Customer Reviews for

The Spider and the Fly (Illustrated by Tony DiTerlizzi)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    They didn't make books like this when I was a kid.....

    ....and I wish they had! I only got to flip through it one day at B. Dalton, but it blew me away. I was fully expecting some corny, badly illustrated, wishy-washy kids' book, but this was GREAT! Not only was the illustrations FABULOUS, but the storyline was wonderful, even if a bit macabre. It was more in the line of actual old time Fairy Tales-- you know, the kind that had cautionary undertones? This is like a journey back to those kinds of tales, and it was awesome, completely awesome-- even if it's a childrens' book, I'd buy it, just to look at it and read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    First confession:  I own two copies of the Tony DiTerlizzi illus

    First confession:  I own two copies of the Tony DiTerlizzi illustrated version of The Spider and the Fly; one I bought in 2002, and one I just bought last month.  I wouldn't let my young son "read" my 2002 version of The Spider and The Fly because I wanted to keep it pristine.  Now I will just keep the 10th Anniversary Edition to myself. 
    Pretty much everyone knows the opening lines to The Spider and The Fly, and with good reason; they are pretty amazing first lines.  The rest of the poem, although seldom quoted, is just as great.
    The Spider and the Fly was my initial introduction to Tony DiTerlizzi's artwork, and I've been a fan of his work ever since.  There is a bit of Rackham, Gorey, and Brian Froud living in his work, but the combination is pure DiTerlizzi. 
    Second confession:  I bought the original The Spider and the Fly long before I was a mom.  I wasn't even married.  I just really, really wanted the book because of the black and white, film noir illustrations.  And the fly looked very much like my younger sister, Luna, at the time (although, she does only have two arms and two legs.)
    Third confession:  For the Hallowe'en party of the library in 2006, my fellow librarian, Louise, and I did a Reader's Theater version of this book.  We pre-recorded the dialogue and acted it out in costumes for the kids at the party.  Louise was the spider.  I was the fly. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Classic poem, superb illustrations.

    Classic poem, superb illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    The Spider and the Fly - Highly Recommended

    The Spider and the Fly is a book that contains beautiful and detailed illustrations within its pages. The black and white pictures correlate with the story about a spider who attempts to lure an innocent fly into his parlor for his own purposes. The story has a meaning behind the text, teaching the readers to stay safe when encountering a stranger. Although The Spider and the Fly has a questionable ending, the story and illustrations will not disappoint. The reader will have a fun time reading the story to his/her child while learning the important message the book sends out to its readers. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to share a well written and illustrated bedtime story with their child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    I love it!

    When I was a little kid I would sit and read this over and over again. I've always loved this kind of stuff, it reminds me of something Tim Burton might do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Really Beautiful Illustrations

    You know the story, but DiTerlizzi brings a new dimension by using "Flapper Era" dress and the whole damsel in peril thing. Very fun. Lots of great detail and wit in the pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Great child's book with important message.

    This book has wonderful artwork to compliment it's well written story. The message is very clear and important on the negative effects of vanity. We love reading it to our daughter and she loves the pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    "Will You Walk Into My Palor?" Said The Spider To The Fly.

    Although written as a if a story for younger children the story of The Spider and The Fly is a metaphor to a certain type of person all people will met in life. This type of person is personified by the spider in the way he treats the fly. This short story made using a rhyming poem has beautiful black and white drawings and gives a warning while still being very entertaining.<BR/><BR/>The poem can be found free online by searching The Spider and the Fly by Mary Howitt if parents are concerned with its suitability for their child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Caldecott Honor Book: The Spider and the Fly

    This Caldecott Honor Book retells the original poem by Mary Howitt done over one hundred years ago. It is illustrated by Tony Diterlizzi. Tony¿s artwork has been featured on the popular Magic. He has also written and illustrated two books of his own. The black and white illustrations enhance this original classical tale. Has your parents ever told you to be aware of strangers? In this tale an innocent fly is charmed by a sneaky spider. The spider invites the fly into his parlor. The fly has heard all about the spider, but she still falls for him. The book says, ¿He dragged her up his winding stair, into his dismal den. Within his little parlor- but she ne¿er came out again¿. DiTerlizzi, Tony. The Spider and the Fly. New York: Simon & Schuster. Reading level: Ages 5-8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    Renaissance of Classic Poem

    A true adaptation of a poem 100 years old. The illustarions are divine and have a delightful impact on an already classic poem. Although the illustration and story can sem frightening, there is a short epilogue that plays the moral through. Excellent read for adults and children alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Arachnophobia!

    This book is fantastic! Creepy but masterful illustrations frame Mary Howitt's long-loved cautionary tale in verse. Morals can sometimes end up ruining a book--but not so here. It's rare to find a picture book where the moral is balanced so delicately with excellent illustrations and good verse. The whole thing plays out like those overly dramatic silent movies of old--and the effect is timeless. The spider is a true villain and the fly a hapless victim (who had plenty of warning signs so as to temper your pity). Don't look for happy endings here, but do look for humorous handling of the grisly finale. The warning is perhaps more true today than it was in Ms. Howitt's time: There are creeps in the world who will woo you with wonderful words only to wrap you in their wicked web. So take heed my dears and buy the Spider and the Fly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    Gorgeous!

    What a delicious book! What a dashing villain! The pictures are amazing--the closer you look at them, the more creepy details are revealed. A book to read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1