Customer Reviews for

Spells (Laurel Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 783 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(491)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Spells by Aprilynne Pike

Laurel spends summer vacation in Avalon learning how to be a Fall Faerie, which means she has to learn how to mix up potions. She grows closer to Tamani, a fairy guard and old friend from before she lost her memory, and now she has to choose between him and her human b...
Laurel spends summer vacation in Avalon learning how to be a Fall Faerie, which means she has to learn how to mix up potions. She grows closer to Tamani, a fairy guard and old friend from before she lost her memory, and now she has to choose between him and her human boyfriend. Laurel's mom is having trouble with the fact that Laurel is a fairy. Trolls are back for revenge. Humans are hunting the trolls down and Laurel fears they may also hunt fairies. Spells is a wonderful book. Loved the parts when Laurel went to Avalon, the fairy world; it's so beautiful and perfect there.

posted by The_Shadow412 on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read, and worth the time. It was somewhat confusing at tim

Good read, and worth the time. It was somewhat confusing at times, but for the most part it was fairly smooth read. Love the characters, especially Tam. :)

posted by VioletGreen on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    I live here! Haha

    I read this book and Wings because alot of people at my school were reading it because it took place in our tiny little town! I know exactly where Orick is but I live in Crescent City, the lighthouse is really here and I drove on Pebble Beach Drive today haha it's totally cool to read a book about where I live :) Both Wings and Spells were good books and I'm looking forward to the next book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Next book, please~!

    Lots of romance, a bit of action. it's a great sequel to a promising debut. Once you get over the obnoxiously familiar love triangle (Ahem.. Twilight, anyone? Thought it seems rather pointless to point that out.), "Spells" turns out to be a really entertaining read. The concept of faeries actually being plants is most definitely refreshing. I mostly like Laurel's character, she's easy enough to relate to. except some of the things she does. kinda annoy me. Or maybe I'm just Tamani-biased..? Regardless, I think Aprilynne Pike is an amazing author; her writing brings back the little girl in her (female) readers. Gawd, the end left me hanging and wanting MORE. I want the next book. I want the next book NOWWWW.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Brilliant sequel to an amazing book!

    I was so pleased when I was able to sign up for this book as an ARC. I have been patiently waiting for it to come out so that I could continue the amazing story of Laurel and her new-found faerie blood.

    I loved the world of Avalon that Pike explored in this book. The new revelations and rules that Laurel had to deal with took her for a loop and created more internal struggle then ever before. How could human life compete with the new and beautiful life as a Fall faerie?

    The characters that were introduced in 'Wings' were explored more in this second novel. Laurel has been thrust into a position of great responsibility and is being torn between her human life and her inherent faerie gifts. David and Tamani's love for Laurel intensified greatly and had me on the edge of my seat wondering which part of her she would follow to decide who she wanted to be with. The chemistry between both these characters and Laurel was so strong and alluring it made me heartbroken at the end when she actually made her decision. Both these guys have amazing qualities that any girl would love, but as in most hard choices in life, Laurel had to be true to herself in deciding which life to lead.

    I love the way that Pike writes. I feel like I am actually in the imaginative world that she created through her descriptive and lovely words. And I truly loved the cover of this book. I thought it was creative and enchanting and expressed the dual feelings that Laurel endured during her internal conflict throughout the story. Should she choose to hide her faerie wings in the human world with David, or bring them to full bloom in Avalon with Tamani?

    Pike kept me on the tip of my toes the whole book, and then ended with a massive cliffhanger that will undoubtedly leave me suspended on my toes until the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a bad read - worth the time

    This book opened up the world of Avalon and you finally felt like you can get a grip on where the story is maybe going. Its edgy, dramatic, has some simple romance in it with a love triangle of course.

    Its a fun simple read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Faerie Fan

    A twist on your traditional faeries... plant based? I read this in one day. Didn't want to put it down. It was a fun jump into fiction. Fell in love with Tamani such a great character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Good book

    This is a great series, but i Laurel needs to stop leading tamini on and just make her mind. She also needs to make her about college or avalon. But besides that its a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In this sequel to Wings, Laurel studies in Avalon during her sum

    In this sequel to Wings, Laurel studies in Avalon during her summer vacation. She is drawn to Tamani but angry that in the faerie world, he must adhere to his station in life and, among other things, walk slightly behind her. Laurel's frustration over her lack of skills in mixing potions and creating sugar vessels is typical of a teenager but she perseveres as she knows those skills may later save her life. A charming party in Avalon is described in detail, the reader being as enthralled as Laurel. In a twist from the first book, David is less likeable as he jumps to conclusions and refuses to see things as they really are. For Laurel's part, she needs to stop the merry-go-round of David-Tamani-David. Is she going to live in the human world or the faerie world? A decision is made at the end of this book but I'm not going to break it to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    highlyrecommended

    well written fast read so well written that I have preordered the last of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My love for faeries grow...

    Wings had to be one of my favorite faerie reads because of how it looks on faeries differently. In Aprilynne Pike's world, they are plants!

    In Spells, I felt like I was being educated on the history and stuff about plants and Avalon, which was neat but I didn't get as much "action" as I hoped. The story started off very easy with Laurel spending some time in Avalon studying and hanging out with Tamani. Then it goes into Laurel in the human world attending school with David. I became as paranoid as Laurel about the danger that's about to come and was constantly suspecting new characters to become some kind of bad guy. Becoming on the edge got to me and I ended up finishing Spells in a good two days.

    There are a few new characters introduced into the story but I didn't feel like I knew enough about them. I do know enough to be looking for them in the next book though. The character that I grew to love even more was Tamani. He's just this sweet guy, who's a bit cocky, but shows so much love for Laurel. I flipped page after page looking for more parts with him in it. I found that even though Laurel made it kind of clear who she wanted, I couldn't help feeling that it's still as complicated as ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Great book!! I like tam better tho

    This seris is absolutely one of my favorites altho i think she should choose tamani, david is great but tam loves her so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    better than book 1 Wings!

    I was really happy to see that things moved a lot better in this book than book 1 not to say i didnt enjoy book 1. I love how so far a lot of us girls are rooting for Tam! In this book you see the love triangle progress more deeply as well as you see Laurel become more comfortable in accepting shes a fae and trusting her abilities and desires! If you havent read book 1 Wings you should start with that! I do agree Aprilynne has a habbit of adding too much detail in pages you come across but no less the story still flows well. This series is great so far and now im going to go read book 3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More Tamani

    Oh Tamani how I love thee!! Why won't Laurel get rid of David and go for Tamani!! Grr!!

    Spells is a continuation of Wings and it was just as satisfying but as frustrating as Wings. There is a lot more in Spells about Laurel being a fairy and going to Avalon to have some training on what it means to be a Fall Fae. She struggles with all things she learns at such a short amount of time. She also spends a lot more time with Tamani in this book than in Wings which is just great.

    I am still struggling with whether or not I actually love the series or just like it. There are things good and bad about it.

    The bad is that to create a great love triangle (which is not in this series as of yet) you need to have two guys that make it hard to decide who you'd choose if this was you and this is not the case between Tamani and David. It is such an easy conclusion to want her to be Tamani over David. David is just not a well-developed character and we just don't know enough about him to love him! I haven't read many reviews on Spells that don't say she shouldn't be Tamani! Everyone wants them to hook up!!

    Another thing I struggled with Spells as well as Wings, besides the lack of knowing David, is the slow pace at which these books start. The middle and the ending are always good but the beginning kind of drags on and you struggle with giving up before you get to the good things!

    What I loved about this book is still the very unique twist on fairies. The idea of them coming from flowers and growing blooms out of their backs is so very different from any other story I've read. I loved that Pike developed the history of the bloom fairies and their mating rituals, society standards, etc in this book! Lots of fun! Except I hate the way Spring fairies are treated! Boo!!!

    When I first started Spells and about 100 pages in to it, I thought to myself "I am just not invested enough to continue reading this series". Then I got to the last half of the book and couldn't put it down and with the ending left the way it was I've decided I do want to continue reading and I hope Illusions will fill my expectations!! I hear it has more of Tamani so that can't be bad at all!! Love Tamani!

    Content: A few things to mention. There was one making-out scenes that got pretty hot and heavy but no sex. Kissing scenes. A few swear words-maybe 2. There was a discussion on sex and mating for the fairies in Avalon but all was done tastefully and discreetly. I would say 14yrs old and up! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Great Book

    I loved this book. I read the first book Wings offered free on B&N and became hooked. I will be purchasing Illusions because the first two books proved that its worth spending the money. Read it....you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Entertaining

    Okay, i have to admit this series has me hooked. Fun and entertaining. Wings was a free Friday, which prompted purchase of Spells and Illusions. Great bedtime stories that have my girls staying in the reading game. Love that. Love our Nooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    loved it!

    i cant wait for illusions! the books to this series really sucks you in and makdes you feel like you really know the characters. i have a crush on david! the only part i didnt like was when every part of a silly pkay was explained. wasted a whole chaptet. other than that i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Uh-MAZ-ing!

    I got the first book in this series from a read-along contest and just held off reading it. It didn't look interesting and I wasn't really interested. I didn't have any books to read so I picked it up and fell in love. I read the whole thing in less than a day. The next day I bought Spells and devoured it in one sitting. I love the plot twists and every thing about this book! Deffinatly reccomend for someone who loves fantasy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    wishlist!!!!!!!

    this is soooo on my wishlist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    good read....

    I picked up this book because it looked original. Despite good narrataion, spunky characters, and tangible emitions, you pretty much knew what would happen from the start. I found Laural was annoying me with her gullibility. I've read both and enjoyed them despite this prominent fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    amazing

    great story line, i love the characters. it is soooooo hard to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique and Fun!!

    Major kudos to Pike for her interesting and origional concepts! The storyline is a bit basic, but the creativity involved is such that I still consider Spells a great book. If you like teen paranormal romances, such as Twilight, City of Bones, and Wicked Lovely, this is the perfect series for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10