Customer Reviews for

Sphere

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One the best stories

The movie does this zero justice! Buy it! Borrow it! What ever you have to do, but just read it you will love it!

posted by The_One on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever Worst book EVER!

I'm not kidding. I've read some really bad book's before but this one took the cake and ate it too!

posted by 16980333 on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Great Book!!

    I really loved this book. It was extremely exciting, and always left you wondering what was going to happen next. Sphere was one of those books that you just can't put down. It is an amazing sci-fi, mystery book. I would recommend it to just about anyone. Keep in mind that it is fairly long with tiny print, but the plot definitely kept me engaged. You should read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    An Amazing Book! - LC_

    This book was my second book that I have read, outside of school. I read it based on the fact that it was recommended to people who were purchasing the new game Dead Space. So, instead of getting the game, I got this book. I am thoroughly impressed with Crichton's ability to make the characters come to life. Everthing in this book was so unique, and just when you thought things were getting better, something goes wrong. After finishing the book 2 days ago, I still have some theories about the book. Of course, publishing those theories may ruin in for those who haven't read it.<BR/><BR/>By the way, what happened at the end? Why did it "just" end?<BR/><BR/>Also, comparing this to the movie, looks like the book wins. The movie, featuring Dustin Hoffman, is nothing like the book. It disappointed me while I was watching it because after reading the book, and the seeing the movie, it was like the director hadn't even read the book, he just seemingly pulled the idea out of nowhere. I had a visualization of what everything looked like, and then when I saw the movie is was just a bomb on my idea. The movie skipped parts of book, left parts out, and didn't even show the "monster".<BR/><BR/>All in all, the greatest book I've ever read, being the second one under "Tick Tock" by Dean Koontz.<BR/><BR/>I recommend this to anybody who enjoys science fiction, mystery, drama, and a psychological thriller.<BR/><BR/>You'll be thinking about it after reading it for days to come.<BR/><BR/>LC_

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Strange SciFi, Powerful and Strictly Unique

    I make lists. I have a list of Favorites: Favorite Movies, Favorite Books, Favorite Excuses for Misbehavior, etc. Michael Crichton's Sphere is my favorite secular novel. It follows the classic Crichton theme--things will go very wrong for the human being--but covers territory I've never seen or even heard of, from the depths of outer space to those of the ocean, to those of the human psyche. What happens to his very sympathetic characters becomes more and more strange, unpredictable and unthinkable. Two or three of the things that occur are my all-time favorites, because, after at least three readings, I still haven't figured them out. The book is a feast of Food for Thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and fast-paced action. I couldn't imagine how Crichton was going to tie it all together. But I needn't have worried: the ending was perfect. This is one of my favorites by Crichton (the other being Timeline). However, there were some parts that left me scratching my head oh, well: it just added to the book's appeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Spherish Sphere

    Michael Crichton¿s Sphere is a very interesting read, good for readers of older ages. It starts off with an elderly man named Norman Johnson, who is flown to the South Pacific. He is brought a thousand feet below the surface of the water to a deep sea crash site, where there is a spaceship that crashed there. It seems that the spaceship crashed there 100 years ago, but it was made 500 years in the future. After going on the craft, the crew of explorers fined a huge sphere. I won¿t spoil the ending, but its quiet douse. The things I liked and didn¿t like about the book are spread far and wide. What I liked is it was interesting and hard, it really made me think. What I didn¿t like, was sometimes I lost track of who was talking. Though in the end, it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Crichton's Best

    Michael Crichton is one of the best scientific thriller writers out there. Maybe even THE best! His works The Andromeda Strain, Jurassic Park, and Congo are the next best, but Sphere is Crichton's best. It gives you plenty of insight for the seacreatures and scientific theories on UFO's and ULF's. Then there is all of the great action and more thrills and chills than any of the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    One of my ultimate favorites

    I read this book about nine years ago, but the intensity and suspense this book offered has remained with me for a very long time. Whenever people ask me if I know a book that has many action scenes and goes at a very fast pace, Sphere is the first book I say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Crichton at his best

    This was the best aquatic adventure I have ever read. It was an intruiguing, suspenseful novel I just could not put down. Michael Crichton could make any average reader stay up all night waiting for more after he/she finishes the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Read it front to back in one sitting

    Much better than the movie (they edited way too much out), and an excellent show of imagination. Though, in my opinion, Mr. Crichton is not as talented as Arthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter, and Isaac Asimov, he did a very fine job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    I Loved this book!

    I think that this book was amazing. By far one of the best science fiction books i have ever read. I'm 13 and i loved it. It was engrossing. I just couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Freakin' awesome!!!!!!

    Ok, this has to totally be THE best book I have ever ever ever read. Norman is a terrific main character. All other characters are amazing too. The book's plot doesn't stumble once. It's just one thrilling and suspenseful ride all the way through. You'll be hooked the minute you get in and the whole ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    a breathtaking novel

    Sphere is a very satisfying book to read it has perplexing characters and amazing descriptions.Sphere is a suspenseful, deceiving and well written book. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Well worth the Price!

    A terrific read spiced with drama and psychological horror. One of the best books I have ever read! As is the norm with Michael Crichton¿s novels, it is a fast paced, thrilling, roller coaster ride of suspense and drama. The plot is ingenious and suspenseful creating an atmosphere of intrigue and horror. The mysterious sphere was both an awe inspiring and horrific concept. However, I was not terribly pleased with the characterization. The characters were not well developed nor did they inspire the reader¿s empathy. This novel focuses more on the progression of the plot and the assumptions on what the sphere might be and less on the characters and their personal lives and dilemmas. All in all, this is a brilliant novel and a must read. No Michael Crichton fan or a fan of great literature should be without this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    A top Crichton pick - absolutely

    Sphere is awesome! The style is theory, theory, theory. He hits you plot-point after plot-point, boom, boom, boom. It's very rewarding. Very smart. And the thing motors. Of all his books, Sphere and the Jurassics stand out. So go for it! Try Sphere next. Might be his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Poor Ted

    Pretty good read. Fastest I've ever read a book. Brings up interesting points about the power of the mind and subconcious. The ending was good, but it leaves me a bit saddened and uncerain how to feel about their decision. I'm not sure it was the best way to go. Poor Ted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Can't go wrong with this one

    The audio book version of Sphere is awesome. Edward Asner does a fantastic job of giving each one of Chricton's characters a distict personality and reads all the dramatic parts of the story perfectly. Occasional drops of creepy music and sound effects add to the drama. The story is abridged but unlike some abridged audiobooks, almost no important plot developments are glossed over. By the end of the 3 hour ride, you'll feel like you have a good grip on the overall story and the characters. I've listened to most of Chrichton's books on tape and Sphere is hands down the best one of them all. Even if you've read the book already you should still check out the audio book version. This is one audio book you'll definitely listen to more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    A fast paced roller coaster

    This thriller is very fast paced and very exciting. You never know what is going to happen next and you can't stop until you do. Crichton develops his characters better in this novel than in any of his other books, and you never know which of them is next to die. If there is one 'bad' thing of this book it is the end. It isn't too bad but I think it could of been better for a book this exciting, and it isn't too bad to receive 5 stars either. Other than that, excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Crichton Never Fails!!

    Definetly one of Crichtons best! It keeps you guessing all the way through and is very thought provocking. My only regret is that I had seen the movie first..... hmmmmm..... I wonder what jerry WILL do when he gets angry.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Action-Packed till the last page!

    This is got to be the best book along with jurassic park i have ever read. The action in this novel is very detailed and you could picture the events in your head very clearly as if there happening. This is a must have for the Crichton fans. Cherish this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    A great book a page turner

    This was a great book written by Michael Crichton. It was so suspenseful that I could not stop reading it until I got to the end. The ending was so unpredictable. This is my second book by Crichton and these have been two of the greatest books I have ever read. This novel has a unique setting for science fiction - under water. The author has a way of making the human characters very real and likeable, and the action very believable, even though it is science fiction - you truly believe this is happening. Also, the stories are not so 'crazy' that they could not happen - as you are reading you are thinking, 'This could be real'. That is what helps you to get into the story. I totally recommend this book. you will really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10