BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sphere

Average Rating 4.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One the best stories

The movie does this zero justice! Buy it! Borrow it! What ever you have to do, but just read it you will love it!

posted by The_One on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever Worst book EVER!

I'm not kidding. I've read some really bad book's before but this one took the cake and ate it too!

posted by 16980333 on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Crichton Never Fails!!

    Definetly one of Crichtons best! It keeps you guessing all the way through and is very thought provocking. My only regret is that I had seen the movie first..... hmmmmm..... I wonder what jerry WILL do when he gets angry.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Action-Packed till the last page!

    This is got to be the best book along with jurassic park i have ever read. The action in this novel is very detailed and you could picture the events in your head very clearly as if there happening. This is a must have for the Crichton fans. Cherish this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    A great book a page turner

    This was a great book written by Michael Crichton. It was so suspenseful that I could not stop reading it until I got to the end. The ending was so unpredictable. This is my second book by Crichton and these have been two of the greatest books I have ever read. This novel has a unique setting for science fiction - under water. The author has a way of making the human characters very real and likeable, and the action very believable, even though it is science fiction - you truly believe this is happening. Also, the stories are not so 'crazy' that they could not happen - as you are reading you are thinking, 'This could be real'. That is what helps you to get into the story. I totally recommend this book. you will really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    I LOVED THIS SCIFI BOOK BY CRICHTON

    Michael Crichton wrote: Timeline, Prey, Etc. This is one of his wonders. I AM A CRICHTON BUFF!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Strangly Unexpected

    Read this book before you see the movie. A team of civilians tackle an obstacle that has plagued mankind for centuries. Norman Johnson, a physiologist, is a member of this team. He is brought to a site in the South Pacific were he was told a plane had crashed. When he arrived he was soon to be mistaken. Apparently a 300 year old space craft had crashed. Inside the craft mysteries of the future and what some might call an alien artifact lay dormant. These scientists are a team of professionals who are stumped by this object. Will they be able to tell the world about or will this thing compel them to stay. This book is a real shocker and one of the best books I¿ve read this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    Crichton at his best

    Psychologist Norman Johnson accepted a grant to predict the likely reactions of human beings to alien first contact because he needed money to buy his family a house. Not because he could take such a task seriously. The last thing he expected, years later, was to find himself applying his study's conclusions in real life. But here he is, nevertheless. On his way to a habitat beneath the Pacific Ocean, with a team he hand picked - just long enough ago so that its members aren't exactly the same people they were when he selected them. The habitat has been set up for easy access to a sphere that's been lying on the ocean's floor for 300 years. No 53-year-old in average (less than optimum) physical health belongs where the Navy has decided Norman Johnson should go. He realizes that as he and the rest of the first contact team, of which he is a member rather than the leader, explore the ancient spaceship. When a storm forces the Navy to withdraw surface support, stranding the team, Norman finds out exactly how right he was in some of his theorizing. He also finds out how wrong he was. Sphere is Crichton at his best. The ensemble cast of this novel rings true as the plot sweeps them from crisis to crisis, through twist after twist. Its ending is perfect, after a wild ride that's everything a sci-fi thriller ought to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Michael Crichton's had an amazing career.

    Sphere is a slick book. You're like, why are they all arguing constantly? And, tada! It has a point. The psychology - well, psychology in general - isn't very cutting-edge any more, so in that way you'll see the whys of characterization before you're supposed to, but still! An unexpected storm, a monster, trapped. Jurassic Park-esque - and as good! It's great. I've discovered a best-selling writer whose books work. And the science is flawless (except he does say one thing isn't technically correct - i think it's when Norman goes into the water without his suit on...) Strong A-grade techno.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    Very suspensful and mysterious

    This was very fun to read. After I read the first chapter, I wanted to keep reading the book. By the time I was finished I still wanted to keep reading it. The ending was great, but you had to do some thinking in order to fully understand what happened at the very end. This is one of the best books, if not, the best book I have ever read, and I have read a lot of books in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    An interesting book. Above average but not great

    Shorter than some of Crichton's other books. It is an easy read. A good book to read in a few hours on a rainy day. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    GOOD, BUT NOT MY FAVORITE CRICHTON BOOK

    i thought t his book was really good. i liked how it took me 3 days to read it because it was such a page turner and i couldn't stop reading it. but i thought that the ending was kinda weird. smart, interesting, but weird. definatly worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Don't want to put it down!!!

    May start out slow but about 50 pages in it starts getting interesting and very very exciting. I'd say one of the best books I've read. Definitly one of Michael Crichtons best books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    The Sphere Review

    This book was an alright book. It lead up I think kinda slow. But other then that I really like the book. I like how they discribed the sphere and it also was makeing you want to read more which is good for a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    Awesome book!!! The best one by Michael Crichton!

    This book is an amazingly well done suspense novel about a team of people who explore an abandon spaceship only to find an odd three thousand year old sphere. The characters are fantastic, the plot is great, and it will keep you on the edge of your seat! A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Whatever...

    Average. At times, inconsistent. I couldn't wait to get this book over with.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    A thrilling page turner.

    A hart ponding novel that keeps you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    REVIEWER

    I loved this Michael Chrichton book! It is full of suspense and I couldn't put the book down!!!!! I reccommend this book to anyone, espescially someone who loves science fiction! READ IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    Good Book

    Best book I ever read! You wont be able to put it down. Great mix of suspense and scifi. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the very first M.C. book I read. I wasn't really sure what I was getting myself into, but the ending is truly mind - blowing. I recommend it to anyone who can stand long books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    should get six stars!

    This is by far the best Michael Crichton book I have read. It kept me interested all of the way through, and the suspense was incredible! Just when you think everthing is going to be all right... WHAM! And the suspense is back. This book also explained how amzing the human mind really is. I absoulotly loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    Buy it!!!

    I have never read a more end of seat type of book till I stlumbled to Sphere. I recomend it to any fan of Michel Chrichton. Or if you like a good page turnner. The first 40 pages are boring but give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10