Customer Reviews for

The Spellmans Strike Again (Spellman Files Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great ending to a great series!!

    Sorry to see a great series end, but really was a great book! There were many times a laughed out loud at some of the things her characters said or did! If you haven't read the other 'documents'; run, don't walk to your nearest store!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Wonderful ending to series!!

    Lisa Lutz has done it again. All the Spellmans are at their best...(or worst, depending on who you look at it!). We've got some famliar characters, and a few new ones who are a great fit. Isabel has come along way since The Spellman Files, but she's still the same spitfire we've come to love. The family still has their strange quirks, and Isabel has a few mysteries to figure out.
    I'm sad that the series is done, but have enjoyed the ride immensely. It never let up, and kept it going beautifully until the end.
    I look forward to see what Lisa Lutz will give us in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Great series

    This series is so much fun, I can't wait to read all of the seven Spellman books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    I have loved everyone of these books

    I really have enjoyed all of these books and hope there are more in the works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Paperback/Chicklit: I loved the first three books and then I rev

    Paperback/Chicklit: I loved the first three books and then I reviewed the fifth for Amazon Vine. So I backtracked to book four with the audio. All the audios before were done by Ari Graynor and I loved her monotone thiry-something angst. However, the narrator for books 4 & 5 is Christina Moore. It was awful. I couldn't get through five minutes. I even doubled the speed of my ipod. Moore has too much of a eastern accent and she's like my age (old), not early 30s. So me and my BFF ordered the paperback. I still had Ari's voice in my head and it made the book that much better.
    In this book, there are mysteries galore. This one actually has a murder! Syke, it's a 20 year old murder. The other mysteries are the usually quirky family fun. A sign of a good book? Missing the characters when you are done.
    It's over until book six. Izzy, I miss you all ready!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Laugh until you stop

    This is the 4th in a series that I hope doesn't stop. The dysfunction in the family is way beyond what you would expect - but hilarious in the context that they are ALL private investigators.

    They spend more time investigating each others activities - and the narration just gets funnier and funnier.

    Trust me - but start at the beginning with "The Spellman Files".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    They keep getting better!

    My favorite so far in the series! Can't wait for the next installment in February. I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Consistently hilarious

    As with her other Spellman books, Lisa Lutz has come up with another winner. I think this one is even better than her previous book. While it is side-splittingly funny, there is some unpredicted character development. There is even a new character who I hope reappears in the next book. He (Fred) is soooooo funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Love the Spellmans!

    This was one of the funniest books I've ever read. I loved this series and this may have been the best of the lot. As with the previous "documents," the characters, not the mystery are the highlight, but I found the mysteries interesting as well this time. If this was the end of the series other writers should take note - this is the way to end things. I will miss the Spellmans greatly, and look forward to anything Lisa Lutz writes in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Fun and funny

    I have followed this goofy family from the first book and this is really good. If you enjoy good, clean fun you will definitely like this light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    The Spellmans are back!

    The Spellmans are great. These books make me laugh out loud!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pure enjoyment!

    Lisa Lutz recently became one of my favorite authors when I picked up the Spellman Files on a whim. I instantly fell in love with her vivid characters- Izzy, perfect David, little Rae, the Unit, Uncle Ray, and all the rest. I immediately went out and bought the next two books in the series (Curse of the Spellmans and Revenge of the Spellmans) and found that her stories just got better. The Spellmans Strike Again continues in the same fashion and is a great read.

    Lisa Lutz has a fabulous, quirky style of writing that works well with the offbeat stories involving Spellman Investigations. The books have footnotes, lists and an appendix which sounds weird in a fiction book, but she really makes it work. Above all else, these books make me literally laugh out loud. I will read these books again and again.

    I have already purchased several copies of each book for gifts and I would recommend all the books in the Spellman Files Series to anyone who is looking for a fun and entertaining escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Super growth of a character

    In the first two books I found myself having trouble relating to the lead character, Isabel. She began to grow on me and I was looking forward to this installment in the series. I felt that the growth of Isabel's character was very well done and I enjoyed the book very much. It was a superb wrap to the series. I found myself wanting more while still appreciating the author's ability to leave the series while it was still fresh (unlike many series that go on long past their "fresh by" date).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Title says it all.

    I enjoy Lisa Lutz's Spellman books. A total dysfunctional family of P.I.s Very easy to read and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Lutz Proves She Can Do It All

    There are currently four books in the Spellman series, and somehow, I got started with number two. This was absolutely not a problem, as Lutz manages to weave in details of the previous books-- and what she doesn't weave in, she clarifies in absolutely hilarious footnotes.

    Lutz's well developed protagonist, Izzie/Isabel, reminds me a little of Evanovich's Stephanie Plum: quirky, great sense of humor, penchant for getting in over her head. SO far, there really haven't been any mobster's in the Spellman series, but then, she lives in San Francisco, not Jersey.

    Spellman's Strike Again is number 4 in the series, and in it, Lutz proves she can generate more than comedy and a good mystery... this book actually brought tears to my eyes. And not the "I was so manipulated" kind of tears, either... the kind where you have such genuine empathy for the characters and the situation that you can't see the words on the page for your tears.

    I highly recommend Spellmans Strike Again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Grand Finale

    Picking up on a thread of story from her third Spellman book, Lutz has Isabel Spellman preparing to take over the reins of the family detective agency from her parents. However, nothing is that easy in this family and odd disturbances are taking place within their home/workplace while Izzy figures out how to take down their nemesis, another PI named Harkey. Rae, always clever, comes pretty close to crossing the line in this story and is on a new crusade to free innocent prisoners. David is happily dating Henry Stone's former girlfriend, Maggie. The parental units are enjoying Lost Wednesdays and one wonders if Connor, boyfriend #12 can make it to husband #1 for Izzy. If this is truly the finale, I think the Spellmans are going to make it. I found the story to be satisfying and even bittersweet at times.
    I'm sure almost every review on here will mention all three previous "documents" are now available in paperback! Summer is coming, take the Spellmans to the beach or cabin, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    Isabelle at her best...literally.

    I must first disclose that you should read the first three Spellman books before starting this adventure. Although Isabelle Spellman starts her stories from the middle, this book won't make sense unless you have the story from the very beginning with 'The Spellman Files'.
    That being said, all I can say is that Lisa Lutz kept with her writing style that had me laughing throughout the book and left me thankful for my 'normal' family.
    I don't want to spoil your read and give away any details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Isabel Spellman puts one foot over the 'Forever Young' line

    Isabel's crazy family makes her journey into adulthood a difficult one. She doesn't lose any of her charm when she shows her reasonable side. I look forward to the next installment in the Spellman series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3