BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Spell Bound (Hex Hall Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended series! I fell in love with Rachel Hawkins!!!

I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encoun...
I seriously just called Barnes and nobles customer service because I thought I was missing a hundred plus pages on my nook download....of Hex Hall..Demonglass....only to find out no...Rachel Hawkins left her loyal readers with the biggest cliff-hanger I have ever encountered in all my joyous readings...I can't wait for Spell bound to hit the shelves I will be front and center getting my copy! Rachel Hawkin's is an amazing author! I love her whitty characters and her writing style in general!!! Ill be awaiting my copy of Spell bound and I truly hope she continues the series past 3 books!!!!!

posted by 8770624 on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glas

I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glass were really good and well written so I couldn't wait for the third book. But after reading Spellbound, I was very disappointed. It seemed as if the author rushed through the book.

There was so much more ...
I enjoyed the trilogy for the most part; Hex Hall and Demon Glass were really good and well written so I couldn't wait for the third book. But after reading Spellbound, I was very disappointed. It seemed as if the author rushed through the book.

There was so much more I wanted to know; we learn many things in this book but are still left with many questions of why things happened and what led up to them happenning, as well as leaving me with questions about different relationships.
Hopefully the author will decide to write a fourth book. She needs to..

posted by 17880880 on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Breathtaking. Really intense and action packed. Romantic. Sad. t

    Breathtaking. Really intense and action packed. Romantic. Sad. this ending to a beautiful series left me crying with sadness and happiness. I loved this series and look forward to reading more of her work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Loved it :D

    A must read book and a real page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I'm in my 20's and I really loved this series. ^.^

    I'm in my 20's and I really loved this series. ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I loved this book

    Must read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    To dazzlamb i.e the reviewer before me

    The second book is titled Deomonglass, you jackass.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Note this is a review for all three books in the HEX HALL series

    Note this is a review for all three books in the HEX HALL series!

    HEX HALL, RAISING DEMONS and SPELLBOUND belong to an original series of an imaginative world building, boarding school setting filled with magical beings of all kinds that is definitely worth visiting. The story is stretched out over three novels. Usually I write reviews for every book in a series. As the HEX HALL series felt like one seamless and big adventure to me, because I read them all in one sitting, I can’t but review it as a whole and wholesome good read.

    What’s Hex Hall? Hecate Hall is some kind of school to control very capable witches and warlocks. It’s a place of order and restrictions. At the same time a chance for the powerful teenagers to learn more about their powers and get to know other magical beings. Important is that Hecate Hall does not only house witches and warlocks but all kinds of inhabitants of the magic world, like shape shifters, vampires and faeries. Bit by bit more details about these various species are revealed.

    Sophie just wanted to do a small spell to help one of her classmates. Prom evening and a small love spell gone wrong, catapult young witch Sophie Mercer into Hex Hall and seal her fate. After many years of being left in the dark about essential aspects about her family and her past, Sophie finally starts to come behind all the mysteries and secrets that have made her always feel a bit left out.

    Hecate Hall means new friends and new chances at love. There’s Sophie’s friend Jenna, who’s also a vampire and main suspect of the various attacks concentrated on Hex Hall students.
    Then there's Archer. The moment she steps on Hex Hall grounds, Sophie’s thoughts almost immediately start to circle around this good-looking boy, who always seems to have a witty retort ready for Sophie, but who also seems to understand her better than all the strangers passing her every day in the corridors. The problem: this boy, Archer, is the boyfriend of school beauty Elodie.
    Sophie’s and Archer’s advances and their growing friendship made the whole Hex Hall boarding school setting with its numerous conflicts even more appealing. His character, as other character’s like Jenna, Elodie, Sophie’s mother and father just as another bunch of magical creatures, has several secrets of his own. There’s more to his person that will be revealed during the course of the story. The characters in the HEX HALL series and the story itself might not be exceptionally surprising and mind-blowing, but it was nice to spend time with them nevertheless.

    My major point of critique is that HEX HALL has a love triangle in it which just didn’t work for me. I liked both boys, Cal and Archer, but somehow it didn’t feel necessary to test Sophie’s relationships and emotions as there was already so much else going on in the books and there already wasn’t that much romance in it. I would have preferred a stronger accentuation on Archer and Sophie and them being together, working things out, talking more often and a deeper insight into Archer’s thoughts.

    In HEX HALL we’ve got a mysterious series of attacks on the kids at Hecate Hall. And from there on the story continues to get more dark magic with RAISING DEMONS featuring literally demonic events and SPELL BOUND culminating in one last gruesome battle against the evil in the world, including mean teachers and demonic creatures from hell.

    There are always new alliances to make and old as new enemies to fight which give Sophie the opportunities to grow in character and work on her magical abilities. She goes through a pretty strong change over the course of the three HEX HALL novels just as her past is revealed bit by bit. With Sophie Mercer, Rachel Hawkins, provided us with a lively and funny, very ironic, young heroine, who tells the story from a first person narrator point of view. Rachel’s writing is comfortable and to my joy contains several pop culture references.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3.5 The Low Down: Sophie Mercer hasn┬┐t been stripped

    Rating: 3.5




    The Low Down: Sophie Mercer hasn’t been stripped of her powers; well, they’re still there, but they are pretty much boxed off somewhere inside, unusable. Somehow, she gets through the portal, and is...well, somewhere. Which she guesses is better than nowhere. Except that she’s lost everyone she loves when the demon girl, Daisy, burned down Thorne Hall. Before Cal (still her fiance, but still not her boyfriend) ran back inside to try and save her father, he told her to get to the Brannicks’ compound, because her mother was there.




    Of course Elodie is still tied to her, so at least she has (silent yet snarky) company. Once the Brannicks find her, they are surprised to learn who she is. But that doesn’t mean they’re nice to her. But the biggest surprise awaits: her mother tells her that she is a Brannick herself. One of those demon-killing, rid-the-world-of-evil Brannicks. Great.




    So now Sophie has met the rest of the family, been introduced to a warlock in a mirror named Torin and told them all what has happened at Thorne Hall. As they start to form a plan to stop the Cassnoffs from turning all prodigium into demons, Sophie is sucked back to Graymalkin Island and Hex Hall where she’s trapped along with all of her former classmates, including some she wasn’t expecting. Are they all doomed to be turned or do they have to release Sophie’s powers to save themselves? And if her demon powers are released, which side will Sophie be on?




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: This whole series has been great. Super entertaining, different enough to be something new, and well-worth reading. The characters are all well-developed and the storyline stayed interesting to the end. Sometimes trilogies can peter out toward the conclusion, but that didn’t happen here. I would definitely recommend this series and read it again myself.




    I’m Cranky Because: The ending left some things untied, but maybe the author wanted some room to do another volume or, perhaps, a spin-off series.




    The Bottom Line: If you enjoy characters that are a little snarky, a bit of romance and some great action, then this series is for you.




    Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins was published March 13, 2012 by Hyperion, an Imprint of Disney Book Group. Ink and Page picked this book up from the library, so no one had a choice about whether it was reviewed.




    Genre: Young Adult Fiction Fantasy Paranormal Romance Series
    Ages: 12 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Nothing of note

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Kept me going...

    This book was really good as were her other two in the series. I wanted to keep reading this book and never stop until it ended. Sophie starts out in a worry some state but she soon finds out tht an enemy she should have feared isn't as bad as everyone thought. Gotta love this series and book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I always meant to buy this because I really did love the first t

    I always meant to buy this because I really did love the first two in the series. But, I was holding out in hopes that the local library would one day get the series. They finally did and I quickly put in my hold.

    Sophie has a lot to deal with at the beginning of this novel. Her powers have been stripped. Her father and Cal may not have survived. She has no idea were Archer is. And, she may or may not be in the hands of her worst enemy. Turns out the Brannicks aren't as bad as everyone thinks. And Sophie might just get her happy ending, or something similar.

    This is a hard book to review without giving away spoilers. Just know that I enjoyed it almost as I enjoyed the rest of the series. I loved how the series ends at Hex Hal just like it began there. I did feel we get cheated out of a confrontation just a little bit, but the story ends nicely. Our characters are all here, doing exactly the things that I originally like about them

    I haven't decided if I am going to read the spin off series yet. I might wait and see how the first reviews turn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Ammmazing

    Loved it sooo much!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great!!

    Best book ever!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Jaybird

    Spell bound... its sitting beside my bed... im pictureing archer without his shirt on... the books now in my hand...
    *1 hour latter*
    My face: 0-0
    My voice: oh man!!!!
    My book: across the room.
    My mom: ¿o¿ are you crrazzyy?!?!?!
    Me: nope... im broken.
    My mom: why.
    Me: * hold up book*
    Me: oh...my... god... its over.
    Mom: i dont understand.
    Me: youll never understand!!! Its over!! Gone! What dont you understand?! Im p*****!!!
    Mom: go to beed sweety. * hands me some chocolate*
    Me:* sniffle* ok.

    Its... ¿_¿
    - jaydah

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Immmm bored

    Great book i Loved this series and this book this is a must read series.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Hanna

    Wanna chat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Another book

    There has to be another book right i meen what is going on with izzy?
    Come on i realy wish there will be another book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    One of the best series

    This was one of the best books in the series so far even though it was the only one that madevme cry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Wow what an ending!!

    I just finished Spell Bound a few minutes ago and I am a bit emotional. I love this series and I am so sad that I am at the end. I feel such a bond with these characters. Sophie, Call, Jenna, Archer and even Elodie have become part of my life. I feel a deep sadness that I have to say goodbye to them. Rachel Hawkins drew me into her world in Hex Hall and kept me entertained throughout the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Best. Book. Ever.

    I bought this book thinking, oh it sounds OK, but not great. I have never been so wrong in my life. This series is the best book series I have ever read. This book is complete and total movie material. Oh and did i mention its the bestest book/series ever?!? <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Review

    Seriously so sad to have finished this series! One of the best I've read in awhile. If you've read the first two, Hex Hall and Demonglass, this won't dissapoint you at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Rachel hawkins

    Love this book so much action love passion and magic too in love with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11