Customer Reviews for

Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 414 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This book had me from page one. This book had great characters that you cant help but like and a fast-paced and action packed plot. And best of all, it wasn't dripping with to much sex. If her next books are just as good I can see putting her on my top 10 favorite autho...
This book had me from page one. This book had great characters that you cant help but like and a fast-paced and action packed plot. And best of all, it wasn't dripping with to much sex. If her next books are just as good I can see putting her on my top 10 favorite authors.
Anyone who likes Butcher, Kim Harrison, or Patrica Briggs would like this one as well.

posted by jgmme on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Pass it up

Spider's Bite was a story I could not take seriously. The main character, Gin, was just not believeable. She describes herself as a cold blooded assasin. She "gets people dead". Gin just does not come across as a killer. The character development is so shallow, I could ...
Spider's Bite was a story I could not take seriously. The main character, Gin, was just not believeable. She describes herself as a cold blooded assasin. She "gets people dead". Gin just does not come across as a killer. The character development is so shallow, I could not either love or hate her, or develope any feeling for her. The book seems to be thrown together. Much of the detail is overdone. Describing how she makes a sandwich, down to the type of cheeze, bread and pickles is like reading Martha Stewart. And, detracts from the story. There are nonhuman characters thrown in, vampires, giants and dwarves. But they do not have any superhuman powers. Sunlight does not bother the vampires. They are as vulnerable to knives, bullets and fists as any human. The vampires are not stronger or faster than humans. All the female prostitute are vampires. And they enjoy liquor. The only difference is the vampires have fangs and drink blood. It is as if vampires and the others were thrown into the story just to get on the paranormal bandwagon. The story also has some very steamy explicit sex scenes. Not that I am opposed to explicit sex, but it adds nothing to the story and seems out of place. Agin, like these scenes are added just to be adding sex. There are redundant phrases way overused. When Gin is describing something she likes, like sex or good food, the paragraph always ends with "Mmm". Over and over again. Her favorite phrases, "get dead" and "sloppy sloppy sloppy" get a little annoying. The fictional city of Ashland, where the story takes place, is a typical urban setting with malls, a college, parks and stores. Not the dark and seedy back drop that would have been appropriate for this type of story. The writing style and phrasing seems disjointed. There was never a point in the book where I really cared about reading further. I finished the book for no other reason than I paid for it.

posted by vampyre666 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written, captivating escapism in the fantasy genre

    Let me start by saying I enjoy this genre. It allows me to escape from the pressures of the world by tickling that inner part of me that wonders if there is more to our world than we see.

    That being said, this book (with an unusually appropriate cover, by the way), is captivating escapism from the first page onward. The author does a good job of bringing you into the mind and feelings of the lead character, a young lady who has found her calling but is a bit overwhelmed by it - to be an assassin of bad guys - many of whom have supernatural attributes.

    We all talk about fairness, equal rights, and all that, but deep inside we thrill to the bad guy getting his just due - at least I do - and this book touches that primal urge, as the bad guys lose. There is a touch of sensuality but nothing overt - enough to give that needed dimension to the lead character.

    Her writing reminds me of Patricia Brigg's writing - the Mercy Thompson series. She is consistent, articulate, and filled with touches of dramatic omnipotence. You always want to jump ahead to see how the story unfolds, but you don't want to miss any details.

    The book is free of those 'dead' pages where authors sometimes seem to want to display their knowledge of underworld legends while letting the story line sit and fester. Rather she is able to weave those concepts into the story without slowing the pace. Quite a difficult thing to achieve, I believe. I am impressed.

    The book cover is unusually appropriate. I don't think that the character depicted on the cover matches some descriptors of her scattered throughout the book. But the pose and stature shown and the implied temperament of the character on the cover gave me a visual image to use as I read through the early chapters, and it worked for me positively.

    On the down side, true, there are a few places where it is difficult to stretch the imagination far enough to mnake it believable, even for fantasy, but in general, I think this book is one of the best ones I have read in this genre.

    I think this is her first or at least an early book for her. I hope that she develops a fan base and that her work continues, and that she continues to write stories involving this interesting character.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    i really enjoyed this book. it was a fun story to read. and the

    i really enjoyed this book. it was a fun story to read. and the story line was very interesting. the book starts off with a bang that totally catches your attention which was fantastic. i definately fell in love with the main character, gin. shes portrayed as a strong and independent women. people might think that its unrealistic or watevers because shes an assassin that is supposed to be a cold hearted killer yet she struggles with her inner demons of caring for love ones. i dont understand how that would be unrealistic? shes still human so of course she has human emotions. its just she hides it well because shes an assassin and the fact that her family was murdered. overall i loved the book. the whole entire series i found very entertaining and i enjoyed it very much however, the one thing i did have a problem was with this book is that throughout the whole entire series there is too much repetition. the author kept talking about gins past even though it was established in the previous books. i found it a waste of time to reread. i like a reminder of what had happened in the previous books and her past but i after the third book i think the reader should know what is going on by the third and fourth and fifth book. it was just so bad that it felt like the author just copied and paste it over to all the books. big big flaw. but i still loved it and i highly recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Fun read I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quick enjoyable story about a resourceful strong woman.

    This book was very entertaining. Plot was good but pretty evident how the book would play out. There were times when details would be repeated but over all the story played out quickly and left you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Good read

    Not too bad once you got into it. Would read more from this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Have not finished but love the first sentence

    This book rocks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Dear spiders bite

    Please shut up

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    A Very Good Start for this Paranormal Series!                  

    A Very Good Start for this Paranormal Series!                                                                                                               Gin tragically and violently lost her family at an early age.  She is an elemental with stone and ice powers.  She was taken in by a man that she saved from death by using one of her powers.  He treated her as his own and trained her as an assassin.  She is one of the best and known as the Spider.  Now she's been framed for a murder she didn't commit.  She must find a way to work with a sexy cop to save herself and her friends before they become victims also.  




    This series has been recommended to me so many times I've lost count.  I have the whole series and have been meaning to start it and finally did!  This was an awesome start to the series and I'm hooked.  The next book in the series is on my nightstand. 




    Very good! 4 Stars!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Great start to the series.

    Great start to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love this series, and this is only the first book!! Characters that you can relate to and situations that feel possible. A great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Very enjoyable.

    Great book, I am working my way through the series and loving each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Loved it

    Can't wait to pick up the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Actually this was pretty good!

    For a fantasy book this was very well written, suspenseful, and kept me reading every chance I got. A pleasant surprise for a book you can't identify with the characters in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    An excellent read

    Very well-written, with a tough but likeable heroine and a great plot. Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    oh yea check this one out

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spider's Bite

    SPIDER'S BITE is an urban fantasy (something new I learned) and is about an elemental assassin named Gin. She is one tough woman and knows how to use a knife. The story begins with completion of one assignment to take on another. Unfortunately, this one does not go as planned and Gin is being hunted not only by the police but the people who hired her. Being an urban fantast this book has its vampires, dwarves, giants and the elementals (another thing I learned). Elementals can use magic through the elements whether it is air, stone, fire or ice. It is interesting to say the least. Jennifer Estep's first story in what seem to be a promising series is quick-paced, action packed and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling and Calculating Fare that Will Have you Admiring the Spider as She Kicks Butt All Over Town.

    Wow is the first word that comes to mind at the end of Jennifer Estep's latest novel. Devouring Spider's Bite within a few hours is a testament to how good it was, how slick its main character Gin Blanco was, and how intriguing Estep's elemental world was. True, it does remind one of similar "elemental" paranormal authors such as Rachel Caine's Warden series and Anya Bast's elemental witches, but Estep's setting in the hamlet of Ashland run but a nearly corrupt government and elemental mob was really interesting and believable. You'll want to guiltily immerse yourself.


    While short on romance, it has enough to entice, and the tug of war between Gin and Donovan is heated, but with an undertone of more. They need to resolve their differences before they can get to that step. There is plenty of plot to make up for that lack and with a never-ending surfeit of fight scenes, readers will engage with the furtive pace. I was especially intrigued about Mab Monroe, the underworld leader of Ashland and a Fire elemental not to be trifled with. Estep has alluded that in Web of Lies, her next installment, there is likely to be a confrontation between Gin and Mab. Now that would be quite the conflagration.


    Gin Blanco is stark and kick-butt dangerous and rarely does the reader see her soft underbelly, but that doesn't make her less likeable. As an elemental assassin who can wield both Stone and Ice elements, Gin cannot afford to invest in emotions, but she has them nevertheless. Gin's profession as an assassin is not overly hampered down with regret, just acceptance. Much the same way Larissa Ione's character Sin in Ecstasy Unveiled is adept at her career choice. Estep has managed to infuse us with the knowledge of a Gin who is capable of feeling but is not mired down with a heavy emotional toll. It's simply not in her character. The Spider rises above such petty emotions and calculates in the shadows. This is what Estep wants us to see and teases us inevitably with more.


    Despite comparisons to other paranormal lore, Spider's Bite stands out distinctly. I whipped through this book enjoying every minute of it. Estep's words echo with a verve, a vivacity that some urban fantasy authors cannot duplicate, and readers won't have to flip back and forth to figure out what happened because the plot is both grounded and thrilling.
    (c)Nicola Mattos www.fiendishlybookish.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6