Customer Reviews for

Sphere

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One the best stories

The movie does this zero justice! Buy it! Borrow it! What ever you have to do, but just read it you will love it!

posted by The_One on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever Worst book EVER!

I'm not kidding. I've read some really bad book's before but this one took the cake and ate it too!

posted by 16980333 on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down

    It has been awhile since I have read this book and I haven't seen the movie so hopefully my memory will serve me well in this review. I remember the inability to put this book down. I was so scared and needed to find out what happened next. The supense was killing me. It combined two of my fears (deep water & the unknowing) which in my mind is a killer combination. The book was so good that I don't even have a desire to see the movie. Besides, the mind can be even more terrifying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Much better than the movie!

    If you have seen the movie, try to forget how hollywood murdered this story and look at Sphere with fresh eyes. As with other Crichton novels, this one is a real page turner. The movie jumbled the story and changed the plot completely. Here, we get to see what the sphere is actually about and what the scientists run into down there. Very psychological and a thrill to read! Read in one sitting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    One the best stories

    The movie does this zero justice! Buy it! Borrow it! What ever you have to do, but just read it you will love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Worst book ever Worst book EVER!

    I'm not kidding. I've read some really bad book's before but this one took the cake and ate it too!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    I would give this book a 9 on a scale of 1 to 10

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Michael Crichton shows that he's not only capable of writing an

    Michael Crichton shows that he's not only capable of writing an astounding thriller but he's also capable of writing an astounding psycho-thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Sphere review

    Sphere was a very origanal book. The plot was very suspensfull. I thought it was very entertaining and thought provoking. It was so suprizing what happens and dosent turn out the way you think. Caution: this review contains spoilers.

    I was very suprized that the spacecraft wasnt extraterrestrial it was actually a american spacecraft from the future. I was a little confused because if it really was harry subconciously manifesting the creatures then what was up with the whole jerry inside the sphere. The foam and the lights huh? Also if the power gives whoever went inside the sphere the power to have anything they think of come true then why didnt norman just think that the whole situation never happened or something like that. Warning this book does contain death and some violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    very good

    very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Best book ive read

    This is the best book ive read and ive read a lot of books in my life time. I think that any one that hates this book is stupid. Im only on page # 215 and i cant put this book down at all. There are a few boring parts in the book yes but what book dosnt at least one boring part in it. My dad gave it to me to read yesterday and i had i really hard time doing anything. Not a least trying this book is crazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Another great one

    Michael crichton is as great as lways I could barely put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Poor

    Super corny dialogue, racist, sexist, no knowledge of psychology, no depth of character, silly squid, corny environment, not evocative, crichton phoned it in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Fantastic Deep Sea & Alien Thriller

    I can never forgive Michael Crichton. It happens again and again. His pace is unrelenting, his logic nearly flawless. His stories are invariably intense and suspenseful. I can never regain the sleep I’ve lost when reading "just one more chapter" each night. Michael Crichton, I rue the day you got me hooked.

    "Sphere" is a terrific sci-fi thriller. Instead of space though, the story takes place deep within the Pacific Ocean, where a team of scientists, in support of a US Navy exercise, explore and try to understand what appears to be a spaceship.

    Like most of Crichton’s novels, “Sphere’s” characters are created to give voice to varying personality types and perspectives. Crichton populates his undersea thriller with representatives from multiple scientific disciplines. Norman Goodman is a psychologist and explores the deepest parts of the human (and alien) mind. Beth Halperin is a biologist and brings her perspectives of earth and space-bound biological beings. Ted Fielding is the obnoxious astrophysicist, and Harold Barnes is the Navy commander who provides a militaristic, and conspiratorial, perspective.

    Harry Adams is a savant mathematician with prodigious reasoning skills. The character seems to be an early sketch of the well-known Dr. Ian Malcolm from Crichton’s “Jurassic Park”. Adams serves as the big brain and foil to the narrow-sighted exuberance of the martial Barnes in “Sphere”, whereas Malcolm served the same role as counterpoint to John Hammond’s financially-fueled dinosaur fervor on "Jurassic Park".

    Goodman works through the causalities of events and actions and gives Crichton a mechanism and mouthpiece for the exploration of human nature and motivation. Crichton utilizes Norman's field of expertise to provide the psychological context to the story. And instead of delivering the themes through a disembodied narrator, Norman’s internal monologue and dialogue with the other characters provides the mental framework driving the psychological horror and intensity.

    Crichton uses his plot, as usual, to delve into numerous scientific theories and perspectives. The alien presence provides the platform for the discussion of extraterrestrial contact, space travel and time travel. The underwater setting provides Crichton with the physical background to delve into ocean biology, and the capabilities and possibilities of living for extended periods under water. Within all of the scientific disciplines, Crichton enables his characters to explore the most modern and extreme theories of science.

    Norman uses the isolation and extreme existence of underwater habitats to provide readers with a view of a full-scale, real-time Rorschach test. Everyone and everything is viewed, absorbed and translated uniquely. Everything impacts the personalities in a different way, which drives the story's human elements in unison with the well-paced action surrounding and impacting the characters.

    The book has moments of horror, but is fueled by suspense. The conclusion - literally the last 2 pages - is a little weak, but the ride to get there is fantastic and fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Boring.

    Nothing much happened here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Beautifully Painted

    The characters are all so beautifully painted on the tapestry of fear and the mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I am a huge Crichton fan, but I was a bit disappointed by Sphere

    I am a huge Crichton fan, but I was a bit disappointed by Sphere. It lacked the science of his other works and became more science-fiction/fantasy than I would have liked. Anyway, Sphere certainly keeps you reading--the plot is riveting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    A Must Read!

    Riveting, exciting and hard to put down. If you like like underwater excitement, murder and intreuge, then this is the book for you. I have yet to read a book by this author that wasn't excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Crichton Classic!

    The cover seduced me into purchasing it. I informed the sales clerk I read the novel twice before and listened to the audio book four times. She asked me why read it again. I said this is part of my triad of Crichton classics [the others are Jurassic Park and Congo]. The movie version of Sphere is meaningless drivle but the story is worth reading once more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I absolutely loved it

    It absolutely riveting. So far I have yet to have read a bad Crichton adventure, Sphere is no exception!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Crichton delivers another thrilling and intriguing tale that is truly a page turner!

    I had just recently gotten hold of a copy of Sphere and at first I wasn't amazed by it. Once I got into it, however, I couldn't stop reading it. Sphere is a science fiction story about psychologist Norman Johnson and a group of scientists who are sent in an undersea habitat to research a 350 year old spacecraft of an unknown origin. Their seemingly tranquil expedition soon turns to disaster as strange occurrences start soon after their arrival. The story casts themes of ominous mystery, suspense, and some occasional humor and even romance.

    I was impressed by how the story is unique as it explores the many emotions the characters experience. Crichton really captures the life and personality of the characters in the novel. Crichton also does a great job is building up the suspense in the story, making you want to keep reading until you reach the very end. The novel's driving factor I think is the setting. Under the sea has so many possibilities to explore; and it brings many challenges and lots of beautiful scenery for the reader and characters to confront. The thing that really made me want to keep reading was the oddball story. I was always left guessing what was going to happen next and found that many of my strange conjectures were either spot on, or waaay off. The constant surprises Crichton packs in really puts Sphere in a category of it's own. However, I felt that sometimes the story moves a bit slow at times that it takes several pages to get down to business. Also frequent use of heavy use of scientific and mathematical lingo may confuse some readers. This may not be a con, but i felt that sometimes the book was almost too detailed, citing every single little aspect of everything, almost to the point where it was tedious to read. It did paint a great picture of the setting though! Nonetheless, The book is a must read for any reader, especially those whose cup of tea is science fiction! The story is so unique and the powerful images presented in every page gets your adrenaline pumping! I strongly recommend Sphere to anyone willing to read 350+ pages of a visual roller coaster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a page Turner

    This book Grabbed my attention from the first page. It was very entertaining and exciting to read. I could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10