Customer Reviews for

A Spell for Chameleon (Magic of Xanth #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A novel of true love and finding your true self

This book I found amazing. I devoured this book in three hours. The main characters were full of life, they almost cwralled out of the pages they were so real. I loved the themes of finding youorself and cherishing your own special talents. I reccomend this book to anyo...
This book I found amazing. I devoured this book in three hours. The main characters were full of life, they almost cwralled out of the pages they were so real. I loved the themes of finding youorself and cherishing your own special talents. I reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for a good book and\or author.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Story. Easy Read.

I read this book many years ago for the first time. I enjoyed it then. And decided to revisit the series again recently. The content is cute and whimsical. I believe this series is aimed a pre-teen readers. But an older reader will still enjoy the story as long as ...
I read this book many years ago for the first time. I enjoyed it then. And decided to revisit the series again recently. The content is cute and whimsical. I believe this series is aimed a pre-teen readers. But an older reader will still enjoy the story as long as they keep in mind that the book is supposed to be light and nonsensical to begin with. I plan on keeping the book in my permanent library and will probably read it again at some point in the future.

posted by Bellae on March 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story. Easy Read.

    I read this book many years ago for the first time. I enjoyed it then. And decided to revisit the series again recently. The content is cute and whimsical. I believe this series is aimed a pre-teen readers. But an older reader will still enjoy the story as long as they keep in mind that the book is supposed to be light and nonsensical to begin with. I plan on keeping the book in my permanent library and will probably read it again at some point in the future.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Meh...

    I really wish that I loved this book as much as I loved it in middle school. I guess science fiction/fantasy really is not my favorite type of book. I found that I was bored quite a lot with this book.

    I have realized that I struggle with books when they are logical. I like my emotional books. The logical nature of this novel seemed dull to me. I did like the plot line, I just did not enjoy the writing style.

    All in all, this book kept me entertained. It is a good mix between science fiction and fantasy, however, it falls too much to the science fiction side that I had a hard time enjoying the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Aboutt to read

    It seems you guys talk about it being a good book. Iam about to read it. I hopeit is as good as you guys say.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Not as compelling as I remembered it.

    I first read this in its original published version some three decades ago, when I was 10.

    Of course, I regard my memories of things loved at that age with a certain suspicion, but decided to pick this up and re-read it anyway.

    I was surprised to find that I enjoyed it more than I expected. I don't know that it's great art---I think the author's introduction should serve to undercut any expectations in that vein---but it was enjoyable. I don't know that I'm going to go back and re-read all the Xanth books that I managed to cram into my pre-teen years, but I found this more pleasant than I anticipated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    The Best of Both Sides

    When reading this in our English class we found that it was at a more mature level and in a man¿s point of view. This books main topic was to find a magical power for a boy named Bink. Throughout the book the author lost sight of the main topic and some of the supporting details, then the author introduced a new conflict and some how lead us back to the main topic. That was one reason why we always got confused while reading this book. Also we found this book to be over-written because it keeps going on and on and after a while you don¿t see the main point in the story. This book wasn¿t all bad though, there was very good word choice, it really expanded your vocabulary and made you feel as if you were in the book. All characters played a big role in the book, without them the book wouldn¿t make much sense. The author also described the characters very well and it let us get to know the characters very well. Our favorite characters were Chameleon, Bink, Trent, Sabrina. We liked them because they were like real people not made up characters from the book, it felt like they were really there. We would tell you about the characters but that would give away some of the books most important parts, you need to find that out your self and read the book. By Michelle, Krisynthina, Paula, and Rachel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1