Customer Reviews for

A Spell for Chameleon (Magic of Xanth #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A novel of true love and finding your true self

This book I found amazing. I devoured this book in three hours. The main characters were full of life, they almost cwralled out of the pages they were so real. I loved the themes of finding youorself and cherishing your own special talents. I reccomend this book to anyo...
This book I found amazing. I devoured this book in three hours. The main characters were full of life, they almost cwralled out of the pages they were so real. I loved the themes of finding youorself and cherishing your own special talents. I reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for a good book and\or author.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Story. Easy Read.

I read this book many years ago for the first time. I enjoyed it then. And decided to revisit the series again recently. The content is cute and whimsical. I believe this series is aimed a pre-teen readers. But an older reader will still enjoy the story as long as ...
I read this book many years ago for the first time. I enjoyed it then. And decided to revisit the series again recently. The content is cute and whimsical. I believe this series is aimed a pre-teen readers. But an older reader will still enjoy the story as long as they keep in mind that the book is supposed to be light and nonsensical to begin with. I plan on keeping the book in my permanent library and will probably read it again at some point in the future.

posted by Bellae on March 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Entertaining

    Piers Anthony is always an entertaing fantasy author. Aside from a few annoying typos, a very worthwhile read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    A spell to win you over?

    I loved this book. It is very light-hearted and adventurous. It's a perfect start to a long series and an introduction to a magical land that you love to fall in love with. I will re read this book at some point and continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great book!

    Exciting book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Piers Anthony has crafted something incredibly witty. The firs



    Piers Anthony has crafted something incredibly witty. The first Xanth novel is nothing short of amazing. His writing is comical and even a bit ridiculous at times. Anthony’s wit made this book the most enjoyable. It is not your average hero on a quest story, although it resembles it nicely. The puns really make this novel.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Mature Audiences only, but a good read

    Imagine yourself in a magic world of imaginary creatures. A chameleon changes into a salamander and back again. You see a chimera fly overhead. Only this can happen in the book: A Spell for Chameleon. Spell for Chameleon was a pretty good book for anyone who like the genre of fantasy and is for readers above the age of 14. Our friends and us enjoyed this book, even if there was some gruesome and sometimes over the top detail in it. The devil is mentioned, and some content is mature in an offensive way. There were great battles and epic adventure, which made the plot of this book interesting. This story is about a boy named Bink, and takes place in a magical world called Xanth. Bink needs to get himself a magical spell or talent. Otherwise, he would be banished from Xanth and be sent to a non-magic world called Mundania. The great magician Humphrey was supposed to give Bink a special talent but he was unsuccessful in the process. Bink was banished, and met an evil wizard named Trent. Trent tried to befriend Bink and Fanchon(Chameleon). I don¿t want to tell the rest of this book, because the end is near. This book was pretty good, but most of our class did not like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    SOme Xanth books are better

    most ppl don't say that but they don't read them out of order. I did and spell disappointed me. I'd give it a 4 and 3/4, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Jessica M's review

    The book kept me interested. There were times where I couldn't put it down. It seemed even when I was tired, I continued to read, egar to find out what happens next. The book was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    If you only read one Xanth novel, READ THIS ONE!

    This is an excellent book for those of you either just getting into Xanth or those of you who've read Xanth novels already. Bink is a boy from the land of Xanth who is about to be exiled for not having a magig talent. So he goes on a search to find it, though turns up unsuccesful. But the power he discovers rivals those of the Storm King, the Good Magician Humpfrey, the Sorceress Iris, or even the Evil Magician Trent himself. As the first book in the series, it gives an excellent background for what you may not know, and also gives an excellent beginning for what you may not have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    First book in Xanth Series

    IF you like fantasy read this adventure packed book by Piers Anthony. IT includes fantasy creatures, heroes,royalty,and introduces many characters like Bink,Chamealeon,Roland,Bianca,Chester Centaur,Cherie Centaur,and Crombie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    A good recommendation

    This book is one of the best books I have read I'm usually not a reader but this book kept me reading it is filled with wonderful charactors and the way each person anamal and landscape is described you can picture the land of Xanth and its residence in your head I have shared this book with a friend and we have begun our own book club Mr. Anthony thank you you did a wonderful job I aslo liked having the map at the begining of the book nice touch

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3