BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Spell for Chameleon (Magic of Xanth #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A novel of true love and finding your true self

This book I found amazing. I devoured this book in three hours. The main characters were full of life, they almost cwralled out of the pages they were so real. I loved the themes of finding youorself and cherishing your own special talents. I reccomend this book to anyo...
This book I found amazing. I devoured this book in three hours. The main characters were full of life, they almost cwralled out of the pages they were so real. I loved the themes of finding youorself and cherishing your own special talents. I reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for a good book and\or author.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Story. Easy Read.

I read this book many years ago for the first time. I enjoyed it then. And decided to revisit the series again recently. The content is cute and whimsical. I believe this series is aimed a pre-teen readers. But an older reader will still enjoy the story as long as ...
I read this book many years ago for the first time. I enjoyed it then. And decided to revisit the series again recently. The content is cute and whimsical. I believe this series is aimed a pre-teen readers. But an older reader will still enjoy the story as long as they keep in mind that the book is supposed to be light and nonsensical to begin with. I plan on keeping the book in my permanent library and will probably read it again at some point in the future.

posted by Bellae on March 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    A novel of true love and finding your true self

    This book I found amazing. I devoured this book in three hours. The main characters were full of life, they almost cwralled out of the pages they were so real. I loved the themes of finding youorself and cherishing your own special talents. I reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for a good book and\or author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Excellent book

    This book is a classic for the times. It is rich with humor and intrigue. Once you begin reading you will want the entire series. I have personally read this book at least 3 times and I have read each of the books from this series at least once. I am attempting to build up the entire collection for future reads.I highly recommend this book. Piers Anthony is a very creative and entertaining writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Really good

    This book was a dream.The imagination put into this story was commendable. I haven't read the entire series but what I have read is wonderful and well thought through. The little twists and problems in between the plot keep the book interesting and not to short while tieing the plots together ensures that it doesn't drag on.....Like I am now. Long story short, READ THIS BOOK!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    A terrific start to a great series!

    The magic begins here with piers anthonys first novel in the Xanth series. This book is filled with adventure, wit, humor, action and surprise. A must read!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Among the best in fantasy!

    This book is the perfect type of fantasy i love. It has the most magical land, creatures and magic i have ever read. This is a must own because its among the best fantasy has to offer. A few people below say that it talks about sex and it refers to a couple making love without being descriptive at all so if you want to hide in a closet and never come out then maybe you shouldn't read any books or watch tv. This is recommended for people of all ages. EXCELLENT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    The beggining of greatness

    This book has got to be one of the best written books I have ever read, Piers Anthony blends reality with fantasy perfectly, he puts the main characters into some uncomfortable positions that are very intruiging to read about. This book is equal to all of my favorites, including Ender's Game, and Pendragon. Although this book is very, and I repeat, very adult. I am 14 and I have read some of this man's books, mostly from the Incarnations of Immortality, Piers often describes very adult situations, and from a man's point of view (your imagination can take it from there). That being said I must warn you, if you want to read this book you must know that there are 28 books in this series, and if you wish to finish it, you had better clear up your schedule for the length of up to a year. I finished this book in about a week, and that was reading it nonstop. If you wish to proceed than please, read on, Piers done an astounding job of getting you to know the characters, after a while, you may know more about them than you know about anyone in reality. Bink, Chameleon, and the Evil Magician Trent will seem like reality instead of fantasy. I hope Piers Xanthony's series will give you as much love and respect for this magical land as I have. Enjoy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Great Book

    I read this book about three years ago and I think it's great. I don't mean to be offensive to anyone, but when I read some of the other reviews (some of the more recent ones), I couldn't help but laugh. You think Xanth could be offensive to younger readers?!? I was in 7th grade when I read it and I loved it! It is a bit suggestive, but that's what makes it great. I've read all but 5 (out of 27) of the books in the series now, and I love 'em all. If you're looking for a good book, check out this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I LOVE YOU PIERS ANYHONY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Okay, this book is definateiy not for immature people. I am twelve years old and about to turn thirteen in seven months. I dont think that this book is for people younger than me. The whole series has naked people. Its almost always naked women though. So the main character in this story is a guy named Bink. He thinks he doesnt have magic. If he doesnt he is going to be exiled to the land were ther are other people who dont have magic. He wants to marry this woman named Sabrina. She suggests that he should go and see the Good Magican Humprey. Thats it thats all Im going to tell you. I think this book is unique in its own little way. I for everyone elses information think this book and Piers Anthony are awesome and I love his books and are going to read all of them. I LOVE YOU PIERS ANTHONY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Piers Anthony is an awesome author

    One of my all time favorite series of books.

    Piers' clever twist on puns makes the Xanth series a fun ride from cover to cover along with the classic plots of guy/girl looking to find their place in the world and finding love along the way.

    The Xanth series is definitely a good series of books for anyone with an interest in science fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Chris

    The goin is good......................british person

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Jack

    Hey jack how is it going?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Long Time Reader

    This first book set up the series, and it has been magic ever sence. I have read half of the books and have started reading them again. I'm glad he didn't stop writing theay are exciting and hard to put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    One of the Best Comedic Fantasies of All Time

    An incredible book... you will not be able to put it down, guaranteed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    God of all books

    This was the greatest book i've ever read, Bink is awesome

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    An Amazing Quest Of Peril and Love

    This is not merely a book, it is an adventure. It is not often that I can say that I read a book nonstop for 12 hours until I finished. 'A Spell For Chameleon' is the ultimate reading experience, and everyone who starts to read this book will be enthralled by its relentless ability to deliver. The only person who would not enjoy this book is a coward who is so shocked by seeing worlds such as 'make love' or 'veluptuous.' I mean seriously, only a wuss would find these words to be 'innapropriate' or 'to mature.' Cmon people! This book rules!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    A Rare Find Among Many

    I am personally not a fan of science fiction. I find most of a little over the edge for me. But a friend of mine recommended this book reassuring me that it was better than Harry Potter. So I read the book and fell in love with Bink. The plot of this story is very interesting and imaginative. I really enjoyed reading it. I would recommend it to anyone of any age who is capable of reading this level of literature. I read this book in 8th grade. I, however, am a bigger fan of Harry Potter

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Awesomely well written

    Okay, this is my first review of any book. I have always read them and kept my opinion to myself. It was a honor to read this novel for the second time and begin my travel through beautifully painted story again. This story is as refreashing as a glass of lemonade on, hot and sticky, summers day. Very orginal! The story hit all the tastful notes for a thrill junky to a hopeless romantic and everything in between. Bink is a character that is very relatively. Anyone..., no actually everyone has experienced hardship in trying to realize their full potential; at the same time discovering how we all fit into the full scope of something greater than ourselves. Bink is awsome...this series of deliciously written novels are awsome... Piers Anthony you are awsome. The Xanth series should be on the silver screen, and maybe some of the mundane movies would finally take the back seat to what is obviously greater. Something to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    I love this book! Makes my home magical!

    I love this book! Makes my home magical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Fantastic

    I Love this whole series, it's so nice to finally read the first book! High five to Piers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I loved this!

    I loved this book! It wasn't a fast read for me, but I am not a fast reader. Piers Anthony is a great writer and I hope to read the rest of the books. I would recomend this book a lot!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7