Customer Reviews for

Spellbound

Average Rating 4.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Breathtaking Romance! Highly Recommended!!

Spellbound is a beautiful, modern day fairy tale. I was spellbound by this 'lost' love story between Emma and Brendan. Emma Connor, a smart, beautiful girl, definitely hasn't had a fairy tale life. She goes to live with her Aunt Christine in New York, and there she star...
Spellbound is a beautiful, modern day fairy tale. I was spellbound by this 'lost' love story between Emma and Brendan. Emma Connor, a smart, beautiful girl, definitely hasn't had a fairy tale life. She goes to live with her Aunt Christine in New York, and there she starts a new life at the private school, Vincent Academy-a rich, upper class society. All Emma wanted was to keep a low profile and make it through her last two years, but her destiny walks through the door of her English class as Brendan Salinger, a gorgeous, athletic, rich, and popular guy. Spellbound was an amazing read. I truly enjoyed seeing Emma, Brendan, and all the teen characters acting and talking like the real-today-teens. It pulled me right into their lives. This story had an incredibly strong plot that held me captive. Emma and Brendan's relationship is wonderful. I so love Brendan for how he adored and protected Emma, and Emma for her love for Brenda-to not give up on it no matter what. With the way this story ended, I'm confident there will be a second book to Spellbound. There is also a play list at the end of the book which I really like. You get to see more of Brendan and Emma's personal feelings and emotions for each other in the music they listen to. Spellbound is a must, must read!!! The romance in Spellbound is breathtaking!! Thank you Carla Lynn Shultz for this awesome novel.

posted by iheartyabooks on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nbv

Omigod these are very long reveiws

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Breathtaking Romance! Highly Recommended!!

    Spellbound is a beautiful, modern day fairy tale. I was spellbound by this 'lost' love story between Emma and Brendan. Emma Connor, a smart, beautiful girl, definitely hasn't had a fairy tale life. She goes to live with her Aunt Christine in New York, and there she starts a new life at the private school, Vincent Academy-a rich, upper class society. All Emma wanted was to keep a low profile and make it through her last two years, but her destiny walks through the door of her English class as Brendan Salinger, a gorgeous, athletic, rich, and popular guy. Spellbound was an amazing read. I truly enjoyed seeing Emma, Brendan, and all the teen characters acting and talking like the real-today-teens. It pulled me right into their lives. This story had an incredibly strong plot that held me captive. Emma and Brendan's relationship is wonderful. I so love Brendan for how he adored and protected Emma, and Emma for her love for Brenda-to not give up on it no matter what. With the way this story ended, I'm confident there will be a second book to Spellbound. There is also a play list at the end of the book which I really like. You get to see more of Brendan and Emma's personal feelings and emotions for each other in the music they listen to. Spellbound is a must, must read!!! The romance in Spellbound is breathtaking!! Thank you Carla Lynn Shultz for this awesome novel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbound

    Emma Connor was living a fairy tale life. Well, the first part- a.k.a the crappy part- of a fairy tale. First her twin brother, Ethan, dies of meningitis, and then her mother gets sick with cancer and marries so Emma won't be alone after she is gone. Fortunately for Emma her mother picked a real winner *sarcasm*. Henry, Emma's stepfather, believes that all answers to questions can be found in the bottom of a bottle. And let's just say he isn't a nice drunk. After a bad accident and a subsequent newspaper article, Emma feels more alone than ever before.

    Finally, the better part of her fairy tale begins when her Aunt Christine asks Emma to live with her. Having no reason to stay with her stepfather, she packs her bags and moves to New York City where she will be attending a very exclusive and posh high school. All Emma wants to do is blend in and make it through her last two years of high school uneventfully. Then Brendan Salinger comes along and things start to get dangerous and interesting. If you think finding your reincarnated soul mate and then promptly dying a horrible death over and over and over again over the centuries is interesting. And that's not even mentioning all the high school drama Emma has to endure.

    Spellbound was a really fun read. The plot, reincarnated lovers destined to find each other through the centuries, though done before, was still interesting and intriguing to read about. The romance was sweet (Brendan was so cute!) and the rivalries were bitter. My one complaint was there were some grammatical errors, and although it wasn't that distracting, it is still kind of annoying. My favorite error was "She put her head on her chin." Ha! I laughed at that one.

    Overall it was a good read. If you like romance and the paranormal you should pick this book up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Addictive

    When I finished reading this I kept on thinking about everything thing that happened. I love the characters( ahem BRENDAN) and I like how Cara Lynne Shultz explained everything about Brendans and Emmas past. It felt like I was under this books spell and couldn't get out. Even when I finished. Spellbound is captivating, romantic, and mysterious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Nbv

    Omigod these are very long reveiws

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    : Oh. My. Goodness. This book seriously surprised me. Going into it, all I knew was that it was a YA paranormal romance. Boy, was I amazed to discover there was so much more. For starters, Cara Lynn Schultz successfully writes from a teenager's perspective. I never once cringed at the language used. (Don't you hate it when a YA author starts throwing around the word "Yo"). Actually, I really enjoyed Emma's voice. She was nice, funny, and completely relatable. She has insecurities, like every teenager. She worries about her hair, if she will fit in, and what Brendan thinks of her. Also, Emma is not a push over. Especially when it comes to the kids at school who constantly gossip about her. Cue the jerk: Anthony. He just makes Emma's life a living hell at school (and outside it). At first its just a matter of ego, but it soon turns into something much more dangerous. As the story progresses, Anthony's darker side surfaces. He is seriously insane. By the end, I was scared of him.
    The second thing that literally brought this book up a full kiss was the fact that it a) has a tragic love story for a base; b) involves soul mates; and c) involves past lives/reincarnation. As you know, I love books that contain even just one of those. But this one contained all three! The tragic love story: Emma and Brendan are cursed to fall in love over and over again only to be torn apart by an untimely death. Something is different this time around. They might have a shot at breaking the curse. If they don't hurry, it could all end, once again.
    Poor Emma. In every life she is born poor. This one was especially brutal for her. After her mom and brother die, she lives with her step-father who would rather drink and abuse her then man-up and be a father for her. After getting into a DWI accident with Emma in the car (she gets injured), Emma escapes to her aunt's home in NYC. Going to the exclusive Vince Academy has Emma feeling even more of an outsider with all the rich students (think Gossip Girl).
    Yes, it does have a HEA. But, you know, it was still a lot of fun to read. The ending was suspenseful. The romance was lovely. And Brendan was just soooo cute. You can't see me, but I'm crossing my fingers hoping there will be a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Way better than expected!!

    I loved this book SO MUCH!! First off the characters are really great and the dialog very true. Emma is a girl that I could see as a best friend and learns that things are not what she expects when she moves from her home to New York City. Brendan is very drool worthy and the romance that they share is really true love. The mystery that unfolds is one I wasnt expecting and things move along fast enough to keep your attention. This is going to be a great new series and I highly recommend it!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    For being a debut author I felt that Cara Lynn Shultz did an amazing job. This book dragged me in and had me reading it until 4am... when I had to get up only a few hours later. Very rarely do I fall "head over feet" in love with a book, usually I like a book and get sucked in but I wouldn't really reread it again. However, this book has be lining up to buy it when it comes out. I really wish that I was in NYC for the book release and signing that Cara is doing.

    Okay on to the good stuff and I promise that I won't give anything away. At first I had no idea what the cover meant. It is rare that you find a book that doesn't have just a posing girl in a ball gown or the typical head shot. So I was intrigued to see that the cover was of a girl (small compared to cover) walking under a bursting street lamp on a bridge. After reading the book it all makes sense since this is a significant (in my point of view) turning point in the book. That is when you realize something isn't quite right. Street lamps don't normally burn out and shatter one right after the other down the street, they just don't do that. So it was a breath of fresh air to finally see someone who put some extra thought into the cover art.

    I liked that the story didn't sweat on the small stuff leaving you skimming pages just to get back to the story. Cara Lynn Shultz gave you just enough information to draw a picture in your head without over doing it. However, with that being said there were some parts that I just didn't like. First off, the secondary characters that were introduced didn't really play a huge part in the book after the initial introduction. Like her friend Cisco for instance, he is the first guy that is nice to her and he invites her out to see a band play but then he sort of just falls off the face of the planet. Okay, maybe there are a few cameos with him in it towards the middle to the end but I sort of feel like he was only there to introduce Emma and Brendan and that's it. The same thing can be said about Angelique even though she does appear a tiny bit more than Cisco due to her being a witch and having knowledge about the reincarnation scenario, she still doesn't pop up a whole lot towards the end either. It sort of felt like Cara Lynn Shultz forgot about the other characters in the book. The other thing that I was not really sure about was the insane rage that Anthony has. After a while I started thinking "Maybe he is possessed by the devil?" and then it turns out... nope he is just plain insane. I don't know if this is number one in a series or a stand alone book but I was sort of disappointed at the fact that they introduce Angelique who is a witch and yet there is no crazy spell casting.

    Let's talk a bit about Brendan. Really, how could I not? Sometimes YA books can get a little cheesy and sometimes over do the whole "first love" thing but I think that it was adorable. my favorite part was when Brendan opted to drink bottled water over beer because he didn't want Emma to feel weird since she was the only one not drinking alcohol. Of course this is after he gives her his hoodie when he notices that she is cold. Chivalry is not dead in this boy, not in the least.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Spellbound

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!? XD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    The story is just like the fallen series...

    Umm... I never read this book before but from all of the reviews and everything it just sounds like a lamer and less popular version of the fallen series. Not that I got to read that series yet either but yeah, the plot sounds exactly the same. Im just sayin...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Enjoyable romance

    Really enjoyable teen romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Expected a Bigger Bang

    I have to say, Spellbound was written in a way which kept me wanting more. I honestly wanted to know which big event would happen next, how the story would end. The author did an excellent job keeping me in the story. Great hook, awesome teasers. I think the biggest issue I had with the storyline itself is the wait never really panned out to anything significant. The book seemed to lack a real challenge for the heroine, in my mind. As for Emma, she wasn’t the sharpest tool in the shed. In fact, she even mentioned her own stupidity at one time. I can’t say I was fond of her. Some of the other characters were certainly amusing though. Still, I had a difficult time relating with the characters as high school students. Perhaps high school has changed a lot since my time. It just seemed as if the students acted more like adults than teenagers, while Emma acted like a second grader at his/her goofiest moments. All in all, this was a middle of the road read. Like I said, the book kept me involved until the end. I just expected a bigger bang and characters more high school-like. I received this from the publisher in exchange for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you’ve got a foothold in the book world, you’ll k

    If you’ve got a foothold in the book world, you’ll know that Spellbound has been all the rage lately. Book bloggers keep on reviewing it and giving it 5 stars, and it’s currently the 2nd most requested book on NetGalley.

    But if you ask me? I don’t see what this hype is about.

    Yes, Spellbound was a nice break from vampires and werewolves. Yes, Spellbound had a cute couple. Yes, Spellbound had interesting characters. Yes, Spellbound had an interesting plot.

    But that’s not enough to reel me in, trust me.

    Sure, Spellbound isn’t about vampires and werewolves. Lots of books aren’t these days, thankfully. (Otherwise I would give up on books, honestly.) But Spellbound is based on something that’s getting slightly old. Reincarnation. I’ve already read a few books about that.

    Sure, Spellbound had a cute couple. Emma and Brendan are just adorable for each other, and they really do have chemistry. But honestly, their love for each other doesn’t seem real to me yet. Even with that ending of how to break the curse and how Brendan was willing to sacrifice himself for Emma, their love isn’t realistic. In fact, the ending made me even more convinced that their love isn’t realistic. That’s classic. It’s cheesy.

    The characters? I wasn’t lying when I said that they were interesting. But I didn’t mean the main characters. Because in addition to their un-real romance, they are both un-real characters. Emma is a Mary Sue. Seriously, coming from a tragic past? Pretty and kind of smart? Has a rich and powerful aunt? And even though I love her for standing up for her younger cousin, Emma is not kick-butt. Snarky, yes (and I do admit that I love snarky protagonists), but not kick-butt. Did she kick Anthony’s butt? No. She had to be saved by the hero of the day, Brendan.

    And Brendan? He’s DEFINITELY a Marty Stue. Without a doubt. Smart? Strong? Athletic? Incredibly hot? Devil-may-care attitude to everyone except Emma? It’s completely obvious. And I know it was necessary because Archer wanted him to be reincarnated as handsome and strong and smart and all of those things, but does it really have to be that obvious?

    And the plot. It was definitely interesting watching Emma and Brendan trying to get past the curse, but it was completely predictable at times. I definitely found out about the reincarnated love far before Emma read about Archer.

    And at times, the plot reminded me of Twilight. Pretty girl going to a new school, where she gets new friends and finds true love in a hot guy she meets? And this hot guy is different from all of the others because of whatever improbable reason? Yes, Spellbound was a tad bit Twilight-esque.

    Now that I’ve got all the negativity out of my system, I’ll talk about the good things. I loved Angelique. Angelique is Emma’s best friend. And Angelique is a witch. A good one, that is. Angelique was amazingly considerate and supporting of Emma, trying to help Emma break the curse and convince Emma to get in touch with her inner witch.

    I loved Cisco too. Though it was obvious from the moment that I met Brendan that Emma would end up with him, I half hoped that Emma would end up with Cisco . . . until I learned that Cisco was, unfortunately, not interested in females. But Cisco was realistic and friendly and everything I hope a friend could be.

    Overall, Spellbound was a predictable book with unrealistic main characters, but I highly enjoyed Emma’s snarky attitude, Angelique’s witchy-ness, and the romance between Emma and Brendan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Wondrrful

    Really good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Pretty good.

    This book was just okay. I don't think that I will get the next one in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    LOOOOOVED THIS BOOK!

    LOOOOOVED THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Spellbound is a WONDERFUL read!

    I loved this book but it kinda lingered too much on Emma and Brendan..and after their first kiss its like every 8 pages they are making out...and that Anthony guy is creepy... overall though it is a very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbound is a story that is full of magic. Don't get me wrong,

    Spellbound is a story that is full of magic. Don't get me wrong, I'm a person who loves reading magic books, but this one had to include the insta love. Spellbound started off as an interesting book. The main protagonist, Emma, moves to live with her aunt in New York. She starts a new school, and meets new people. That's when she suddenly gets this unexplainable pull towards one of the guys, Brandan Salinger.
    At first, Emma doesn't know that she's a witch. She doesn't understand the sudden pull towards Brendan. I liked how there were still the beginning awkward moments between the both of them, but as they both realized they were "meant to be", the spark kind of vanished. That's when I got a bit bored, because I just don't think insta love is possible, or even the slightest believable.
    Throughout the book, it was Emma learning about her past life, and how she was reincarnated. Emma is a great protagonist, and she didn't annoy me the slightest bit. Brendan was a great guy as well. Rich, popular, and good looking. I can say that I enjoyed mostly everything, but what really bothered me was the reincarnation and the instant love.
    Overall, the flow of the book was good. The characters were enjoyable. It got me laughing at parts, and got me really scared in others. If instant love doesn't bother you, I'm sure Spellbound is a book you will fall in love with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SPELLBOUND- A bewitchingly hip romance set in modern NYC, that has been set into motion many centuries ago. You shouldn't miss that!

    The story of SPELLBOUND follows Emma Conner who just moved to New York city to live with her aunt. With several secrets in tow she has to face a new school and new enemies but she also gets the chance to meet many new exciting people.

    One of them is Brendan Salinger, he is good-looking, smart and destined to fall in love with Emma. And their love feels just perfectly natural and sweet. Although they are destined to be together, their developing relationship didn't feel forced or constructed for one second.

    Interesting about Emma is that she's the girl who has two pasts with secrets that start affecting her new life in New York. On the one hand she's got a in her small hometown. On the other hand something inside of Emma has once lived in the Middle Ages. Now both pasts circling around personal and familiar conflicts and strokes of fate seem to affect Emma and Brendan's love in a very dangerous way that could not only tear them apart but mean death.

    I immediately felt attached to Emma and Brendan and it's not only that the couple has some really cute scenes, but other characters like her loyal friends or relatives contribute to a great storyline and extremely entertaining dialogues aswell. One of my favourite secondary characters is Emma's cousin, Ashley, who is such a sweet and supportive person.

    Conflicts in SPELLBOUND result from fate and a curse laid on the lovers many centuries ago that still seems to affect them in some way. But it wouldn't be a YA novel if there weren't also the prep school antagonists who can be pretty mean.

    Shultz supports her fantastic debut novel with an exciting character cast, a great writing and the striking mixture of a fancy prep school, fashion and paranormalcy. I sense a few more mysteries and secrets being burried in the past that are only waiting to be reanimated in SPELLBOUND's sequel!

    THE VERDICT

    Gossip Girl watch out, with SPELLBOUND a strong rival is on its way. The story around Emma and Brendan not only convinces with the realistic and all-day meanings of being a teenager and fashionista in New York City, but is also well-supported by engaging paranormal elements! I consider myself totally spellbound, xoxo Miss Page-Turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Book rate

    Verry verry good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    A Must Read

    This book is an amazing read. I had to force myself to put it down!!! I can't wait for the sequel it can't get here soon enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7