BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Spiders

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Spiders! One of my least favorite things of all time! However, t

    Spiders! One of my least favorite things of all time! However, this book opened my eyes to a lot of interesting facts about them. For instance, I didn’t know that some spiders carry around their babies for a while after they’re born. Can you imagine? Not only seeing a hideous spider, but finding out she has hundreds of live babies on her back?! Although I will not be rushing out to a pet store to buy a pet tarantula anytime soon, this book would be a nice one to read in a science class to some elementary students. It provides informational facts as well as amazing (but give you the creepy crawlies) pictures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This is a great picture book. I found this book a bit scary only

    This is a great picture book. I found this book a bit scary only because the pictures are really nice and shows every detail of numerous spiders. I would suggest this book for elementary level students during a science lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    This book was a very interesting but a bit disturbing at the sam

    This book was a very interesting but a bit disturbing at the same time. It really allows you to visualize a variety of different spiders. If you are someone who doesn't like spiders or better yet, has a phobia of spiders i would definitely not recommend this book, at the same time i would not recommend this to the younger age group of children. The illustrations were very realistic and at some points I also got a little disgusted and freaked out myself by how real these pictures looked in this book. It felt as if the pictures were the real thing, you were able to see the smallest details and even seemed like you could feel the texture of the spider. I would definitely recommend this for maybe a science class, it would provide an abundance of information for the students and i think it would better suit like a middle school group of students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    SPIDER FACTS- Spiders by Nic Bishop is an outstanding picture bo

    SPIDER FACTS-
    Spiders by Nic Bishop is an outstanding picture book that won the Sibert Award. In this easy to read factual book, children can engage in their reading with gruesome and extreme close up images of spiders. The text is consisted of simplistic facts about these creatures while the pictures are detailed and full colored images. Children between the grades of first and third will enjoy this read, while children of all ages may enjoy the pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Creepy, Yet Awesome Creatures!

    The cover says it all. Nic Bishop’s “Spiders” is all about, well, spiders! For those of us who are weary of these creepy crawlers, this book allows anyone to dive into the fantastic world of spiders and view close-ups of different kinds of spiders, from the teeny-tiny to the super-large variety. This book provides interesting information about many different types of spiders, including their origins, their behavior, their hunting techniques, their physical features, and parenting methods. The bright and colorful display on each page makes it easy for readers to focus on the details of each spider. The vivid photographs overflow into most of the facing pages, which make the spiders seem more real and lifelike. It’s very likely that you can’t help feel like you could almost touch the hairs of one (yikes!). Overall, this book provides an excellent way for children to learn about spiders, and would be the perfect candidate to add as part of the science section of the classroom library or home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Beautiful, Creepy Pictures!

    "Spiders" is not a recommended book for an individual as squeamish as I am. While reading this book, I could literally feel spiders crawling on my skin. It is a great informative book for kids with a broader vocabulary or who have an interest in these 8 legged creatures. The descriptions of each spider is detailed and the pictures in this book are extraordinary! The author does a great job explaining the wonders of each spider in the book. It is a recommended read for any child who shows a thrill in learning new things about insects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Spiders by Nic Bishop is a great picture book full of detailed i

    Spiders by Nic Bishop is a great picture book full of detailed information about different types of spiders. This Sibert Award winning book is filled with vibrant colors and life like pictures of spiders. This would be a great book for teachers to introduce to their students. The up close pictures in this book speak for themselves. They are trully amazing. They just seem to jump out at you as you turn each page. There are many spiders who do not use webs. I did not know that until I read this book. I always associated webs with spiders, "spiderwebs". It also says that the jumping spiders have the best sight of any kind of spider. Nic Bishop also said that several of the spiders that he listed in the book were home raised. He watched them grow up for months. He did this so that he could capture rare photographs of the spiders during molting, courting and egg-laying. These are just of the amazing facts that are in this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Spiders was a well written, thought-out book that is very inform

    Spiders was a well written, thought-out book that is very informative. It was highly educational and had great pictures but if you are like me, the picture kind of creeped me out. But other then that, I thought it was really informative and was done in a way that no matter what age you are, it is easy to understand and you got a lot out of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Check this book out!

    You don't know what to expect when you first pick up this book. I was wondering if it was a story book, or just a picture book naming spiders. But once I started reading it, I was pleasantly surprised to see how much education and enjoyment this book has to offer! The pictures in the book are breathtaking, they allow the reader to see the intricate details of the many arachnids that are displayed in the text. The book goes into detail with facts about spiders, where they live, what they eat, and their life cycles. Bishop teaches the reader what webs are made of and why they are made, how spiders eat their dinner, and even how they raise their babies. It is easy to see why Nic Bishop is so fascinated by these 8-legged creatures, and as a person who does not like spiders, I found his enthusiasm on the subject contagious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    This book is different....

    Well, this book was an interesting read to say the least. I am terrified of spiders or any little insect for that matter- so reading this book was gross for me and seeing the pictures so close up made my skin cringe. With that said though the photographs were so amazing. They are bright, close ups, and really real. The book contains a lot of informational text that basically informs the reader of the spider and certain details concerning it. The book is unforgetable for me just because I can still see the huge spiders on the pages just waiting to jump out at me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Exuberant Pictures

    The book Spiders by Nic Bishop is an amazing informational picture book. This book would work best when covering a thematic unit on spiders for just about any grade. This book has received the Sibert Award and fall under the Informational Books genre. The book is filled with incredible pictures and information on each of the spiders. The pictures are so close and the information child friendly that this book can be used as a picture book for the younger kids and an independent reading for older kids. This book can also work for students who are fascinated with insects and on science projects or activities. The pictures are so captivating that this a book that students would want to read and look over and over filled with amazement time after time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spiders: Science Teachers...Highly Recommended

    This book is very informative and the photographs are amazing. Nic Bishop sheds some insight on the mysterious creatures. In this book you learn about the different species of spiders as well as mating acts, feeding, defense tactics, and other interesting habits that spiders have. Of course not all spiders are the same, (spoiler alert) I found out that there are spiders in the world who do not have eyes because they live in dark caves and its completely useless, so they adapted without them. Also stated in this book, the Goliath bird-eating tarantula is as big as this book. I definitely recommended this book to science teacher for their classrooms and just for anyone who is interested in learning about Spiders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Good Information

    Nic Bishops' "Spiders" is an informative book.
    It makes us give spiders a second look.
    No really!
    Some spiders are as small as a grain of sand,
    While others are bigger than your hand.
    Spiders have two parts like you and me
    A head and a body and those are key.
    The abdomen holds the silk and the heart,
    Which pumps blood as blue as a Wal-Mart.
    Yes, blue!
    The head is called cephalothorax,
    And holds eight legs up to the max.
    Spiders eat in the most unusual way,
    They don't chew or swallow but rather drink their prey.
    Slurp, Slurp!
    Spiders don't have bones instead they have hard skin
    And when they grow they molt preferably in a nice warm den.
    Tarantulas are the biggest of them all
    And can live up to thirty years to be an old grandpa.
    Or Grandma!
    They are scared of humans despite what you think
    But don't get too close they could bite in a wink.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Very informative!!

    Spiders an Sibert Honor winner is a very informative book. Every page is filled with facts on spiders and their environment. One fact that captivated me is that spiders have an unusual way of eating their food. They don't chew or swallow they drink it!! Another fact that caught my eye was that spiders have blue blood. That is something that I'll for sure remember about spiders. Bishop photographs are so vivid that lets you see each spider up close and in a safe way. If you have a research paper about spiders due you have to for sure get this book to get all the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    For the non-squeemish!

    Well I, like most people, do not care for spiders so it was a little challenging to keep reading this book but, for educational or personal interest purposes this book is great. The pictures are fantastic and very life like (which made me a little squeemish)! Also, the information about the spiders is simple enough for a child to comprehend and not too indepth to where an adult could lose interest. At the end of the book the author, Nic Bishop, lightly touches on his interesting experiences, expeditions, and trips to find these spiders which I thought was a great and interesting end. After that page, the author has a glossary for the reader to better understand some of the vocabulary and an index to go back and look at your favorite spider or perhaps the one you found most interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    A maybe on the reading list but great for kids who love insects !!!

    Nic Bishop;s book called Spiders takes the reader into and up close and personal way through photography to show you the life of Spiders . As a person who is afraid of spiders the book for me was uncomfortable to look at because of the humongus up close pictures of the spiders , but in a way was cool because it told you facts about different spiders and how they live and hunt in their natural habitat . This book will be a hit with the little ones who are just obsessed with insects in general . They will not want to put this book down !!! No for you who are just as scared of insects like me then this is probably not a good book for you to be picking up and looking at , but it has awsome information of spiders .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Great, well written and Educational Book

    This is a FUN read for all ages; I really enjoyed reading all about SPIDERS. There was a lot that I did not know about spiders and there are some VERY interesting facts that just engrossed me! Did you know that, "Spiders dribble their digestive juices on its meal?" This was interesting to see and then they wait till their prey is mushy and then eat them. YUCK! Spiders also taste things with their feet and shed their skin, including their eyes, and inside their mouth. The book is well written and full of interesting facts about spiders, even younger children can understand. I love the IMAGES on the pages, the spiders are bigger than life and you can see many details at a safe distance. The pages are very colorful and fulfilled and this is an easy read. I recommended this to everyone, what a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Tummy Turning Creepy Crawlers!

    Spiders Spiders every where! Some even in your backyard, as we come to find out in the informative book Spiders created by Nic Bishop. Mr. Bishop has dedicated his life to learning about the habitats and habits of the thousands of spider families that the planet has to offer. One thing that Bishop does in this book that I think makes it great for kids is use tangible everyday objects to compare spiders to. From the spider that is as small as a grain of sand to the spider that is as big as a page from the book, he gives his audience a strong visual that allows them to enter the world of the spider. He also compares the autonomy of the spider to that of a human from the way that spiders hear, the eyes that they have and the "skin" that they shed. Lastly, Bishop uses his camera to capture some very private moments of the spiders, that complete the book. The moments that he has caught, are some that most of us would never get to see first hand so Spiders is a great way for anybody to look through a lense into the life of a spider.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    itll leave you buggin out

    If you are into creepy crawling 8 legged bugs then this is the book for you. If you are afraid of spiders and the thought of them makes your skin crawl then you should think twice before reading this book. The illustrations and images inside this book are very lifelike and kind of freaky if your not used to seeing spiders up close and personal. This spiders all seem creepy yet slightly cool. This book is great for spider lovers, as well as for those who are seeking to find information on spiders. I personally am not a fan of spiders but when i read this book, i almost wished i was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2