Customer Reviews for

Spellcaster

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great sequel!

    Wow. I thought that surely Shultz outdid herself with Spellbound, but I was wrong. Spellcaster is fantastic! It picks up where Spellbound left off, with Emma and Brendan dealing with the fallout from Anthony's attack. Anthony is still MIA, and the police believe that his father is hiding him somewhere in Europe. However, no one is sure where Anthony really is. Also, someone is out to get Emma and Brendan... again. These poor kids can't get a moment's peace. Spellcaster is an extremely suspenseful read. Emma and Brendan have to battle new and old enemies, and the novel is packed full of action, romance, adventure, and mystery. This is one book you do not want to miss.


    Spellcaster has everything I loved about Spellbound, but the pacing is faster. Spellbound started off kind of slow at first, but Spellcaster jumps right into the action. We find out pretty quickly that something is after Emma, but we don't know what it is. Even after we find out who is behind her attacks, there is still a mystery surrounding who is helping Emma's attacker. While I had a good idea who was helping Emma's attacker, I wasn't 100% sure until it was revealed. Shultz leaves hints along the way, but she does a good job at keeping you guessing.

    Emma's character has grown so much since Spellbound, and she grows even more in Spellcaster. She still has her sarcastic sense of humor, but she is much more mature. She has a lot of difficult decisions to make in this novel, and some of her decisions really surprised me... in a good way. When I finished this book, I was very proud of the character she's become. Emma is a strong heroine who fights for those she loves without sacrificing who she is. She won't let anyone push her around, and I really admire that about her.

    Brendan is just as sweet as ever, and if you didn't completely fall in love with him during Spellbound, you definitely will in this book. He goes to great lengths to ensure Emma's happiness, and it's obvious that he's become her best friend as well as her soul mate. They make a great team, and their interactions show that they are growing as characters together. They have a healthy and respectful relationship. I wish more YA books had characters like these two.

    A cool thing Shultz did in this book was tell a couple of chapters from Angelique's perspective. This really allows the us to get to know our favorite goth girl a bit better. Angelique has some new powers that she's learning to deal with, and her POV made the story more complex. We also find out what her problem is with Brendan and how she's working to overcome their differences. Angelique was one of my favorite characters in Spellcaster.

    There is a lot more magic in Spellcaster than there was in Spellbound, and I really enjoyed that. Emma is learning how to be a witch, and while she has some problems focusing her emotions, her powers always seem to work when she needs them most. We also get to meet Angelique's cousin, Miranda, and she's an interesting addition to the book.

    The plot, as I stated, is a page turner. It's quick moving, and the pacing is perfect. The ending wraps everything up nicely, but there is room for a sequel. I hope this series is at least a trilogy because I love the world that Shultz has created. Spellcaster will entrance you and keep you under its spell until the last page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Ohmygish

    Sooo excited!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Sooooooooo good

    After i read this book i was a little weepy thinking it may or may not be the last in the series. AMAZING BOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, what an adventure. The sequel to Cara Lynn Schultz’ d

    Wow, what an adventure. The sequel to Cara Lynn Schultz’ debut novel Spellbound, is Spellcaster, one of the books that I have anticipated for in such a long time. As soon as I received the ARC for Spellcaster, I could not sleep until I finished it. It was great. I loved every moment of it, as well as the emotions that I felt. The story and the characters felt familiar, nothing was out-of-place and there weren’t many drastic changes to the characters. I experienced a new adventure with my favorite people.

    Dangers lurk in the corners for Emma and Brendan. Despite breaking the curse in Spellbound, there is something, or someone, attacking the lovebirds. Instead of being torn apart by a predestined curse, Emma and Brendan grew stronger as individuals and as a couple. Each one has a new value in strength and independence, something that I enjoyed reading.

    Emma has grown so much from Spellbound to Spellcaster. She has gained significant strengths, much attuned with her powers, but also with who she is as a young woman. Emma was different. Where Emma seemed to be secluded in Spellbound, she was much more social and engaging in Spellcaster. And I really enjoyed all the magic use! I’ve been waiting for it, and I finally got it! It was wickedly splendid.

    Schultz’ world was a lot more fun with Spellcaster. It’s a little hard to explain, with having the same geographical location, but I felt that there was more use of the characters’ environments. There was more action and involvement, and I had so much fun anticipating the next moment. Schultz did a great job bringing the dark side of humanity to the forefront. She made normal and sinister into this harmonious play. It’s hard to describe, but it was amazing.

    Schultz brought new story elements to Spellcaster, changing what I thought was the story dynamic. She changed the theme and pacing to match what was going on with the characters and with the plot. It was great, really, bringing this spotlight to the details and story arcs. There were elements of old mythology and folklore, but with a modern-day twist. Schultz also knew how to change and manipulate the characters’ emotions dependent on the situation. It was so interesting to see the depth that love will take someone.

    Spellcaster is a story packed with intense action and suspense, balanced with secrets of love yearned and love forlorn. A must-add to your collection at home. I highly suggest that you pick this up as soon as possible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series! Anxiously waiting for a third book!!!!!

    Love this series! Anxiously waiting for a third book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Third book please?

    Third book pretty please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    So far so good!!!

    Okay so i bought this book by mistake and i was freaking out worrying about not liking the book. But as im reading im like wow i actually bought a good book and i cant stop reading it. Its just so good. So i recommend people to get this story and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Loved it and now i need more

    I loved this book em saves the day and comes into her powers when her happy ever after gos boom after like 3ms this book is worth reading even if you havent read the first one becuse it explans things form book 1. I hope theres a book 3 becuse id like ems past to come bak to get her like her step dad id also like to hear from brenden becuse hes a player that now has a sol mate i want to know how all of it makes him feel not just what he tells her cus we all know there is more going on up there lol but anywaythere needs to be at lest one more becuse this was such a good book
    Write me bak if you thik so too write to Kat306
    Hope you love the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Hi

    Omg sooooo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Who would have thought finding your soul mate would be the easy

    Who would have thought finding your soul mate would be the easy part.
    This was a suspenseful new novel that will leave you hungry for more. The imagery was perfect and helped to set the mood for the entire story. It was a very easy story to get lost in and I can’t wait to see the rest of the series.
    It’s tough going through high school and discovering who you are, but things get a lot worse when you are a newbie witch. I liked Emma as a character and really got attached to her by the end of the story. Even though she has powers some might envy she still deals with many of the same situations other teenagers do and learns from those experiences.
    I highly recommend this spellbinding read fans of paranormal romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Omg

    BOOK 3 plz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK! It was perfect in every way.

    LOVED THIS BOOK! It was perfect in every way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    ...............

    Well all i have too say is wow:) ~_~<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cara Lynn Shultz has definitely delivered an awesome sequel to

    Cara Lynn Shultz has definitely delivered an awesome sequel to Spellbound with Spellcaster. I loved the first novel Spellbound and Shultz has just blown me away with eternal soul mates Emma and Brendan, and the rest of the characters at Vincent Academy. Spellcaster was a wonderful surprise. Cara Lynn Shultz didn't hold back on showing today's true-to-life teens--the raw language and romance--and I love that. I also love Brendan, and I have to say thank you to Cara Lynn Shultz for taking me into Brendan's life and showing who this bad boy with a good heart really is.

    Emma and Brendan have been happy soul mates for the last four months after Brendan risked his life to save Emma from the psychopath Anthony. But these two still have enemies who have been waiting for revenge, and this time it's Brendan's past that comes back to bite the playboy. Emma will be the one to pay for Brenden's love 'em and leave 'em life style. Brendan will not be Emma's white knight this time around. This is a girl thing, or in Emma's case, a witch thing.

    Brendan puts their romance to the test as he always has taken what girls gave up so easily. Brendan is learning what he has truly lost by being the Stud King of Vincent Academy. He can't change his past, but the way Brendan opens his heart to show his love for Emma in trying to prove to her she's not just another notch on his bedpost, is swoon-worthy romance, and I love the way Emma handles this situation with Brendan.

    Spellcaster is Emma's time for saving Brendan and their love, because there is an dark evil that hates Emma and Brendan's true love. I highly recommend Spellcaster as a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2