Customer Reviews for

Spellbound

Average Rating 3.5
( 1727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(436)

4 Star

(388)

3 Star

(437)

2 Star

(251)

1 Star

(215)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Captivating Read

If you, like me, are a fan of Ms. Roberts, and I imagine you are, otherwise you wouldn't be reading this, then you can rest assured she delivers with this gem of a tale.

I may be a man, and not just a man, but a manly man, but even I like to snuggle with a Nor...
If you, like me, are a fan of Ms. Roberts, and I imagine you are, otherwise you wouldn't be reading this, then you can rest assured she delivers with this gem of a tale.

I may be a man, and not just a man, but a manly man, but even I like to snuggle with a Nora Roberts novel in my flannel PJs in front of a cozy fire wrapped up in my afghan sipping chamomile tea. Many a time I recall having finished a Nora Roberts novel, closing the book and then my eyes, lost in the dreamy reverie of the novel's romantic spell, savoring that sweet moment and sighing with both satisfaction and unfulfillable longing. Then I go outside and chop wood.

Calin Farrell, the protagonist of "Spellbound", is also a manly man, as well as being Irish. He returns to his enchanted emerald homeland, weary of the demands of the world, and finds the ravishing Bryna Torrence. What looks to be a straightforward magical romance becomes truly magical when we discover ancient secrets and curses which tempt both destiny and fate and leave us wondering in the power of dreams and an undying love. I could go on, but I would not deny the reader the rapture of discovering for him-/herself the harrowing and thrilling twists that will leave you, dare I say it, spellbound.

posted by 182683 on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Spellbound

This is the first time I read Nora Roberts. In a few words:
The positive: The book kept my attention the whole time. I read it from beginning to end in just one morning. It was fun and light.
The negative: Felt it more like for teenagers. Such "perfect" characters ...
This is the first time I read Nora Roberts. In a few words:
The positive: The book kept my attention the whole time. I read it from beginning to end in just one morning. It was fun and light.
The negative: Felt it more like for teenagers. Such "perfect" characters always disappoint me.
Might be good for a rainy and lazy day.

posted by pale_moon on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1735 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating Read

    If you, like me, are a fan of Ms. Roberts, and I imagine you are, otherwise you wouldn't be reading this, then you can rest assured she delivers with this gem of a tale. <BR/><BR/>I may be a man, and not just a man, but a manly man, but even I like to snuggle with a Nora Roberts novel in my flannel PJs in front of a cozy fire wrapped up in my afghan sipping chamomile tea. Many a time I recall having finished a Nora Roberts novel, closing the book and then my eyes, lost in the dreamy reverie of the novel's romantic spell, savoring that sweet moment and sighing with both satisfaction and unfulfillable longing. Then I go outside and chop wood. <BR/><BR/>Calin Farrell, the protagonist of "Spellbound", is also a manly man, as well as being Irish. He returns to his enchanted emerald homeland, weary of the demands of the world, and finds the ravishing Bryna Torrence. What looks to be a straightforward magical romance becomes truly magical when we discover ancient secrets and curses which tempt both destiny and fate and leave us wondering in the power of dreams and an undying love. I could go on, but I would not deny the reader the rapture of discovering for him-/herself the harrowing and thrilling twists that will leave you, dare I say it, spellbound.

    53 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbound

    This is the first time I read Nora Roberts. In a few words:
    The positive: The book kept my attention the whole time. I read it from beginning to end in just one morning. It was fun and light.
    The negative: Felt it more like for teenagers. Such "perfect" characters always disappoint me.
    Might be good for a rainy and lazy day.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Warning: book only 83 pages long!

    This is the second ebook that I bought which I thought was a good deal, only to find out that it was more like a chapter. . .only 83 pgs. Not worth time or money!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Disappointing

    There are some books that I will read over and over again. This will NOT be one of them. I have read several Nora Roberts books and have enjoyed them, but this one was very disappointing. It seemed thrown together, as if the author was only concerned about getting something down on paper, good or bad. There was no real character development and while there was a plot, it was not the engaging story line I have come to expect from Nora Roberts.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    First of a trilogy

    I didn't realize that I already have this book as it is the 1st book in the trilogy "A Little Magic" which I love!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Meh

    While I usually like her books, this book was a bit boring and unbelievable not just because it had to do with the supernatural. I mean the guy goes back in time and finds the he girl and has taken her to bed while fall in love with her all in one day!!! There really wasn't any character development and by the time I finished in the book an hours from when I began reading it I wanted that hour of my life back. I mean, it is a fast read but it was kind of boring and the relationship was just so over the top unrealistic that you really couldn't connect to the character at all.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    Absolutely Terrible!

    This was one of the worst books I have read! It is very short and cheesy. I only finished it because I bought it. Don't waste your money or time. Absolutely terrible!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Not her Best!!

    Not her best!It was like a child's book just with sex! Very disappointed. Nora Roberts is a very talented author. Her books take you and have you craving more.... I highly recommend her books to anyone!!!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    I enjoyed this book so much! I have read most of Nora Roberts's books and this is one of my favourites! Great characters. Interesting story!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Even for under $3, this is not worth the money.

    The breadth of the novel simply does not match the complication of the plot Robert's attempts to complete. Too, the romance is buried and forced behind the inertia of trying to move a complicated set of events forward in under a hundred pages. While the plot has potential, this is an unrewarding read.

    Too, at times, I find Robert's relentless and often unoriginal returns to Ireland annoying.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    reviews

    if you are going to give me 4 pages for a review could they please be the actual book so i have something to make me want the book

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Spellbound Sux

    It's the biggest load of crap that has ever been my misfortune to read.
    A terrible waste of paper!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    4 page sample...

    I downloaded the sample for this book to see if i had read it before but the sample was only the first 4 pages which included the title page and all her other books. None of the actual story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    Im a newly convinced fan of N.R., and this book doesn't change my mind about her. There's no doubt that N.R. is a beautiful writer, and this book follows her amazing pattern of great reads. It was a little disconcerting, but that's probably due to the fact that the book is so short. All in all, good work once again!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Should have been longer...

    I like the concept of the short read, and I liked the storyline. Failed to draw me in and fight for the hero and heroine. If this concept had been developed into a full book, I believe it could have been great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good

    I enjoyed reading this book. The plot was amazing. Nora Roberts did a good job at making the reader close to the characters in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Don't Bother

    I have read Nora Roberts for years and have never felt cheated until "Spellbound". I expected a novel and got a short story instead. Shame on your Nora Roberts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fanciful fun

    The plot drew me in from the beginning. I had some inkling as to how it would turn out and wasn't disappointed! I'm not a fan of the kind of a book that kills off the hero and everyone is unhappy at the end so this one was good. I looked up some words and enjoyed finding more about them on Google. Will read more of her work in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    slow

    Plot did not capture my attention.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Nothing New Here

    Disappointed that the promotion and paper was wasted on releasing this older and very short book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1735 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87