Customer Reviews for

The Spellman Files (Spellman Files Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 424 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Fine Funny Family Frolic

'The Spellman Files' is the story told by private investigator Izzy Spellman, less about her work as an investigator (work she is trying to quit), and more about her role stuck in a family of private investigators. The book is about the characters in the family, and ho...
'The Spellman Files' is the story told by private investigator Izzy Spellman, less about her work as an investigator (work she is trying to quit), and more about her role stuck in a family of private investigators. The book is about the characters in the family, and how they negotiate a life in which each member is driven to keep secrets by the fact that the family invariably works to pry those secrets loose. Readers of light mysteries will like this book, as will readers of 'chick-lit' -- but I am, as a rule, a reader of neither, and I recommend the book highly. The word 'frolic' in my title is there for the alliteration, and the book is frolicsome for most of its length, but the word is misleading, because by the end the story accumulates real emotional weight and is about real things about the relationships among family members.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I bought this book based on the reviews but I'm not sure I read the same book. Whoever compared this book to a Janet Evanovich has obviously never read one. I kept thinking it had to get better. It didn't. There was no plot and not very amusing either.

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Fine Funny Family Frolic

    'The Spellman Files' is the story told by private investigator Izzy Spellman, less about her work as an investigator (work she is trying to quit), and more about her role stuck in a family of private investigators. The book is about the characters in the family, and how they negotiate a life in which each member is driven to keep secrets by the fact that the family invariably works to pry those secrets loose. Readers of light mysteries will like this book, as will readers of 'chick-lit' -- but I am, as a rule, a reader of neither, and I recommend the book highly. The word 'frolic' in my title is there for the alliteration, and the book is frolicsome for most of its length, but the word is misleading, because by the end the story accumulates real emotional weight and is about real things about the relationships among family members.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    My girlfriend suggested this book. I loved it. Fast reading - great characters,good story. I loved it so much I am now reading her second book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fun private investigative chick lit tale

    In San Francisco Isabel Spellman has worked in the family business since she was twelve years old. However, the down side of being part of a family of private investigators is that your nosy parents have access to check into her dates though she is now twenty-eight years old. Still working for Spellman Investigations is an easy way to make a living.-------------- However, to the shock of her siblings, her Uncle Ray and her parents, Izzy falls in love with a dentist of all things worse a Bush loving dentist. Her parents worry she is setting a bad example for her fourteen years old younger sister Rae who is the Bay area¿s greatest barterer. He older brother David the attorney is pleased to a degree with a dentist as he figures on discounts though he has not sunk his teeth into the man's background. However, Uncle Ray has vanished again so this no time to think about love as Izzy is assigned as always to find him. Rae is hired to follow Izzy to uncover the identity of the mystical dentist while Izzy is assigned a cold case to resolve. Life is normal amidst the Spellmans until Rae vanishes and the get Smart tapes must go on pause.--------------- This is a fun private investigative chick lit tale that will have readers chuckling at the antics of the zaniest family since the Sycamores rooted their shtick in You Can't Take It with You. The story line is driven by Izzy as she drives everyone around her dizzy with her antics. Fans of lighthearted amusing capers will appreciate this interesting thriller that showcases a grown up Nancy Drew trying to get a life outside her bugging family.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved this book.

    The Spellman Files is absolutely hilarious. Lisa Lutz charecter "Izzy" has an absolutely great personality and a nice wry sense of humor.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    Just when I was ready to give up on this book and write it off as a disappointment, Lutz kicked things into gear. I was halfway through it and the plot--or what I thought was the plot: i.e., finding Rae--had not started. I grew tired of some of the schemes and all the car chases. Some of those could have been eliminated. However, the book was so hilarious I was compelled to keep reading. And I'm glad I did. The genius of the book was the way the true plot was revealed in the last two chapters. It was almost like a rosebud finally opening up. Everything just came together so subtly. It was an excellent book and I look forward to more in this series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book has something for everyone. Complicated family relationships, several story lines and lots of laughs and heartfelt trauma/drama along the way. I can¿t wait to read the next installment detailing the Spellman family adventures!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The cover is awesome. The story had me hooked. Great Read!

    The cover is awesome. The story had me hooked. Great Read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    The Spellman Smiles

    I thought this book was great! I could not stop laughing! The entertainment I found in this book was unsurpassed by many other books I've read. Other than the brilliant comedic performance by the Spellman clan this book teaches you something everyone knows but never can truly admit. You family is your family, you cannot escape them via car chase or brilliant disguise. Your life is what you make it, even if you choose to pass out on front porches. And love is not easy, every lawyer isnt for you and a clean background check does not mean a healthy relationship. I look forward to more books from this incredible woman.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great!

    The Spellman family is hilarious. I will be reading more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Smart, hilarious, shocking, endearing.

    This book had me laughing out loud, shaking my head in disbelief, and crying. I loved it. I love a female lead who has flaws as well as strengths. I thought I needed a vampire and a bad-ass female lead to enjoy a book. I was wrong. I needed Izzy Spellman and her crazy disfunctional family to really entertain me. I'm hooked!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    O

    Hhsss

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    WHAT AGE IS IT GOOD FOR??????????????????????

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Great book

    I loved this book and can't wait for the series to continue. The entire Spellman family is hilarious to read about.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Funny!

    The story of the Spellman family was an enjoyable, humorous read. I hope there is a follow-up. Not like Evanovich's Stephanie Plum novels and that's okay. I would be disappointed if Lisa Lutz had copied her style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    The Spellman Files

    Do not be fooled by the blurb from i The Devil Wears Prada /i author Lauren Weisberger on the cover of this book. Although i The Spellman Files /i is a breezy read with a spunky heroine, it is not your run-of-the-mill chick lit tome complete with travails about shopping, weight and men who can't commit. Well, okay, there is a romantic sub-plot, involving a sputtering relationship between a cute dentist and the protagonist, Izzy. But that is as far as the resemblance goes. Izzy, 28, is not even remotely interested in fashion. In her not-so-distant youth, she preferred partying, drugs and unsuitable men. A private investigator by trade, like most of her family members, this San Francisco girl is far more interested in the mechanics of spying, snooping and uncovering dirty little secrets. Written with verve and humour, this is an entertaining read. And it offers a welcome respite from the sometimes wearying, whiny tone of some chick lit novels. Izzy is a little messed up and has her share of vices, but she is also matter-of-fact about how romance is a crapshoot and believes that life's greatest mystery is not how to find that Better Half but how to get acquainted with yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Loved the Spellmans

    I loved this book with its oddball characters and quick (my mom would say 'smart-aleck') dialogue. Can't wait to hear more from the Spellmans!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    I love this book!

    I highly recommend this book! I enjoyed the funny dialogue and interesting characters. This is a page turner filled with action and entertainment. I am excited to see what happens next, and hope I don¿t have to wait too long for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Lots of fun!

    This book will make you laugh, guaranteed. A totally dysfunctional family of PIs who spy on each other from birth is the basis for this first book from a promising new author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    A Fresh and Funny Mystery

    The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz is a book about a dysfunctional family abounding with zany members. It¿s a mystery with traditional pursuit scenes, it¿s a novel with well-drawn and unforgettable characters, but most of all, it¿s a wickedly funny read. The Spellmans are a family made up of two parents, three children and an oft-disappearing uncle. The entire family (with the exception of David, the perfect son) are private eyes by profession and predilection. In fact they are an incredibly nosy group, thriving on ferreting out other people¿s secrets -- especially each other¿s. In the process of investigations they exhibit their own kind of crazy: One goes on benders, another hoards food. Izzy, the heroine, falls for totally inappropriate men who dump her in totally inappropriate ways. This book will make you laugh out loud. I¿m not surprised it was bought by Paramount. I can¿t wait to see its translation to the big screen¿think West Coast version of a Seinfeld-like cast of characters

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Great, wacky and fun mystery

    I love reading mysteries and generally read a few a week. Lisa Lutz wrote such a humorous and fun mystery in The Spellman Files. How could you not love Izzy and relate to her or any of the other Spellmans? The Ray and Rae show is pure genius and every family has their own David. I often found myself cringing as Izzy gets herself into one imbroglio or another. I look forward to a movie and a continuation of Lutz antics!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10