BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Spells (Laurel Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 783 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(491)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Spells by Aprilynne Pike

Laurel spends summer vacation in Avalon learning how to be a Fall Faerie, which means she has to learn how to mix up potions. She grows closer to Tamani, a fairy guard and old friend from before she lost her memory, and now she has to choose between him and her human b...
Laurel spends summer vacation in Avalon learning how to be a Fall Faerie, which means she has to learn how to mix up potions. She grows closer to Tamani, a fairy guard and old friend from before she lost her memory, and now she has to choose between him and her human boyfriend. Laurel's mom is having trouble with the fact that Laurel is a fairy. Trolls are back for revenge. Humans are hunting the trolls down and Laurel fears they may also hunt fairies. Spells is a wonderful book. Loved the parts when Laurel went to Avalon, the fairy world; it's so beautiful and perfect there.

posted by The_Shadow412 on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read, and worth the time. It was somewhat confusing at tim

Good read, and worth the time. It was somewhat confusing at times, but for the most part it was fairly smooth read. Love the characters, especially Tam. :)

posted by VioletGreen on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 790 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Love this story line

    I am looking forward to more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Lover of romantic

    I loved the first book and this book is off the hook i love it sooooooo much. This is the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Awful....

    I just dont know how this book is even a bestseller... i know a lot of books that deserve to be on a bestseller list but this book is definetly not upto standards..it almost felt like a high schooler wrote this book. Laurels character is so transparent and shallow. Even though she knows she belongs with tamani she doesnt voice her feelings and tell the truth to david. Many of the adjectives in the book didnt evenmake any sense and it was pretty obvious pike was pulling off a meyer. It hurts to think of the potential this book as wellas the rest of the series couldve reached but for now this book is not fit for people who are used to amazing books such as hush hush, divergent, legend, prodigy, and the tigers curse series. More like for people who are brainwashed by stephanie meyer an want a cheap read..

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    I luv thins book

    Spells by aprilynne pikes is abgreat book. Filled with great description the whole story made you want to read more it was a great book and i even started to tear up at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I wasn't expecting this book to be as good as it was. I hadn'

    I wasn't expecting this book to be as good as it was. I hadn't particularly liked the first one, but it was good enough I decided to give the second book a chance, and I'm glad I did. I was very pleasantly surprised by this book, although it wasn't great, but it was good.

    What I liked:
    Avalon. The parts that took place in Avalon were much more interesting than in the human world. I think one of the problems that I had with the first book was it had too many parts about Laurel's normal human life, whereas in this book she (and the readers along with her) learned a lot more about the fairy world.

    David. David is a good guy, but he's not perfect, and he acts like a human. He gets mad, and jealous, when Laurel is with Tamani, but is still willing to help her when his friend's life is in danger.

    The thing that really made me like it more than the first is hard to pinpoint, because I read the first one more than six months ago, and I never wrote a review for it, but I do know that I liked this one better. (I know that's not very helpful, but its all I've got)

    What I didn't like:
    Tamani. Tamani is irritating and pushy. He has the usual attitude of a self-proclaimed 'nice guy' who has been friendzoned. His thinking is that because he loves Laurel, and has given up a lot for her, that means that she has to love him back, which is the wrong way to think. Just because he loves her does NOT mean that she is required to return the feelings. He, and others, repeatedly get mad at her for 'stringing him along' when really its him who won't give it up. He kisses her when she doesn't want him to, and he just keeps telling her how long he has been waiting for her, as if that is supposed to make her love him. It doesn't. She is loyal to David, who is her boyfriend, and who she loves, but Tamani doesn't understand. Am I supposed to feel bad for him? Because I don't. She is allowed to be friends with him without loving him! She is allowed to be friends with him without being accused of leading him on! I don't understand what is so difficult about that context. Tamani alone brought down my rating about half a star.

    Laurel and David arguing. I think that the author was trying to set up a reason for us to like Tamani better (although it didn't work for me) there were a lot of scenes were Laurel and David argued... a lot. There were some disconnects between them, but to me that seems normal. However I have a suspicion that the author wants us to see that 'Laurel and David aren't meant for each other because he doesn't understand her like Tamani does'. That bothers me. I think that relationships aren't always going to be perfect, but in this book everybody always is, which is what scares me.

    So, if you've read the first book and you're on the fence about this one give it a try.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Amazing

    Book 2 of the Laurel series was better than the first! I finshed this book within 2 days I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Luuuuuuuuuuuuuv <3

    I live super close to Cresent City!!!!!!! (And Orick too, for that matter.) Maybe thats why i love these book sooooooo much! Or maybe its just cause i <3 <3 <3 the blooming faerie thing soooooo much. I really dont know who Laruel should be with, though. I luv David AND Tamani! ;(
    Well, may the best man win!
    Caio!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    1 dy I read this book in 1 day!!!

    I read the 1st book in 3 days and this one in one day i cant wait to read 3&4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!

    Amazing book!!!!, i'm team Tamani ALL the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great read!

    Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Sweet!

    'Spells' is an amazing sequel to 'Wings'! I am 40 percent through it and I love it so far! I advise everybody to read this series! It is a different type of fantasy. There is no other fantasy book quite like this! Buy it! Read it! Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Love these books

    I love all these books!!!!!!!!!!!! They are soooooooo amazing!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Good book

    This is a great series, but i Laurel needs to stop leading tamini on and just make her mind. She also needs to make her about college or avalon. But besides that its a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In this sequel to Wings, Laurel studies in Avalon during her sum

    In this sequel to Wings, Laurel studies in Avalon during her summer vacation. She is drawn to Tamani but angry that in the faerie world, he must adhere to his station in life and, among other things, walk slightly behind her. Laurel's frustration over her lack of skills in mixing potions and creating sugar vessels is typical of a teenager but she perseveres as she knows those skills may later save her life. A charming party in Avalon is described in detail, the reader being as enthralled as Laurel. In a twist from the first book, David is less likeable as he jumps to conclusions and refuses to see things as they really are. For Laurel's part, she needs to stop the merry-go-round of David-Tamani-David. Is she going to live in the human world or the faerie world? A decision is made at the end of this book but I'm not going to break it to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    It

    It has been so long i have read this book but i remember a lot of it. This is an incredable book and i hope there is a 3 book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    highlyrecommended

    well written fast read so well written that I have preordered the last of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Team Tam All the Way!

    Tam! Tam! Tam! Tam! C'mon Laurel, what part of that DON'T you get?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    LOved IT!

    I love these books. I just finished Spells and am ready to move on to Illusions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Delightful follow up to Wings. More explanation of Laurel's "talents" would like even more details ... teen audience could benefit. Tam and parental units drama is griping. Trolls, ugh! We already have illusions to read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!

    My favorite book ever!!! Love it 5 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 790 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40