BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Spellman Files (Spellman Files Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 421 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Fine Funny Family Frolic

'The Spellman Files' is the story told by private investigator Izzy Spellman, less about her work as an investigator (work she is trying to quit), and more about her role stuck in a family of private investigators. The book is about the characters in the family, and ho...
'The Spellman Files' is the story told by private investigator Izzy Spellman, less about her work as an investigator (work she is trying to quit), and more about her role stuck in a family of private investigators. The book is about the characters in the family, and how they negotiate a life in which each member is driven to keep secrets by the fact that the family invariably works to pry those secrets loose. Readers of light mysteries will like this book, as will readers of 'chick-lit' -- but I am, as a rule, a reader of neither, and I recommend the book highly. The word 'frolic' in my title is there for the alliteration, and the book is frolicsome for most of its length, but the word is misleading, because by the end the story accumulates real emotional weight and is about real things about the relationships among family members.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I bought this book based on the reviews but I'm not sure I read the same book. Whoever compared this book to a Janet Evanovich has obviously never read one. I kept thinking it had to get better. It didn't. There was no plot and not very amusing either.

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dysfunctional family of Private Investigators

    As Lisa Lutz puts it herself in her recent WSJ article-2-18-12; ignore the rules when writing. Visit her online and one can tell she's equally adept at creating her own strong image by the things she says on her website. I thought the concept was very original but the writing is better suited for a younger crowd-perhaps YA. Short chapters, funny footnotes and a narrator who has a snarky tone. Lutz is obviously a talented writer; because all you have to do is read the reviews on the back cover of this book and the other four in the series; Kirkus, Publishers Weekly among others give it high marks. But I was hoping for more as an adult reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    More Quirky than Good

    This is just an OK effort by a writer who is better than that. When the quirkiness of the characters is the most outstanding trait of the story, there just isn't enough to capture the reader's attention and keep it. Nothing about this book kept me going through it to the end except the expectation that the (usually entertaining) author had something really good in store for me if I was patient enough to get to it. I was wrong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    just OK

    Not as good as the other Spellman books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Spellman files

    Too long drawn out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    eh

    If constant sarcasm and disrespect is enough to hold your interest then this book is for you. If you are looking for a well plotted story forget it.

    In several places the author even names the wrong character. For example stated that the main character just called a character who had missing for years. Wow. How sloppy can you get?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Even though it kept my attention and I kept reading, I found thi

    Even though it kept my attention and I kept reading, I found this book very disturbing. It is about a dysfunctional family in the extreme. They lie, stalk each other, mistrust and are somewhat abusive to each other. The protagonist seems proud of her periods of indiscriminate sex and drugs and inability to form a relationship. There seems to be no sense of morality or respect. Even the case that was followed came to a disturbing ending for me. I cannot recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    Does not live up to the hype. I forced myself to read it through to the end in the hope that it would get better. It did not. The few chuckles are outweighed by the many boring passages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Just not that into this..........

    Another case of being mislead by reviews. The only consistent thing with this book was boredom. I forced myself to finish it. I just could not get into the author's writing style at all, and I really really tried.<BR/>Do not recommend this book at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2