Customer Reviews for

Spell Bound (Hex Hall Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended series! I fell in love with Rachel Hawkins!!!

I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encoun...
I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encountered in all my joyous readings...I can't wait for Spell bound to hit the shelves I will be front and center getting my copy! Rachel Hawkin's is an amazing author! I love her whitty characters and her writing style in general!!! Ill be awaiting my copy of Spell bound and I truly hope she continues the series past 3 books!!!!!

posted by 8770624 on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glas

I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glass were really good and well written so I couldn't wait for the third book. But after reading Spellbound, I was very disappointed. It seemed as if the author rushed through the book.

There was so much more ...
I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glass were really good and well written so I couldn't wait for the third book. But after reading Spellbound, I was very disappointed. It seemed as if the author rushed through the book.

There was so much more I wanted to know; we learn many things in this book but are still left with many questions of why things happened and what led up to them happenning, as well as leaving me with questions about different relationships.
Hopefully the author will decide to write a fourth book. She needs to..

posted by 17880880 on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Okay, I should be noted I’m a total fangirl of these books

    Okay, I should be noted I’m a total fangirl of these books. So you can understand that I really wanted to like this book. And I really did. But there was a problem.
    THIS BOOK WAS WAY TOO SHORT.
    Now, I’m really not saying that because I love these books and I’m sad that they’re over. I’m being downright technically serious. So much happened in this book; Sophie was bopping all over the place and it just went way too fast. I didn’t feel like I got a chance to really get to know any of the new characters (Izzy, anyone?) and some of the biggest, most heart wrenching scenes just … happened. And all the while Sophie is here, Sophie is there, Sophie is back there again and then gone and then–aiyee! You can’t process what just happened because it’s all just WHOOSHED right past. Now, you’re probably thinking, doesn’t she LIKE fast paced books? Yes I do. But this … wasn’t that. It seemed way too choppy in places, and a lot of important things weren’t handled with as much care or as fleshed out as they could have been. It left my head spinning–and not in a good way.
    That is basically the entire reason this book only got four stars, unlike the 5 I’ve given Demon Glass or Hex Hall. I wanted this to be the roaring, hysterical, funny finale to an amazing series, but in the back of my mind I was just always a little thrown off by the writing.
    Yes, in the back of my mind. In case you were worried, Sophie is still entirely Sophie. I was still laughing out loud at her snark. I still want to be her best friend. Speaking of which, you don’t really need to wait that long in the worry that all her friends and family are missing. Hawkins set up that tension so well, and then it kind of resolves itself.
    If you were going to bring back Archer that early, there should have been more make out scenes. Just sayin’.
    Two last things to discuss: Elodie and Cal. Let’s start with Elodie…
    Okay, we get that the girl is a ghost tied to Sophie. Personally, her constant actions regarding Sophie didn’t really bother me too much. They seemed entirely like an angry Elodie would act. The problem was really when Sophie started leaning on said Elodie as a crutch, but that didn’t last all that long (as nothing did in this book) so I got over it pretty quickly.
    Now. Cal. (Please note that we are about to devolve into fangirl rantings, not a technical critique.) CAL. CAL. RACHEL HAWKINS. I… I… I FEEL ALL THINGS. THAT ENDING. THAT ENDING. Personally, I don’t find anything technically wrong with it. I thought it was actually poetic. BUT. BUT. THE FANGIRL IN ME DIED A LITTLE. AND THEN SOARED A LITTLE. AND THEN CRIED A LITTLE. And now you know.
    I realize that this review doesn’t sound all that complimentary, but hey. I gave it four stars for a reason. Spell Bound was a good ending to the Hex Hall series, and hopefully left it open for Hawkins to return to this world–hopefully from the eyes of Izzy. However, it wasn’t spectacular. Sometimes I think that the endings to series can never be everything you want them to be, but after I had closed the book I just had such mixed feelings. Everything that I had wanted to happen, happened. Just not in the way I wanted it to. Everyone has their own opinions about how they want series’ to end, and maybe I’m not capable of separating my fangirl from my critical reviewer. But I think BOTH of them wish that Spell Bound had taken a little longer to really give itself a finished polish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great read for adults who love the teen fantasy genre

    I am one of those almost 30 year old that loves the teen fantasy drama for an escape from reality and much needed light hearted banter, this one definitely did it for me you'll fall in love with the characters, smile at quirky banter and fun moments and there is a little heartache in there as well-this is a quick afternoon read but worth it-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Amazing adventerous read

    I could not stop reading this book. It is better than any of the other books in the series, strangely enough, and full of romance, action, fantasy and adventure. This book ties up all the lose ends and introduces new twists and turns/ will have you full of wide eyes and shivers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Ummm?

    I have loved every book in this series but this one seemed to end too soon. And i wonder if there might be more books by hawkins related to this series because they kept hinting around about cousin izzy and mirror boy, sooo i dont know.
    But all in all i loved the series but wish it was less depressing at the end (and i wish cal never died)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    This third installation of Rachel Hawkins popular book series He

    This third installation of Rachel Hawkins popular book series Hex Hall was just as fun and exciting as the previous books. Sophie Mercer escaped from Thorne Abbey but has had her powers sealed inside her by the Prodigium Council. She does not know whether any of her friends or her father survived the fire that destroyed Throne Abbey and nearly killed her. Sophie is trying to find her mother, but this is complicated by the fact that her mother is with the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt Prodigium. The warrior women have reasons for wanting to meet Sophie as well, however. They believe Sophie is powerful enough to prevent the evil Casnoffs from succeeding. The Casnoffs are attempting to create an army of demons who they would control and command. They are blinded by what they believe is right and do not realize that demons are too powerful to control. What they hope to achieve would end the world.

    Hawkins gave Sophie a strong personality. Her thoughts and words are hilarious. Sophie is determined and cares about her friends and family. She is conflicted about her feelings toward two boys, and feels guilty. Sophie always tries to make good decisions. The supporting characters have distinctive personalities Rachel Hawkins made interlock. The characters play off each other, creating funny dialogue. This is a book to restore a good mood.

    Teen girls would most enjoy Hawkins’ writing, but any woman would like reading this novel. Sophie could be related to by any female. Rachel Hawkins’ book will put a smile on your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Worth the wait! I love this series. I hope this isn't the last b

    Worth the wait! I love this series. I hope this isn't the last book. She left so much open for either the continuation of the series or at least a break off with another set of main characters (personally I vote for Izzy).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3