Customer Reviews for

Spellbound

Average Rating 3.5
( 1727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(436)

4 Star

(388)

3 Star

(437)

2 Star

(251)

1 Star

(215)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Captivating Read

If you, like me, are a fan of Ms. Roberts, and I imagine you are, otherwise you wouldn't be reading this, then you can rest assured she delivers with this gem of a tale.

I may be a man, and not just a man, but a manly man, but even I like to snuggle with a Nor...
If you, like me, are a fan of Ms. Roberts, and I imagine you are, otherwise you wouldn't be reading this, then you can rest assured she delivers with this gem of a tale.

I may be a man, and not just a man, but a manly man, but even I like to snuggle with a Nora Roberts novel in my flannel PJs in front of a cozy fire wrapped up in my afghan sipping chamomile tea. Many a time I recall having finished a Nora Roberts novel, closing the book and then my eyes, lost in the dreamy reverie of the novel's romantic spell, savoring that sweet moment and sighing with both satisfaction and unfulfillable longing. Then I go outside and chop wood.

Calin Farrell, the protagonist of "Spellbound", is also a manly man, as well as being Irish. He returns to his enchanted emerald homeland, weary of the demands of the world, and finds the ravishing Bryna Torrence. What looks to be a straightforward magical romance becomes truly magical when we discover ancient secrets and curses which tempt both destiny and fate and leave us wondering in the power of dreams and an undying love. I could go on, but I would not deny the reader the rapture of discovering for him-/herself the harrowing and thrilling twists that will leave you, dare I say it, spellbound.

posted by 182683 on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Spellbound

This is the first time I read Nora Roberts. In a few words:
The positive: The book kept my attention the whole time. I read it from beginning to end in just one morning. It was fun and light.
The negative: Felt it more like for teenagers. Such "perfect" characters ...
This is the first time I read Nora Roberts. In a few words:
The positive: The book kept my attention the whole time. I read it from beginning to end in just one morning. It was fun and light.
The negative: Felt it more like for teenagers. Such "perfect" characters always disappoint me.
Might be good for a rainy and lazy day.

posted by pale_moon on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 437 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbound

    This is the first time I read Nora Roberts. In a few words:
    The positive: The book kept my attention the whole time. I read it from beginning to end in just one morning. It was fun and light.
    The negative: Felt it more like for teenagers. Such "perfect" characters always disappoint me.
    Might be good for a rainy and lazy day.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Meh

    While I usually like her books, this book was a bit boring and unbelievable not just because it had to do with the supernatural. I mean the guy goes back in time and finds the he girl and has taken her to bed while fall in love with her all in one day!!! There really wasn't any character development and by the time I finished in the book an hours from when I began reading it I wanted that hour of my life back. I mean, it is a fast read but it was kind of boring and the relationship was just so over the top unrealistic that you really couldn't connect to the character at all.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    4 page sample...

    I downloaded the sample for this book to see if i had read it before but the sample was only the first 4 pages which included the title page and all her other books. None of the actual story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Should have been longer...

    I like the concept of the short read, and I liked the storyline. Failed to draw me in and fight for the hero and heroine. If this concept had been developed into a full book, I believe it could have been great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fanciful fun

    The plot drew me in from the beginning. I had some inkling as to how it would turn out and wasn't disappointed! I'm not a fan of the kind of a book that kills off the hero and everyone is unhappy at the end so this one was good. I looked up some words and enjoyed finding more about them on Google. Will read more of her work in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    slow

    Plot did not capture my attention.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Short But Sweet

    I don't usually read Nora Roberts' novels, but this one was an excellent price. So I took a chance and read it till the end. I liked the ending, but was hoping to get to know the characters a little bit more in depth, and that just doesn't not really happen with how the plot is played out. It was a very compassionate, compelling story, but I was hoping for a bit more personality. If you like witch craft, premontions, and the like, then you will enjoy reading this short story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Good for a cold rainy day read...while your soup is simmering

    I love books by Nora Roberts but this was way too short. This short story could have been a really great read if the characters had been developed more. There was just sooo much more she could have done..maybe even another trilogy. This left me wanting to know more about the people and their lives before and after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    good fast read

    It was interesting though I am not into witches and all that fairytale stuff. Good romantic plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    This would be a perfect teenage girl book if you take the sex out of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow

    I admit it was a tad short for my taste but over all the story was very nice and I couldn't put it down. She had me glued to my nook. To bad it was a short read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Decent book for a weekend

    Quick read, good book, but not near my fave from author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Short, but sweet...

    Love this book! Nora Roberts is such a wonderful author and this book will keep you spellbound! Such a great read for a rainy afternoon...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Different read

    I got this on kobo for 99 cents . This pagan/ wiccan love story set in Ireland was a short story . Soul mates reunited after many years to prove the strength of their eternal love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Short

    It was enjoyable but felt like one story that should have been in the mix with others. It was only 84 pages and just shot straight through from beginning to end. Overall it was okay, but not the kind of detail you'd expect from Nora Roberts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Not her best work. Immature characters were disappointing

    I read the whole book but found the characters shallow & poorly developed for Nora's usual style.

    However, it's worth the money I paid for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Good but short

    I'm a huge Nora Robert's fan, and I was expecting a longer book. If I knew it was 83 pages I wouldn't have bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    goof read

    like the others l would have liked it to be longer but l still enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Too Short

    This was a good book i'll give it that but i personally like longer stories so i was disappointed to find out that the book was so short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    romance and sci fi

    This is a fast read. Part romance, part sci fi. It was ok, a little more unrealistic than I am used to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 437 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22