Customer Reviews for

Spider Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Thought it was a great Tempe Brennan book...

I thought this was one of the better Tempe Brennan books. I found the plot to be original and intriguing. While some of the previous reviewers found the forensic "jargon" to be irritating, I quite enjoyed it. One of my favorite things about Kathy Reichs is that she e...
I thought this was one of the better Tempe Brennan books. I found the plot to be original and intriguing. While some of the previous reviewers found the forensic "jargon" to be irritating, I quite enjoyed it. One of my favorite things about Kathy Reichs is that she explains the techniques and processes of what she does in a way that lay people can understand.

I thoroughly enjoyed the characters in this book, and thought they were well developed. I enjoyed learning more about Lily as she is spoken of frequently in other books, but the reader never really gets to "meet" her. Morever, I enjoyed a book that took Brennan out of the usual Charlotte/Montreal atmosphere.

In the end, it was a great read that held my attention and gave me some excitement and thrill. It was a page turner that I didn't want to put down. Reichs also gets you a little at the end. She's not usually into "cliff hangers," but she gets a little one in on this book.

posted by 4502259 on August 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slow read

Even though I think Kathy Reichs is a good author, she sometimes goes into too much detail. I find myself skimming through parts of the book because of the medical terms she uses that no layman can understand. Not necessary for a good story.

posted by CarolynSS on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Just ok

    Im a big fan of the series, however, lately find myself skipping over 60% of the content. A little too much technical jargon and overly descriptive...also, it seems the main character has an enemy everywhere she works because she is constantly pointing out their incompetence....the character is starting to come off more and more pompous in each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Love Kathy Reichs!

    Temperence is so personable a character that I would love to meet her in real life. I wait for each new book in the series and only wish Kathy Reichs could turn them out faster. The technical information is handled really well, and I have learned a lot, but the personalities in the books are addictive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    must read

    one of her best books. Lots of twists to keep you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Another great story from Kathy Reichs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Good Book

    A little difficult to get into at first. Unfolds weaving suspense and character development expertly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Erg

    Rggfgkihhbvh

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Fair

    The story line was OK but I'd prefer a little less lab work and a little more character development. The characters act and re-act but I get no feel for what they're thinking or feeling or why. I can't connect with them at all. I doubt I'll be reading any more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    If you like Fox's 'Bones', you'll love the original Temperance Brennan!

    I recommend you start with #1 and read right on through! You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Not up to her usual standards

    The writing was shallow and flippant. The characters were undeveloped. It was an effort to finish the book. It reads like it took less than a week to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Is it like bones?

    Is it similar to the series or completly different?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    loved it as usual

    I've been reading this series since December 2010 Christmas to be exact since my hubby got me the nook. I have read number 1 thru 13 which i finished at 12am today. Though she didn't exactly leave where her and Ryan were, the thrills still came. She got to know a bit of her daughters life, and Ryans new daughter. I must admit i wouldn't have read it so fast had i paid attention that it was the last until Aug. this year. I found it very interesting the military aspect as well as the exotic Hawaii. I would recommend this book as the others, yes, maybe the technical side can be wordy, but hey how are you going to learn. "Reading is fundamental" :) knowledge, history, as well as fantasy, sounds all good to me. Thanks for the relaxed moments Ms. Kathy, you've actually sparked a "Charleston" feeling again, can't wait to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Captivating, but not quite as action-packed

    Having read all 12 of the preceding Temperance Brennan novels, I was quite excited when I learned that this one was coming out. I enjoyed this one emmensly, but feel compelled to warn other readers that it does not contain nearly as many rough & tumble, bad guy vs good guy scenes as her other books. It is a bit more relaxed, with the action scenes only near the end. Don't get me wrong, the story line is quite captivating and the lack of action didn't hinder my enjoyment at all. In fact, I'm already looking forward to the next one :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Somewhat recommended

    I was a little disappointed with this book. It was not up to the standard of other books I've read by this author. Putting a face and name to the numbers of the dead in question was a bit annoying requiring me to constantly check back to refresh myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    Not really recommended

    I rarely post a review, especially a bad review, but this book made me so mad I just have to vent. Although I like her writing style, she's a great writer, this book seemed to have more personal stuff going on than a story, which story by the way, totally confused me. Perhaps it was that way because it was so slow and boring and I lost interest and skip-read. And I have to add that I'm totally sick of her selfish, spoiled daughter. She's twenty-one for cripes sake! Kathy writes her as though she were a fourteen year-old. I think she needs to use personal stuff as incidental through her stories and get back to some action and good plots. I'm amazed her editor didn't point this out. Not a book I would recommend and I'm not tempted to read any more of her work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Enjoyable read

    I absolutely love these novels and get them on pre-order. However, I believe this one took a little license with the characters and the changing directions. I found the change in locale with this one a little bit much. From Canada to NC to Hawaii, I understand the involvement with the characters introduced but I felt like it took a lot of leaps to get to Hawaii esp. since I have followed the books all the way through. I felt like Hawaii was a leap for beautiful locale and introduction of teaching about shark bites instead of a part of the lives of the characters.
    That being said...I took the leap of willing suspension of disbelief and went on. I found that I really enjoyed it when I just let myself imagine the beauty of Hawaii, the sights of the beach and I did enjoy learning about the recovery and identification of prisoners of war. There are times when Reichs gets a little too involved in the teaching and less involved in the story. Being in the medical profession, I follow well but even I think it gets a little too detailed at a certain point.
    Overall, I enjoyed the book but I wasn't wrapped up in the story as I have been in the past. I would love to see Tempe get back to her roots in forensic anthropology and into her relationship with Ryan. Reichs has done better but I think her fans will still be interested in this book. Don't expect riveting but expect a pleasant journey to Hawaii's beautiful landmarks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Reichs' Best

    Dr. Brennan, a forensic anthropologist, is called to investigate a floater in Montreal who appears to have died during a weird sex act. Once the victim is identified from his fingerprints as John Lowery, nothing makes sense because Lowery was declared dead in 1968 while on duty with the U.S. Army in Vietnam.

    Temperance is teamed up with her old flame, Detective Andrew Ryan in her quest to figure out who was buried in Lowery's grave in North Carolina. Working with JPAC, the U.S. military Joint POW/MIA Command, they're trying to identify the remains as even more body parts turn up in Hawaii that appear to be related to the search for the unknown person buried in North Carolina. Reichs keep switching victims' identities; first the floater found is Lowery, then he's not, then he is again. Add to the mix a Samoan gang and the unwillingingness of John's father to help in the investigation for entirely different reasons and the plot just gets muddier.

    Reichs' novel sent me to the internet to research JPAC. This group is still working valiantly to identify the remains of fallen soldiers from past wars so that their families will finally have closure and the soldiers can have proper burials.

    The one bright spot in SPIDER BONES is Reichs' main character. Usually so rigid, in this thirteenth of the Brennan series, it's nice to see that Temperance is finally loosening up, showing a little more humor and using a little more profanity. But overall, this is a winding, confusing tale that only the most dedicated Reichs' fans will enjoy. Lynn Kimmerle

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    Don't suffer through this one!

    Very poorly written....very boring....an effort to read to the end. I usually read a book in 2-3 days. It took me a month to finish this one! You'll be able to buy this one for $1.99 soon enough. Enjoyed her early books though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    I Get It...Kathy Reichs is Smart

    I've read every book in the series and #13 will be my last. Temperence's character has become a complete bore and the novels only seem to serve Ms. Reich's desire to teach us something she thinks we should know. I was completely baffled by the change in locale and found the explanation of Temperence's involvement ridiculous. When yet another "twist" was added and another Coroner looks for help from Dr. Brennan, I rolled my eyes at the implausibility. Unfortunately the author chooses to make the main character more and more uptight and judgmental in her personal life, and she becomes more and more dull with every writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    good

    is this a good mystery to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    Great Read

    like this book will read more of this series.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22