BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 414 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This book had me from page one. This book had great characters that you cant help but like and a fast-paced and action packed plot. And best of all, it wasn't dripping with to much sex. If her next books are just as good I can see putting her on my top 10 favorite autho...
This book had me from page one. This book had great characters that you cant help but like and a fast-paced and action packed plot. And best of all, it wasn't dripping with to much sex. If her next books are just as good I can see putting her on my top 10 favorite authors.
Anyone who likes Butcher, Kim Harrison, or Patrica Briggs would like this one as well.

posted by jgmme on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Pass it up

Spider's Bite was a story I could not take seriously. The main character, Gin, was just not believeable. She describes herself as a cold blooded assasin. She "gets people dead". Gin just does not come across as a killer. The character development is so shallow, I could ...
Spider's Bite was a story I could not take seriously. The main character, Gin, was just not believeable. She describes herself as a cold blooded assasin. She "gets people dead". Gin just does not come across as a killer. The character development is so shallow, I could not either love or hate her, or develope any feeling for her. The book seems to be thrown together. Much of the detail is overdone. Describing how she makes a sandwich, down to the type of cheeze, bread and pickles is like reading Martha Stewart. And, detracts from the story. There are nonhuman characters thrown in, vampires, giants and dwarves. But they do not have any superhuman powers. Sunlight does not bother the vampires. They are as vulnerable to knives, bullets and fists as any human. The vampires are not stronger or faster than humans. All the female prostitute are vampires. And they enjoy liquor. The only difference is the vampires have fangs and drink blood. It is as if vampires and the others were thrown into the story just to get on the paranormal bandwagon. The story also has some very steamy explicit sex scenes. Not that I am opposed to explicit sex, but it adds nothing to the story and seems out of place. Agin, like these scenes are added just to be adding sex. There are redundant phrases way overused. When Gin is describing something she likes, like sex or good food, the paragraph always ends with "Mmm". Over and over again. Her favorite phrases, "get dead" and "sloppy sloppy sloppy" get a little annoying. The fictional city of Ashland, where the story takes place, is a typical urban setting with malls, a college, parks and stores. Not the dark and seedy back drop that would have been appropriate for this type of story. The writing style and phrasing seems disjointed. There was never a point in the book where I really cared about reading further. I finished the book for no other reason than I paid for it.

posted by vampyre666 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 416 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pass it up

    Spider's Bite was a story I could not take seriously. The main character, Gin, was just not believeable. She describes herself as a cold blooded assasin. She "gets people dead". Gin just does not come across as a killer. The character development is so shallow, I could not either love or hate her, or develope any feeling for her. The book seems to be thrown together. Much of the detail is overdone. Describing how she makes a sandwich, down to the type of cheeze, bread and pickles is like reading Martha Stewart. And, detracts from the story. There are nonhuman characters thrown in, vampires, giants and dwarves. But they do not have any superhuman powers. Sunlight does not bother the vampires. They are as vulnerable to knives, bullets and fists as any human. The vampires are not stronger or faster than humans. All the female prostitute are vampires. And they enjoy liquor. The only difference is the vampires have fangs and drink blood. It is as if vampires and the others were thrown into the story just to get on the paranormal bandwagon. The story also has some very steamy explicit sex scenes. Not that I am opposed to explicit sex, but it adds nothing to the story and seems out of place. Agin, like these scenes are added just to be adding sex. There are redundant phrases way overused. When Gin is describing something she likes, like sex or good food, the paragraph always ends with "Mmm". Over and over again. Her favorite phrases, "get dead" and "sloppy sloppy sloppy" get a little annoying. The fictional city of Ashland, where the story takes place, is a typical urban setting with malls, a college, parks and stores. Not the dark and seedy back drop that would have been appropriate for this type of story. The writing style and phrasing seems disjointed. There was never a point in the book where I really cared about reading further. I finished the book for no other reason than I paid for it.

    27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This book had me from page one. This book had great characters that you cant help but like and a fast-paced and action packed plot. And best of all, it wasn't dripping with to much sex. If her next books are just as good I can see putting her on my top 10 favorite authors.
    Anyone who likes Butcher, Kim Harrison, or Patrica Briggs would like this one as well.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing UF

    As a teenager, Gin Blanco lost her family to a brutal attack which left her homeless, friendless, and running scared. All that changed after she met Fletcher, the kind own of a local BBQ joint. Fletcher got Gin back on her feet while wiping away her fear with the knowledge of how to protect herself and those she loves. Years later, she's become a tough assassin, known as the Spider, with a killer record. And if her sharp knives don't do the trick, Gin's ace in the hole happens to be an affinity for stone, making her a rare elemental.

    After agreeing to a risky contract which ends up going south, Gin quickly finds herself fighting tooth and nail to protect those she loves while trying to stay alive herself. But the only way she's going to make it out alive in the corrupt and brutal city of Ashland is by aligning herself with by-the-book Detective Donovan Caine. Which can only complicate matters since said easy-on-the-eyes Detective happens to loathe every single aspect of Gin's chosen profession. Figures.

    Jennifer Estep has created an intriguing new world in her newest series Elemental Assassins. As a dangerous and corrupt city with dirty cops ready to look the other way, Ashland reminds me of a southern Gotham City with an added bonus of powerful magic. Though equipped with an appealing world-building concept, I struggled to connect to Gin as a character. Even in the face of tragedy, I never really felt that her grief was genuine. Sad to say, her narrative often seemed forced and quite repetitive. I often found myself hearing Gin describe the same types of scenes over and over again. Her enemies were always "sloppy, sloppy, sloppy" and every description of the attractive Detective Caine ended with "Mmm." While I'll give you that a good lookin' man can be mouth watering, I don't need the blatant reminder every time he pops up. Though I did catch a glimmer of chemistry between Gin and Caine, their awkward exchanges tended to leave me surprisingly uncomfortable and a little squeamish more often than not. How unfortunate. Gin's story really had the potential for becoming a honest and hard-hitting UF series but Spider's Bite ultimately failed to deliver on the entertainment front.

    On a side note, I am actually totally digging this cover. In a Urban Fantasy market awash of books that have no relation whatsoever to their story, the cover art for Spider's Bite is refreshingly accurate, and really eye-catching.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Buyer Beware

    The first two books in the Elemental Assassin series had it all - humor, creativity, action, heart, sizzle. The author clearly knows how to develop characters and stories. Unfortunately, I bought the next four books in the series together, thinking they'd be the same. The author apparently went on vacation from writing for the remaining books. She spends about 60-70% of books #3 and #4 re-telling the story from #1 and #2. So you read pages and pages of re-told plot, a few pages of new plot, and back to re-told plot. Sometimes she even puts the re-told plot into boring and unnecessary dream sequences. I’m not going to suffer through #5 and #6. The author of this series obviously has the intelligence and creativity to write great books, she just chose not to exercise it after Book #2. If there's one thing I'd like to see changed about eBooks, it's the ability to get refunds for bad novels.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written, captivating escapism in the fantasy genre

    Let me start by saying I enjoy this genre. It allows me to escape from the pressures of the world by tickling that inner part of me that wonders if there is more to our world than we see.

    That being said, this book (with an unusually appropriate cover, by the way), is captivating escapism from the first page onward. The author does a good job of bringing you into the mind and feelings of the lead character, a young lady who has found her calling but is a bit overwhelmed by it - to be an assassin of bad guys - many of whom have supernatural attributes.

    We all talk about fairness, equal rights, and all that, but deep inside we thrill to the bad guy getting his just due - at least I do - and this book touches that primal urge, as the bad guys lose. There is a touch of sensuality but nothing overt - enough to give that needed dimension to the lead character.

    Her writing reminds me of Patricia Brigg's writing - the Mercy Thompson series. She is consistent, articulate, and filled with touches of dramatic omnipotence. You always want to jump ahead to see how the story unfolds, but you don't want to miss any details.

    The book is free of those 'dead' pages where authors sometimes seem to want to display their knowledge of underworld legends while letting the story line sit and fester. Rather she is able to weave those concepts into the story without slowing the pace. Quite a difficult thing to achieve, I believe. I am impressed.

    The book cover is unusually appropriate. I don't think that the character depicted on the cover matches some descriptors of her scattered throughout the book. But the pose and stature shown and the implied temperament of the character on the cover gave me a visual image to use as I read through the early chapters, and it worked for me positively.

    On the down side, true, there are a few places where it is difficult to stretch the imagination far enough to mnake it believable, even for fantasy, but in general, I think this book is one of the best ones I have read in this genre.

    I think this is her first or at least an early book for her. I hope that she develops a fan base and that her work continues, and that she continues to write stories involving this interesting character.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    i really enjoyed this book. it was a fun story to read. and the

    i really enjoyed this book. it was a fun story to read. and the story line was very interesting. the book starts off with a bang that totally catches your attention which was fantastic. i definately fell in love with the main character, gin. shes portrayed as a strong and independent women. people might think that its unrealistic or watevers because shes an assassin that is supposed to be a cold hearted killer yet she struggles with her inner demons of caring for love ones. i dont understand how that would be unrealistic? shes still human so of course she has human emotions. its just she hides it well because shes an assassin and the fact that her family was murdered. overall i loved the book. the whole entire series i found very entertaining and i enjoyed it very much however, the one thing i did have a problem was with this book is that throughout the whole entire series there is too much repetition. the author kept talking about gins past even though it was established in the previous books. i found it a waste of time to reread. i like a reminder of what had happened in the previous books and her past but i after the third book i think the reader should know what is going on by the third and fourth and fifth book. it was just so bad that it felt like the author just copied and paste it over to all the books. big big flaw. but i still loved it and i highly recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Fun read I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quick enjoyable story about a resourceful strong woman.

    This book was very entertaining. Plot was good but pretty evident how the book would play out. There were times when details would be repeated but over all the story played out quickly and left you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Spider's Bite

    Caught my interest enough to keep me reading more of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Good read

    Not too bad once you got into it. Would read more from this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Spiderbite

    Hai

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Owl

    Haiyyy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    A girl

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    To dark

    What is ur real name? Then y did u have sex?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Dark

    Noting much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Taylor

    What's up?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Got me hooked

    This book was really good. It made me go get the next 4books in the series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    When everything falls apart

    You keep holding on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Gin Blanco, aka the Spider is an assassin that has elemental mag

    Gin Blanco, aka the Spider is an assassin that has elemental magic. Having control over stone and ice, Gin is not a woman I'd like to be up against. She earns her title as the Spider by killing her marks without them even knowing something is amiss. When someone double crosses her, instead of running, Gin investigates and vows revenge.

    Gin is joined by her handler's son and a sexy police officer in her search for the Air elemental that is out to get her. Talk about awkward situations though, the sexy police officer, Donovan Caine is pissed because Gin killed his partner. Add in all the sexual tension between the two and it just got that much more interesting. Gin is a strong female lead character that does not give up. The plot was enjoyable and the narrator on the audiobook was spot on. I can't believe it took me this long to start this series, but I really enjoyed it and will be reading the second book soon. I highly suggest Spider's Bite if you enjoy Urban Fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Have not finished but love the first sentence

    This book rocks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Wow

    This was an amazing book. The first sentznce is creepy "i kill peole" stalker! That made me not want to read this bestseller of epic violence but u must read on write more and more author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 416 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21