BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sphinx

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    What a surprise!

    What a fantastic find this was! I was looking for something that delt with Ancient Egyptian history, mystery, and excitement and boy this did not dissapoint. I'm sorry it went so fast; i couldn't put it down. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Randi

    ........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Randi's Den

    ~Randi &starf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    It was ok...

    Not the best I've read but ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Very good

    This was worth the money. It was only about 271 pages, but it never stop and the ending was a surprise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Fast-paced thriller

    The attractive but naive Egyptologist heroine becomes embroiled in the black market in Egyptian antiquities. Plenty of action and plot twists, and an authentic flavor of Egypt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perilous treasures

    Being I love reading about ancient Egypt, I was naturally drawn to this book and was not disappointed. It was a true page-turner for me. Erica Baron is an Egyptologist who stumbles upon a treasure from the tomb of Pharao Seti I. You can feel the tension ooze off the pages as she tries to discover where the tomb might be and she gets caught in a tangled web of deceit and murder. It is hard to know who she can trust and you know she can't do it on her own. The characters are very believable and well-thought out. There are very good twists, romance and a lot of tense action all set in bustling Cairo as well as famous archaeologic sites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sphinx by Robin Cook

    Excellent book. I love it. I learned so many interesting things about Egypt. It was exciting and knowledgeable at the same time. I could hardly put it down. Can't wait for his next book. I give it a 5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Unrealistic and trite

    Contrary to most other readers who rated the book, I did not enjoy this story. The heroine was idiotic and the characters all one-dimensional. The writing style was also less than thrilling with the meat of the story only occuring 200+ pages into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    OK read

    Good read, but unrealistic from a danger point of view. Lacks ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Quick & easy read

    Interesting information about ancient Egypt and Egyptian artifacts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    A breeze to read

    Erica Baron, a young, attractive Egyptologist visits Cairo to spend some time experiencing the history there. She receives more than she bargains for when a man she just met is killed for a priceless artifact. The plot is very well written and has a startling ending. I loved how Mr. Cook incorporated facts into this narrative.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    Excellent!!!

    This was a surprise. An adventure away from Hospitals, doctors and clinics!! Way to go Mr. Cook, you've got your readers right where you want them! Absolutely Awed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book. However, I prefer reading about ancient Egypt over present-day Egypt, so it wasn't quite a 5 star read. Still a good read, and pretty intriguing storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    robin cook's best

    This is the best book Robin Cook has written. Anyone interested in Ancient Egypt and Egyptian antiquities will love this book. It is hard to put down. I have read this several times and it is always good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    this was a great book

    this book was so good i recomend it to everyone its great mysteries and suspence i could put it down but i think erica sould have stayed with yvon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Very Interesting!!!

    It is very interesting if you like Ancient Egypt. It doesn't really have anything to do with The Sphinx, but it was still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    Cliff-Hanger, Edge of your seat type that you fall in love with.

    This book is something that you'll never forget. I couldn't put this book down. Even after reading numerous times I still was infatuated wiht the facts and mystery of the whole book.Erica was outstanding in her momentum of wanting to keep in the action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    Great book!

    Sphinx is a great book! Once you start, you'll find it hard to stop. There are plenty of twist and turns that will keep you wanting more. It's a none-stop adventure with likable characters. If you like mysteries or Ancient Egypt, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2