Customer Reviews for

Spellbound

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Very Delightful Read

    Magic, witches, warlocks, and demons galore - this book has it all. Samantha Combs has done a beautiful job in spinning many elements of the paranormal with a good dose of fantasy. Not to mention the hot and heavy romance growing between Serena Starr and Logan Daniels with every turn of the page.

    Logan has always led a comfortable life, while taking care of his mother and sister ever since his father's demise so long ago. He's surrounded himself with the best of friends and is practically the star of the school's baseball team. While things have not always been in his favor, he's done his best to make the most of what he's had. Yet he's never imagined that meeting the girl of his dreams would turn his life so upside-down.

    Serena is every bit as beautiful - blonde, green eyes, and quite special, she's everything that Logan could ever want in a woman. Yet he has no idea of the secrets that she hides inside. You see, Serena is a witch. So are her sisters. Little does Logan know, the sisters are there for a reason - one that seems so unfathomable to him.

    When dark forces invade the city, Logan comes to realize that Serena is far from being just an ordinary girl. She's a witch, one who's captured his heart completely. One whom he'll do his damnedest to protect, no matter the cost.

    Unable to accept that there are others hunting his beloved, Logan knows that he'll need to accept her for who, and what she is, in order to help her, and her family, with what's to come. As they band together in hopes of taking down the evil that stretches across the town, Logan starts to learn just how special he and Serena really are.

    Accepting everything that has come to pass is hard, at first, but he follows his instincts and gives in to what he's known all along. Come what may, they're there for one another in every way possible.

    Strength comes in the oddest of ways, yet it's the bonds that have been formed that will allow them to overcome the obstacles that have been thrown their way. For love and friendship will make their ordeals bearable, as they battle against those intent on taking away what they love the most.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Woe

    Finished thiis and book two last year.great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    I was given a copy of this for an honest review! Right off the

    I was given a copy of this for an honest review!

    Right off the bat, we’re introduced to Logan. Logan is in high school and happened to meet Serena and her sisters by being late one morning. Serena and her sisters are new and moved in across the street from him.

    It wasn’t too long before Logan notices something is different and special about Serena. Besides being completely and adorably infatuated with her, I mean.

    Their romance blossomed almost immediately, as many high school relationships do. The author really captured pace and heat of high school romances, but also left you with the belief that it really might be a bit more than that even, which is a very rare thing for me to find.

    The world the author creates is fascinating and colorful. I was never bored and constantly curious. This is actually a hard review for me to write, because I’m having a hard time even figuring out what to say about it that could do it any justice at all, no matter how much times passes. It’s a book you really must read. You will definitely not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Spellbound took me by surprise. I found the story to be quite in

    Spellbound took me by surprise. I found the story to be quite interesting and fun. I really enjoy any kind of book that has to do with witches. The story line and characters in this book work well together making it enjoyable . Samantha Combs has done a wonderful job spinning this tale of witches, magic, demons, action, and a sweet romance.I'm looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Yes! Totally good :)

    WOW! This completely differs from all other paranormal romances that I have ever read. Straight to the point in what Serena was and how Logan felt about it. This book was absolutely perfect. The romance that Samantha had written into the book seemed nothing but real. It wasn't overly gushy and sappy (or inappropriate like some books being written). This book left me Spellbound waiting for the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Hi all Anne here, I literally just finished Spellbound by Samantha Combs and I could not wait one moment longer to jump on the computer and post my review.... I loved this book! From page one I was hooked the main character Logan is depicted as the genuine all American guy, he plays baseball, basketball, and like all normal high school kids he has insecurities. His first day of senior year brings a new challenge in his life, her name is Serena. Love at first sight starts the journey for these two, and all the while they never knew fate had chosen their destinies long ago for them. The author paints their pasts full of hardships and loss, but more than that love.. No matter the pain or loss love was always present which gives the characters a real appeal. Logan soon learns his girlfriend has a gift, one that will challenge their families and relationships like nothing else. While Logan is concerned with Serena and her safety his family has been holding secrets back too. His little sister has a gift too. Turns out everyone has a purpose in this family especially Logan who is special in his own right, kind of one of a kind! Together Serena and Logan will face dangerous plots, and uncover mouth dropping twists for both of them. This book was intense a complete page turner i could hardly put it down. The character relationships are strong and described beautifully, you feel connected with the main characters as you watch their love and gifts grow!! The supporting characters are fabulous all different and quirky personalities, strongly written to help and grow but never to over shadow the main characters. I highly recommend this book to all YA romance readers the love story is sweet and inviting and the witch aspects are lovable and not over embellished. I thought this book was perfect and i will purchase this book and any that follow from the author. Samantha Combs did an amazing job and i look forward to her future works... 5 out of 5 stars absolutely no question!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic story! Magnificent descriptions!

    Review by Shyla:
    starts off and places you into the thick of action. Demons, witches destiny and young love explode across the screen. I wasn't even a page in, and I had a list of questions I wanted answered. This was a smart move expertly executed by the clever Ms. Combs. As we move on from the prologue we meet our Hero. Logan is a dark haired cutie who's breezing his way through his senior year of high school. Nothing much happens in the tiny town of Lancaster, New Hampshire. So when he see's three new girls in the office he stops to say hi, and his heart skips a beat.

    Our heroine Serena star has arrived on the scene. Her honey colored hair is a mass of spirals that Logan wants to touch and I can picture vividly. Samantha has a real gift for imagery. She manipulated the words like a pro, and I have no problem envisioning the characters and their setting. From the first day she arrived we get the sense there' something strange about Serena Starr. She appears and disappears in the blink of an eye and abnormal activity occurs around her.

    Logan witnesses it , but remains quiet because to him all that matters is he likes her. Serena is sweet, intelligent and beautiful. She's the perfect match for well mannered and romantic Logan, except she's a teen witch, better known as a twitch. Twitches are watched by the council that governs them, and her eldest sister makes it clear they would not approve of her dalliance with a 'normal'.

    I developed a girlish crush on Logan. This is high-school sweethearts at its best. The joyous burst of emotions felt when you meet that special someone is contagious as it jumps off the page. Samantha does an excellent job of staying true to the teenage experience while inserting action, suspense and romance. The twists and turns of the plot kept me off kilter, and I was stunned when the Starr family came clean with Logan. His love interest is a future member of a the council, and it's no coincidence they landed in Lancaster. There are dark forces at work.

    Serena has chosen Logan, and this means he has an important role to play too. But we won't know how important until further in to the book. The conflict with the council escalates, and the story takes a deliciously dark turn. Once the tiny town of Lancaster is over run by demons, all bets are off.

    This story has it all; romance, adventure, myth and a well thought out plot. I loved how Samantha linked the lives of the characters together and gave each one their own time to shine.

    The descriptions are magnificent as she breathes life to this strange new world she's created.

    With witches who fly on broom sticks, have the gift of site, transform, and so much more. I would describe it as a Harry Potter for the modern, edgier teen. My one complaint was at times the scenes felt a bit long. I'd have liked to see some of them shortened. I would highly recommend this to YA and paranormal fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Wings

    This book is really cool and i recemend it for everyone;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Witches, warlocks, demons, a battle for power and teen romance ¿

    Witches, warlocks, demons, a battle for power and teen romance – what more could you possible ask for. Thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish, I loved the fact that you got to read from the perspective of so many different characters, I really felt like I knew exactly what was happening when. Logan and Serena are so sweet together, and the feelings and emotions they continually went through just jumped off the page. The story ended nicely, but left so much open for more to come and I can’t wait to read Everspell.

    I received an e-copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1