fastforward the story.

    The Eye of God (who’s purpose is to eradicate all supes) was played up to be this big bad, however they never really got their shining moment or basically any moment. They’ve appeared here and there a few times but then this giant battle occurs that could decide the fate of humanity and they’re what, napping?

    I hope you find my own snarky review of this book enjoyable, it’s all in good fun! – Sophie has inspired me . All in all this is a cute and quick trilogy, perfect for the beach or lounging on the deck.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I really like the way Rachel Hawkins writes. Her characters all have good dialog, and some funny bits thrown in between the snark(the Star Wars references were gut busting!!) But Sophie was, and still is, my fave character. She is just what every girl thinks they would be in her position. She is strong when she has to be, deals with things by cracking jokes and acting as if shes not taking anything serous. But when things happen, she steps up and really shows her strength.
    There are some really touching parts of this book, and more than a few times I had to wipe away tears, but the ending is good, a little sad, a little touching, but all the main threads are all tied off. I just wonder if there is going to be any more of Sophe and the others. I kinda hope so, because I hate to say it, but i will miss Hex Hall.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So of course I had to read this book, having read the other two.

    So of course I had to read this book, having read the other two. I had to see how it ended. I loved the characters and their growth in the first two books and wasn't sure where Hawkins could take it to make it better, but she was able to do it.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.
    Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.
    Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?




    As with the other two books, I really love this cover. There is just something about the two girls reflecting each other that makes me want to jump into the book. And it was easy to understand the meaning behind the reflection of the girl dressed in the school uniform once I saw where the kids ended up.




    As with the other two books, Sophie was great. I have to say that I still had this annoyance with her regarding Cal and Asher. I felt like she had some need to love Cal, but you know she really wants to be with Asher. She tried her hardest not to lead Cal on, but it didn't always work. Other than that, you really watched Sophie's character take shape to become a great heroine, one who is selfless and understands that sacrifice is essential in order to "save the world." Sophie continued to be easy to relate to in this book. I love that she still has that teen angst, but it is not what rules her in the book. And of course Sophie is still as witty as ever. 
    Asher of course is an integral part of this book. He and Sophie are finally a "couple", whether or not others seem to like it. And they certainly show each other that they care for each other and want to be with one another. And the banter that existed between them before continues in this book. I like how it often lightens the mood when they are surrounded with something more serious.
    Hawkins introduced a few new characters in this book: The Brannicks. And you shockingly find out what their connection is to Sophie and her family. I enjoyed learning the story of the Brannicks




    The best part of this book was that Hawkins was not afraid to do what she needed to do with her characters: kill them off, change them, etc. I don't think she could have had a good ending without doing some of those things. I always commend authors who really take that step, even if they know that some people might not like the outcome. The ending made me sad and happy all at the same time. I also did not see many of the twists coming. As with the ending of Hex Hall when Asher suddenly "turns bad", we find out information about these characters' pasts that we really would have never seen coming.




    And Hawkins kept true to her plot and her world building. There wasn't anything too new introduced that would make you feel it was out of place. And her writing flows so well, it's hard to put her books down. I found myself wanting to get to the end. I needed to see where it ended up, how Sophie would save everyone, and who would end up lost in the end. I am sad to have to let these characters go as I have grown rather attached to them.




    I hope some of the unanswered questions are answered in the spin off series School Spirits, which I intend to pick up very soon as I have an ARC!




    4/5 stars from me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    !

    Love the book, hate the ending so much it hurts! Grrrrrrr...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Fun Fantasy Series

    I've read the entire Hex Hall series and enjoyed it very much. Although it does have the done and done again romance triangle, it managed to pull it off without making me entirely disgusted with any of the 3 characters. This is a story full of creativity in a surprisingly unique world (considering paranormal fantasy is fairly common now) and I consistently liked, and enjoyed reading about, Sophie and her friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    I havent read this yet but i take it, it was only a trilogy

    Am i right? *raises an eyebrow* <br> Qu Bree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Loved

    I love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Recommend

    This book was just not as good as hex hall. Hex hall was such a quick read and I love the character and the setup. But with this one I felt like it just dragged on. It was still good, I enjoyed it. There were something in there that were HIGHLY unnecessary. ( if you've read it you know what I mean). It was an enjoyably, albeit at times frustrating, read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Note this is a review for all three books in the HEX HALL series

    Note this is a review for all three books in the HEX HALL series!

    HEX HALL, RAISING DEMONS and SPELLBOUND belong to an original series of an imaginative world building, boarding school setting filled with magical beings of all kinds that is definitely worth visiting. The story is stretched out over three novels. Usually I write reviews for every book in a series. As the HEX HALL series felt like one seamless and big adventure to me, because I read them all in one sitting, I can’t but review it as a whole and wholesome good read.

    What’s Hex Hall? Hecate Hall is some kind of school to control very capable witches and warlocks. It’s a place of order and restrictions. At the same time a chance for the powerful teenagers to learn more about their powers and get to know other magical beings. Important is that Hecate Hall does not only house witches and warlocks but all kinds of inhabitants of the magic world, like shape shifters, vampires and faeries. Bit by bit more details about these various species are revealed.

    Sophie just wanted to do a small spell to help one of her classmates. Prom evening and a small love spell gone wrong, catapult young witch Sophie Mercer into Hex Hall and seal her fate. After many years of being left in the dark about essential aspects about her family and her past, Sophie finally starts to come behind all the mysteries and secrets that have made her always feel a bit left out.

    Hecate Hall means new friends and new chances at love. There’s Sophie’s friend Jenna, who’s also a vampire and main suspect of the various attacks concentrated on Hex Hall students.
    Then there's Archer. The moment she steps on Hex Hall grounds, Sophie’s thoughts almost immediately start to circle around this good-looking boy, who always seems to have a witty retort ready for Sophie, but who also seems to understand her better than all the strangers passing her every day in the corridors. The problem: this boy, Archer, is the boyfriend of school beauty Elodie.
    Sophie’s and Archer’s advances and their growing friendship made the whole Hex Hall boarding school setting with its numerous conflicts even more appealing. His character, as other character’s like Jenna, Elodie, Sophie’s mother and father just as another bunch of magical creatures, has several secrets of his own. There’s more to his person that will be revealed during the course of the story. The characters in the HEX HALL series and the story itself might not be exceptionally surprising and mind-blowing, but it was nice to spend time with them nevertheless.

    My major point of critique is that HEX HALL has a love triangle in it which just didn’t work for me. I liked both boys, Cal and Archer, but somehow it didn’t feel necessary to test Sophie’s relationships and emotions as there was already so much else going on in the books and there already wasn’t that much romance in it. I would have preferred a stronger accentuation on Archer and Sophie and them being together, working things out, talking more often and a deeper insight into Archer’s thoughts.

    In HEX HALL we’ve got a mysterious series of attacks on the kids at Hecate Hall. And from there on the story continues to get more dark magic with RAISING DEMONS featuring literally demonic events and SPELL BOUND culminating in one last gruesome battle against the evil in the world, including mean teachers and demonic creatures from hell.

    There are always new alliances to make and old as new enemies to fight which give Sophie the opportunities to grow in character and work on her magical abilities. She goes through a pretty strong change over the course of the three HEX HALL novels just as her past is revealed bit by bit. With Sophie Mercer, Rachel Hawkins, provided us with a lively and funny, very ironic, young heroine, who tells the story from a first person narrator point of view. Rachel’s writing is comfortable and to my joy contains several pop culture references.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I always meant to buy this because I really did love the first t

    I always meant to buy this because I really did love the first two in the series. But, I was holding out in hopes that the local library would one day get the series. They finally did and I quickly put in my hold.

    Sophie has a lot to deal with at the beginning of this novel. Her powers have been stripped. Her father and Cal may not have survived. She has no idea were Archer is. And, she may or may not be in the hands of her worst enemy. Turns out the Brannicks aren't as bad as everyone thinks. And Sophie might just get her happy ending, or something similar.

    This is a hard book to review without giving away spoilers. Just know that I enjoyed it almost as I enjoyed the rest of the series. I loved how the series ends at Hex Hal just like it began there. I did feel we get cheated out of a confrontation just a little bit, but the story ends nicely. Our characters are all here, doing exactly the things that I originally like about them

    I haven't decided if I am going to read the spin off series yet. I might wait and see how the first reviews turn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Great Read

    In the series finale of Hex Hall, Hawkins does a great job connecting all the dots and giving us a sense of rightness with the close of the series. Very well written. I only wish there was going to be more books for this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Very good but need MORE>~<

    This was a pretty well written book, with its actions, events, and characters. I loved hex hall and demonglass (they were soo awesome) but this wasn't as well written as it should have been. Honestly, some of the events were done too quickly than it should have been, and there are still so many secrets and questions of their future that makes me hope they will have another book. I am truly disappointed about these downfalls but it was still a very interesting book. I wish it was longer and more detailed, and yet again makes me wonder if they will have another book. I researched and many claimed it was a "triology" but it was never specifically stated. I hope that there will come to be another hex hall book, because honestly I LOVEE THIS SERIES!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Forget that

    The spoiler just disapeared

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Good read!

    Its a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good book

    This was a good book but i feel as though some things were not explained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not As Good As the Others, But A Nice Wrap-Up

    3.5 stars

    After reading Hex Hall and Demon Glass at a frenetic pace, I was eager to devour Spell Bound; and I did. I flew through Sophie’s story just as I had her previous ones, but I somehow this one just didn’t live up to the others. Don’t get me wrong, there was still plenty of action – maybe too much at times – and plenty of funny – you can never have too much funny – but the story just didn’t click the way it did in Hex Hall and Demon Glass.

    Sophie’s thrown into a lot of drama, which is normal for her, but this drama comes to a head very quickly. The action is almost non-stop and that made me miss the little moments so much. I missed Sophie’s relationship with her parents, I missed the sweet, sexy Archer, I missed Cal and his adorably protective nature, and I missed the always hilarious Sophie/Jenna banter. All of that is still there, but there in much smaller doses.

    I still enjoyed the book…it would be hard not to considering how quickly I fell in love with Rachel Hawkins story, but I had some issues with it. My biggest issue had to be how convenient everything was. I kind of hated how easily some things worked out; how all of sudden everything was okay. Then there was the romantic aspect that I LOVED before. Some of it was quite stilted this time around and I wasn’t okay with how some things turned out. I’ll go so far as to use that word again: it was convenient.

    All in all though, Spell Bound wrapped up a fantastic series fairly well. Readers will get everything they wanted out of it (and some things they didn’t) and can look forward to the spin-off next year to answer those questions that were still scratching our heads about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Funny and emotional, Spell Bound will whisk you off into the mag

    Funny and emotional, Spell Bound will whisk you off into the magical world of the Prodigium from the very first page. Likeable characters and a fast-paced plot contribute to the exciting story that Rachel Hawkins has created here. I highly recommend Spell Bound and the whole Hex Hall series. It's a light, easy read with plenty to offer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Fast paced, fun read. Have read all three in this series and fou

    Fast paced, fun read. Have read all three in this series and found them all to be witty, fast paced and well written. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Love Hex Hall series!

    Was so excited to read this book and yet sad, as this is the final book in the series. At times I was disappointed with this installment as scenes felt rushed and conflict resolved way too easily, but all in all, the series is one of my favorites and this book was a good end to a fantastic series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Highly recomended

    This book is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3