Customer Reviews for

Spell Hunter (Faery Rebels Series)

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

I don't think I've read a book where the main character is and knows that she's a fairy, so this book was very surprising and very original.

OK, so the book starts off a bit slow but if you hang in there, it will so pick up in the first few chapters.

Bryony (AKA '...
I don't think I've read a book where the main character is and knows that she's a fairy, so this book was very surprising and very original.

OK, so the book starts off a bit slow but if you hang in there, it will so pick up in the first few chapters.

Bryony (AKA 'Knife') was a spunky, strong, character who puts others before her. I don't think I found anything wrong with Knife. She is now one of my favorite characters. Knife was so well-developed and she never let anyone get in her way and she didn't give up. The world she inhabits and the way she acted was so interesting and just keeps you hooked. Her naive-ness towards the humans, her actions, her everything was just excellent.

The secondary characters were just as amazing, just as great. They each reminded me of humans, except for the fact that they were 5-7 inches high and that they were faeries, but still, the way that they acted towards each other and how they sometimes showed human emotions really made me care for the characters. I now have a sort-of attachment to them.

This book was really original and I liked the faery world that R.J. Anderson created and how different it is from other faery novels. Her writing was superb and I just loved it; I loved the imagery, Knife's voice, and the plot. Anderson really added a uniqueness to the faery world and she wrote a spell-binding novel.

Overall: I highly recommend and suggest that you buy a copy at your local bookstore. You do not want to miss out on reading this outstanding debut. I cannot wait for the sequel to be released! I just wished that the sequel would come out sooner.And my review does this book no justice.

Carol
http://bookluver-carol.blogspot.com

posted by BookluverCarol on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wish I could like it

I keep seeing all these great reviews (4 or even 5 star ratings) on all sorts of websites for this and I'm just floored by it. The idea behind Faery Rebels was so original that I kept trying to force myself to get into this book. I WANTED to like it, but I just can't. I...
I keep seeing all these great reviews (4 or even 5 star ratings) on all sorts of websites for this and I'm just floored by it. The idea behind Faery Rebels was so original that I kept trying to force myself to get into this book. I WANTED to like it, but I just can't. I think this book will appeal more to younger kids. Perhaps, here inlies part of the problem since I'm in my late 20's. It just seemed too...simple, I guess. A lot of the events/situations were quite predictable. Some of the characters' conversations, as well as events that transpired between them were too cliche. It was very slow moving, it took a good 2/3 of the book to even spark a little of my interest. The rest of the time I was just trying to get through the book because as a rule I don't like leaving a book unread-no matter how aweful or boring. Regarding the characters, I felt that they too lacked inspiration. I like reading books that creates strong feelings/emotions towards the characters, whether an intense hatred or love. This book hardly created any emotion at all. Paul was a very weak character-he just sort of was there. Despite all the situations he went through, I couldn't muster much sympathy or empathy for him even though the situations clearly called for some. I'm just so bummed because I really felt that this book had so much potential. Amazingly enough the ending piqued my interest enough that I might TRY to read the sequel to see how everything can possibly work out. Aghh, the power of hope (that I will find the writing to be better and the characters more appealing). I hope that I'm not setting myself up for another disappointment.
To those who will read this book I would suggest that you don't expect much thrill, much danger, much adventure, much of a love story, or much character chemistry...perhaps then it won't totally disappoint.

posted by 1762549 on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    I don't think I've read a book where the main character is and knows that she's a fairy, so this book was very surprising and very original.

    OK, so the book starts off a bit slow but if you hang in there, it will so pick up in the first few chapters.

    Bryony (AKA 'Knife') was a spunky, strong, character who puts others before her. I don't think I found anything wrong with Knife. She is now one of my favorite characters. Knife was so well-developed and she never let anyone get in her way and she didn't give up. The world she inhabits and the way she acted was so interesting and just keeps you hooked. Her naive-ness towards the humans, her actions, her everything was just excellent.

    The secondary characters were just as amazing, just as great. They each reminded me of humans, except for the fact that they were 5-7 inches high and that they were faeries, but still, the way that they acted towards each other and how they sometimes showed human emotions really made me care for the characters. I now have a sort-of attachment to them.

    This book was really original and I liked the faery world that R.J. Anderson created and how different it is from other faery novels. Her writing was superb and I just loved it; I loved the imagery, Knife's voice, and the plot. Anderson really added a uniqueness to the faery world and she wrote a spell-binding novel.

    Overall: I highly recommend and suggest that you buy a copy at your local bookstore. You do not want to miss out on reading this outstanding debut. I cannot wait for the sequel to be released! I just wished that the sequel would come out sooner.And my review does this book no justice.

    Carol
    http://bookluver-carol.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    5 out of 5 stars

    The faeries of the Oak went through a terrible event called the Sundering but a hundred years later, none of the faeries know what it had been about. With the Oak's population dwindling, Knife is appointed the Queen's Hunter. Maybe she could find out what has caused the Silence that has been taking some many of the faeries' lives and cure it. When she takes a mayor interest in humans, Knife visits the House and becomes friends with the teenager, Paul. No one knew of Knife and Paul's friendship, but when Queen finds out, Knife has to make a difficult decision. But how could Knife hurt a human . she's in love with?

    Brilliantly written and marvelous with a mix of fantasy and reality, Faery Rebels: Spell Hunter rocks my socks! I dare say I enjoyed this more than any of the Harry Potter books. Author R.J. Anderson unfolds a world of magical creatures that are forbidden to have contact with humans. The dilemmas seemed real even though the main theory was bizarre. The unique characters caught my attention and kept it throughout the book. I loved it! Reading how Knife and Paul's worlds intertwine was interesting and most of all, amazing. This book left me lying in bed with a smile on my face. : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    How are you? i just wanted to let you know...that things wor





    How are you? i just wanted to let you know...that things worked out very well..well i should have told u this..a week ago..but i wanted to email u when i was fully confident that things are workin out... yuangi is back with me..our relationship is just like before the first time we met...
    Ok Dr Obodo ,email Dr @    
    templeofanswer@hotmail.co.uk, cell +2348155425481 if necessary 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Flawless

    Amazing detail touch of romance story that will be with u forever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mystic Wonders

    Step into a mystical world of Faeries in R. J. Anderson's new tale Spell Hunter. With a unique tale on the well known mystical creatures, faeries, I'm gradually drawn into the life of Knife, one of the youngest faerie living in the ancient oak tree called Oakenwyld. When the faeries of the Oak are in danger of extinction from their lack of magic, Knife takes it upon herself to face the dangerous outside human world in search of a way to help her kind. Through out the journey Knife is tested in many different ways all the while learning about her self and who she wants to become. The trials and dangers that she faces, from hungry animals to humans and even her fellow faeries had me totally engaged in the story. Though the beginning wasn't as fast paced and straight to the point as I would have liked, I understood Anderson's reasoning for the information that furthered the plot in the end. Soon enough Knife was going on daring adventures and fighting for her life and the lives of her people, as well as falling in love. I enjoyed unique spin of the faerie lore that Anderson created with her faeries. The characters in the story were very interesting, all of their voices were compelling and real. I cared about what was happening at the Oak and how Knife would help save them. I enjoyed the growing relationship between Paul and Knife, it added another level of tension within the story as well. The romance didn't feel rushed and I appreciated how they grew and learned from each other. Anderson wrote a captivating tale filled with adventure, mystery romance and danger, which I feel will leave readers wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing faery read

    Faeries of Oakenwyld lost their magic years ago and as a result never go outside their tree unless they have a job to perform. However, Bryony, is not like most faeries. She's curious about the outside world and wants to know why her species is dying. When she becomes a hunter for her clan, she's finally able to go outside and explore. She LOVES the freedom of flying. It's not all fun and games as she must gather food for her people while surviving crows and other dangerous creatures. While guarding the gatherers, she battles a crow and falls into the lap of a human boy stuck in a wheel chair. He takes her back to his house to heal her, where things are tense among his family.

    He just survived an accident and is forever confined to a wheelchair. Bitter towards life, he rejects the love and help of his family. Once Bryony recovers, they begin to talk. She slowly uncovers secrets of human life and he start coming out of his shell. Knowing she must return to the tree, she makes a point to keep visiting her friend in secret. While part of her can't keep away from him, the other part wonders if he might be able to help her and her people. Will her secret friendship with Paul be uncovered and mentioned to the Queen? Will Bryony's people uncover hidden truths about their past and find a way to heal their future?

    It took me a chapter to get into the story, but after that I was hooked. I LOVED IT! I wanted to drop everything and finish the story. I'm so excited there's another three books in the series. I loved the world R.J. Anderson created and how the faeries interact with humans. It's an engaging fantastical tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    The first FAERY REBELS book, SPELL HUNTER, is a story about, you guessed it, faeries.

    The story begins on a day in the life of a faery named Bryony. She is young, impetuous, and exactly like you would expect someone her age to be. Bryony lives with the others of her kind in a huge oak tree. The only faeries that are allowed to leave the tree are the gatherers when they are searching for food, or the Queen's Hunter when she leaves to protect the others and hunt for small animals.

    Being in the oak for so long, the faeries have forgotten many of their arts and they have no magic to wield, except the Queen. Of course, Bryony, being young and immature, doesn't see this as a way of protecting their life, she sees it as a punishment, one that she doesn't want to endure. She wants to go outside, and when she does, she is almost grabbed by a human boy.

    The Queen's Hunter, Thorn, takes her aside to show her exactly why they're not allowed near humans - a disease, deadly to them called The Silence, which as she is told by Thorn is caused by being around humans. After this incident, Bryony decides that what she most wants out of life is to be a gatherer.

    It was so exciting to find out what was really in store for Bryony. I enjoyed this book so much. The author's descriptions were very real. When Bryony was hot inside the oak, I felt hot right along with her. R. J. Anderson has built a world unlike any I have read before. She has given us a fantastic world that resides right along ours, if we'd only stop and look.

    Once I started reading, I had to make myself put it down. This is the first novel published by R. J. Anderson, and I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    A story that will stay with you

    R.J. Anderson has made an exceptional debut with this tale of love, sacrifice, and redemption. Think of "fairies" as wee, tinkly creatures flitting from flower to flower with never a care? Think again. Anderson even chooses an alternative spelling ("faery") to help us see her creatures with new eyes.

    The faeries of Anderson's story face depopulation and degradation in a world where they have lost their magic in a disaster they can barely remember. The only faery child left, Knife, ventures into the world Outside the safety of the Oak and learns how to fight her foes as well as support her friends. The friendship she forms with a young human, Paul, changes both characters, and through their relationship the world of the faeries begins to be restored.

    Anderson weaves numerous timeless themes into her story: the sacrifice of one for the love of all, the lure of forbidden knowledge and its penalties and rewards, the fear and fascination of the Other, the occasional need to risk life to save it, the necessary complementarity of masculine and feminine. She raises interesting questions about the nature of gratitude in the economy of affection. She invents clever expressions suited to her characters (I myself plan to appropriate "Oh blight!" as a useful exclamation in times of distress) and she never sinks to "fairy-tale" cliché. The plot unfolds naturally through Knife's explorations; Anderson's prose is taut, her characters well-drawn and sympathetic, and her metaphors original. All this, with a lovely exploration of the elements of art, which Paul loves and shares with his new friend:

    "Knife was silent, gazing at the girl's luminous face. The picture was beautiful, and yet somehow it was more than that. It was as though the artist were not merely showing her a girl, but telling her something about the girl as well. Then in a flash Knife understood: That was what made the other paintings in the room special, too. They weren't just images, they were *ideas* ... If she could just figure out what they were saying...."

    Knife's exploration of art and her development of a newfound artistic skill remind me of nothing so much as Remy the rat's foray into French cookery in the marvelous Disney film Ratatouille. Knife and Remy would make excellent companions for any child beginning to appreciate the wonders of fine art or fine cuisine.

    Finally, while much in the story is well wrapped up by the end, plenty of room is left for one or more sequels. Certain questions still await answers, and we will want to see more of the lives of certain characters, especially as the faeries set about restoring their kingdom.

    Anderson's tale deserves the widest readership, and I can only hope that with sequels its fame will continue to spread, much as those stories of a certain boy with a lightning-shaped scar have taken root in the hearts of readers young and old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1