BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Spell for the Revolution (Traitor to the Crown Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Well done!

    I thoroughly enjoyed the entire series. The historical detail was fascinating, the characters well-conceived, their reactions logical but not over-done, the plotting well-paced and with twists and turns to keep you engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Fun

    I began this series thinking that "Patriot Witch" was a quirky kind of title and sounded like fun. It was a much more interesting and literate experience than I was expecting. I love Revolutionary War history anyway and while this was pure fiction, the people, places, and events were all carefully researched and added in to give the book a credible feel. The entire series is interesting and well-written and what I thought would just be a fun book to take on the plane with me, made me want to buy books 2 and 3 just to see what happened. Great fun. Just sayin'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Original plot. Excellent book for a rainy day.

    This book. along with the other two books in the series make a very pleasnt rainy weekend reading. The basic plot is original and well developed. The characters need a bit of work to be well rounded. Overall a very good effort. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    very enjoyable

    I found it a perfect balance adventure, romance, evil. If I say more I will tell you the ending. You will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Even better than the first!

    We continue the story of Proctor Brown and his weaving through the American Revolution as the British troops begin a strong push against General Washington's armies in the north. Of course, a strong reason for the pressing back of General Washington is due to the foul spells of the Covenant, the group of evil witches from overseas who have been manipulating history for centuries to serve their own purpose. They do not want the American Revolution to succeed and will do anything to stop it, including chaining the souls of the violently dead to every member of the American army. Proctor Brown and the other witches he has connected up with at The Farm are the only ones who can see the trapped souls draining the will to fight from Washington's men, and if they hope to break the curse, they must do so secretly or be hanged for the powers they were born with.


    Pros:
    Bootzamon! Bootzamon! Bootzamon! Seriously, Bootzamon was stand down my favorite character in this book, a living scarecrow animated with the relentless soul of a witch dead centuries past. Sure you can kill him, but then his soul is sent to a new scarecrow to begin his hunt anew! Just the sheer fear of Bootzamon every time a wide floppy hat is mentioned is enough to make him one of the most memorable characters in this trilogy for me--far more frightening than Old Nance from the first book.

    Reading American history intertwined with secret witchcraft is very appealing--something fresh and different from the typical fantasies I've been surrounded in lately. I crave that freshness.

    Even better, there is such a huge sense of despair in this book--the countless tries to break Washington's curse; the descriptions of Washington with twelve or more spirits dragging at his feet, pulling at his arms, whispering words of dread into his ears as he struggles to stay inspired and inspire the men around him; the drifting of soldiers from the army, twisted souls still attached to them, as they fail to stand against the dark powers arrayed against them and the constant pushing of the Hessian mercenaries. Even Proctor and his fellow witches struggle to hold on to hope as everything they try to cure the curse fails, time after time. But even this despair has a bright side, an admiration for those men who stand against all odds and the inevitability of their doom because they believe the dream of freedom is worth everything. And that comes through all the stronger due to the overwhelming despair surrounding them.

    The play of all these emotions was masterful with all the story's threads mirroring the theme of struggling against impossible odds and finding a way to win, not by any means necessary, but by any means noble and grand.


    Cons:

    There is not much that struck me as off in this book--in fact, I'd like to say it is superior to the first in the series, A Patriot Witch (and I really liked A Patriot Witch, too!). The only thing that occasionally irks is exactly how involved Proctor Brown becomes sometimes in smaller events of the American Revolution. Almost as if he is being forced to touch every single historical moment, and in that touching, somewhat diminishes the power of the moments for those individuals history praises. I think this is a fine line to walk, a line which was better handled in A Patriot Witch than in this sequel. The sheer power of the book overwhelms this occasional groan, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    A Spell For the Revolution

    The second in the series of A Traitor to the Crown series is a fulfilling read. It picks up with Proctor Brown looking for allies to help in the fight against the Covenant to help in winning America's Revolutionary war. The insight into the battles that are fought and the possibilities of a difference influence on these battles is well done. Mr. Finaly shares with us a wide knowledge of the battles that were fought and takes us right there with his eloquent world building in this novel. It is a novel that takes and keeps the readers attention throughout the book.
    The story of Bootzamon and the eventual solution is well done and by the end of the book has one once again rooting for the hero as well as his foe.
    If his solutions for the battle of New Jersey were accurate then it gives the whole battle a different viewpoint which is what I appreciates in an alternate history type of novel. Let alone the crossing of the Delaware solution.
    His introduction of Historic and well known names and the characterization of these men from our past is well done. It has made me research Alexander Hamilton to see what it was about this man for him to portray him the way that he has.
    This novel was helpful in making some trying times in my life go away for a little while as I lost myself in the world portrayed inside the second part of Traitor to the Crown.
    So in the long run I would say that this is a good read that I was glad to see and look very forward to the conclusion in Demon Redcoat the third in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read

    I met Mr Finlay at Macon this year so bought both his books. I have to say I like A Spell better than Patriot Witch(which I thought started slow but got really good deeper in the book. A Spell is a faster story line and much quicker read. The history in both is great and really brings that time to life even without the main story. Proctor and the rest of the cast become real and are well rounded. Mr. Finlay is a really good writer who gets better with each book. I highly recommend this book and the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    The American history we didn't learn about in school

    C. C. Finlay is back with the second installment to his TRAITOR TO THE CROWN series and continuing with his inventive and clever twists on the American history we thought we knew. There's something in here for everyone; a little romance, detailed and accurate history with real historical figures, and ghosts, living scarecrows and demons for the horror fans.

    The characters are three dimensional with their own memorable quirks. Deborah is a likeable, strong-willed woman with enough mysteries about her past and her abilities to keep readers intrigued. The one exception is Proctor, who is a nice guy, but doesn't go much beyond that. I liked him well enough, but I kept wanting more "oomph" or something from him, since although he does try to make a difference, things seem to happen to him more by luck or chance than his own efforts.

    The writing is solid, the tension is enough to keep readers eagerly turning pages and reaching for the next installment. From a writing perspective, it's impressive how Finlay managed to weave in the supernatural elements with actual historical events and it's worth reading for that alone. Even though this is part of a series, it stands well on its own, so if you've missed PATRIOT WITCH (why?) you'll still know what's going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1