Customer Reviews for

Spice and Wolf, Volume 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Ok so for those trying to figure it out. There are two different

    Ok so for those trying to figure it out. There are two different books for each volume. For some reason it is putting the reviews for the MANGA and the NOVEL on the same page. I had to make sure I was purchasing the right book. Make certain you look at the description. The novel ISBN number is 9780759531048 and the manga number is 9780316073394. If you look at the page numbers for the novel it should say 234 and for the manga it should say 192. Also if you read the description for the manga it actually says manga. One more thing to look at is for some of the novels it actually lets you read the first chapter here online. I love this series and I just wanted people to know what they were buying and I could not find a question and answer section (which they should have on here). Great series. Starts off slow but gets good as the series goes along. If you like romances then this is for you. At first it did not look as if I would actually like this series but once I got further along I could not stop. 5 stars

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent story!!!!! Highly recommended!

    First thing I want to get out of the way is this: I do not like the cover art. Though I do realize why they didn't go with the original. They want to appeal more to the main stream and to more mature audiences, but I still think they could have done better.

    With that out of the way, THIS IS AN EXCELLENT READ! This is actually my second time reading the first volume. I've already read the first four volumes (out of twelve) which have been translated by the online translation group Baka-Tsuki. Reading it again as translated by Yen Press was just as enjoyable as the first time. I only wish that the release schedule was a bit shorter (every six months). At this rate, it won't be until 2015 that we'll catch up to the current number of volumes released in Japan.

    You'll absolutely fall in love with the characters, especially Holo. The story advances in arcs, with an underlying "main story." The main story follows Lawrence and Holo. Lawrence is a traveling merchant who has agreed to bring Holo, a wolf deity in human form, back to her home in Yoitsu located in the far north. In each book you'll meet and part with new characters along their travels, some recurring throughout the series. Some books are about the people they meet and conflicts that arise, other books are more focused on the relationship between Lawrence and Holo. Whatever it may be, there's plenty in this book to like, and it only gets better as the series goes on. I highly recommend this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    For those of you out there who wanted to buy the Light Novel ser

    For those of you out there who wanted to buy the Light Novel series, because they wanted to finish the anime, you made a wise choice. If that's not the case and you simply are looking for a good series to pass some time, you too... made a wise choice... Spice and wolf remains as one of my favorites, and if you like adventure, fantasy, or a strong bond between characters, I highly recommend it! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A beautiful story most definitely worth checking out.

    I've seen both seasons of the show, currently reading the light novels and finished the manga till the most recent volume. Can't wait for the release of volume 8 as well as for the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    this is a great novel, i have currently read upto book 5.

    this is a great novel, i have currently read upto book 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Not a good novel for those not into the manga

    I understand this is a translation of a manga novel; no doubt it appeals to fans of the feature despite its own flaws. As one with no experience with the show, however, I found this book a dismal failure. The writing was bland and amateurish, the character flat, the setting trite and illogical, and the plot forced. It reads like a cartoon set to print by a technical writer. Leave this one on the shelves and get a real book.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit slow, but overall a good read

    This story follows Lawrence, a young merchant who travels from city to city in the hopes of one day owning his own shop. Along the way he encounters Holo, a wolf goddess who wishes to return to her homeland in the north. The two come to an agreement and begin to depend on each other. The story starts a little slow and focuses a lot on curreny and trading rules (if you aren't into economics, the book explains everything and then some). Once they stop talking about trading this for that and how the amount of silver in a coin determins it's value, the story does get interesting. At the heart of the story is the relationship between Holo and Lawrence and how it evolves into a romantic attraction. The advantage to having the story in this format is that it is a novel and you are free to use your imagination while soaking up all of the amazing imagery from the text. I am looking forward to the next volume and seeing where the story goes. Each chapter is an episode from the first season anime so you can follow along with the show as you read, I felt it added some extra demnsion to the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A flavorful read

    I got started off with the anime version of Spice & Wolf. When I found out it originated from a Japanese short novel series, I knew I had to read it, and haven't been disappointed. The story has a nice pace of development, with the main characters growing both as individuals and with respect to their relationship with each other as you follow along in their journey. The young merchant starts off having achieved some successes before you join him in his cart, but his trading experiences get counterbalanced nicely by his lack of exposure to close personal relationships. The wolf goddess of the harvest offers an age of experience at her paw-tips to the merchant, yet she has endearing moments as she enjoys life (and food!) with childlike fervor. Both have room to grow, and their relationship with one another has obviously just started in this first book. A great read for anyone; not too heavy, yet promising more as the series develops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Read and Introduction to the American Audience

    I have been following the Spice and Wolf series for some time through fan based sites that have trasnlated both the manga and anime into english. I have thoroughly enjoyed those and now the first book in the light novel series that started it all has been officially translated into English! This book, the first in the series, is representative of the potential of the story being told. A young merchant meets a wolf goddess and his life is never the same. Particulary, I enjoyed this novel because, as opposed to the manga or anime, the book has relatively no images to portray emotion. As a result, I thought the author, Isuna Hasekura, did a fantastic job creating the atmosphere and emotional tension that exists at times between Lawrence and Holo. A fantastic reader for any fan of the series and enteraining enough for someone just starting out :) .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Incomparable

    Spice and Wolf is both clever and charming, focusing on character development and intellectual intrigue. Do not be fooled by the outward appearance; this is not another Japanese boy-meets-goddess fanservice. The plot and characters are original and complex, able to appeal to a wide range of readers. This is a beautiful story, suitable for teens and adults alike. At this point in the story, there is often heavy emotion, but no romance. You can anticipate light romance in future volumes, but I guarantee you that the author never allows it to detract from the characters that you will come to love.

    The only downfall this book has is that some scenes are beyond the english language and cannot be adequately described. But this is by no means the fault of the translators, rather a flaw in our own language.

    If you like Spice & Wolf, I highly recommend watching the anime. I know, anime is intimidating to many, but I encourage people to overlook the common stereotypes. Japanese media has been given a poor image over the years, and as a result many people are missing out on wonderful books and movies such as this. If you can appreciate the ingenuity of the Spice & Wolf series, I will also suggest Princess Mononoke and Nausicaa, two animated films by globally-renowned animator Hayao Miyazaki. Note that some people may find these inappropriate for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    The long awaited English translation of one smart and romantic Japanese EPIC light novel is here!

    The cover art is, in my opinion, can't get any worse. The writing style is only slightly better than mediocre, but that is to be expected since this is a translated book. But this is ONE HELL OF AN EPIC that should not be missed just like that.

    And yes, talking about Wolf and Spice means talking about the light novel by Isuna Hasekura (and illustration by Jyuu Ayakura). Since its release in 2006, the Japanese version of the books (12 volumes by now) has been sold for more than 2 million copies. This is really good because It has to be noted that there are only 127 million people in Japan (and even less the young adult age group it is targeted), and unlike English, most of everyone else do not read Japanese!

    The next phenomenon was the animation version of the story, which, well, where most of us non-Japanese speaking people get to know it for the first time. To cut it short: total blast off. The first season was so well received that a bigger and more prestigious production took over for the second season.

    So what is this hype about?
    For one, Spice and Wolf is a unique fantasy. No sword and magic; it is about:

    (1) Another side of romanticism, slow paced but beautifully appealing character development (well, there's twelve volumes so far, and believe it or not, Holo and Lawrence's character developed even further: Lawrence grows even wiser than he already is, and Holo becomes even more attractive and romantic in her ways).

    The summary tells a good part of it:
    "The life of a traveling merchant is a lonely one, a fact with which Kraft Lawrence is well acquainted. Wandering from town to town with just his horse, cart, and whatever wares have come his way, the peddler has pretty well settled into his routine - that is until the night Lawrence finds a wolf goddess . [that strikes up a bargain] to increase his profit in exchange for taking her along on his travels"

    Both Holo and Lawrence cherish each other's accompaniment in their otherwise lonely travel. To make matters even better, the setting is similar to the era of early romanticism, except for the lack of Goethe (awesome) and more of Berlios (even better!).

    (2) Smart and savvy, trade and economics,

    Holo's cunning and Lawrence's knowledge got them into profits. There are some other awesome business trades that they do later on. While I can't say about the trade because it will spoil the story, here are quotes that I think reflects their character and demonstrated their savvy:

    "Why, when I was a novice, all the established merchant seemed like monsters to me. Half of them still do. But I am still eating. You just have to keep at it"
    - Kraft Lawrence to a younger merchant

    "While one may loose much because of avarice, nothing was ever accomplished by abstinence,"
    - Holo, when Lawrence asked her whether wisewolf should be able to conquer temptation

    And . another quotes which I just loved. Not from this book; I think this should be from the 5th or 6th book:

    "Why should they be honor in a battle between merchant?"
    - Kraft Lawrence

    But at the rate of a new book every 6 months, though, it will take at least 6 years . I do really wish that they fasten the translation. By then I will be too far ahead of the target audience, as if I haven't by now.

    Conclusion
    This book may not look very appealing at first, but is worth keeping for because it is a very unique epic fantasy,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1