Customer Reviews for

Spider's Revenge (Elemental Assassin Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I loved reading this book. it has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3stars – Ding Dong Ding Dong the witch is dead. I’m

3stars – Ding Dong
Ding Dong the witch is dead. I’m glad that Gin finally got her revenge on Mab and that we get to learn more about some of the secondary characters but I think I may be done with the series. Was it not for the repetition I may have it rat...
3stars – Ding Dong
Ding Dong the witch is dead. I’m glad that Gin finally got her revenge on Mab and that we get to learn more about some of the secondary characters but I think I may be done with the series. Was it not for the repetition I may have it rated higher because underneath the repetition was a decent story bringing closure to that particular storyline

posted by ereadwithme on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    I loved reading this book. it has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Final Showdown

    Here it is.the final showdown with Mab Monroe. Gin has been waiting for this moment since she was thirteen and her family was slaughtered by Mab. Us readers have been waiting anxiously for this moment too! She has trained relentlessly and owes it to everyone she loves to end Mab's life. But, one thing is different. Gin is not the same hard core assassin. She has softened and it is affecting her job. She misses her target. That's right, Gin misses killing Mab with her crossbow and now Mab knows who she is and who her loved ones are. Gin and Owen work together to get everyone to safety but they know that they don't have long. Mab has put a bounty on Gin and Bria's head and every bounty hunter and assassin has gathered to claim them. One pair of assassins, Gentry and Sydney, reminds Gin of herself and Fletcher. When she is cornered by them Gin gets the upper hand but decides to let them go hoping that she doesn't regret it. When Gentry kidnaps Bria, Gin regrets her decision but hopes deep down that Bria won't be harmed before Gin can get to her.

    Own and Gin's relationship is truly tested in Spider's Revenge. Gin comes to terms with the fact that someone can actually love her even with her alternate career and lifestyle. She also learns that what she does affects everyone that she knows and there are consequences for some of her actions. Bria is also coming to terms with what her older sister has is but the family bond is strong and she accepts it. Finn seems to be slowing down on the skirt chasing because he has an eye for Bria but Bria will have nothing to do with him.

    I will stop there with everything because I don't want to give away many details of the book. It is non-stop action as always. Right away in the beginning we are thrown into Gin's attempt on Mab and everything rolls from there. All Estep's characters have evolved and I am curious to see what direction the next installment will take. I really enjoyed getting to know Sophia more. Here story is finally recounted and you just break inside for her! And of course it wouldn't be an Elemental Assassin book if you didn't add in a brownie recipe that made my mouth water. If you haven't read this series yet, you should.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a strong tale in which the story line surpasses fans anticipation

    When stone-ice elemental Gin Blanco was a teen, Mab Monroe the fire elemental murdered her mother and her sister. Gin dedicated her life seeking vengeance. Diligently training for the moment, the cold blooded assassin called Spider has been changed by those who cherish her especially her lover Owen Grayson. Thus when the opportunity arises for the final kill, she misses the shot with her crossbow.

    Mab knows the true identity of Spider and why she targets her. She places an exorbitant amount of money for the head of Spider and Bria the babysitter. Prepared for a lone wolf mano a mano with Mab and her cohorts including a zillion or so bounty hunters, Gin is stunned when those who love her stand at her side.

    Readers, who have anxiously waited for the High Noon showdown in the Elemental Assassins urban fantasy saga (see Spider's Bite, Web of Lies, Venom, Tangled Threads, and Spider's Revenge), will not be disappointed with Spider's Revenge. The heroine has come a long way in preparing to execute her vendetta, but the thing she could not prevent is the love and caring for others that ironically soften her to where her edge may be to dull. Action-packed with a strong cast, Jennifer Estep provides a strong tale in which the story line surpasses fans anticipation.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Love the characters!

    As in every book in this series there is a great plot and great characters that keep you in the story. I always can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    3stars – Ding Dong Ding Dong the witch is dead. I’m

    3stars – Ding Dong
    Ding Dong the witch is dead. I’m glad that Gin finally got her revenge on Mab and that we get to learn more about some of the secondary characters but I think I may be done with the series. Was it not for the repetition I may have it rated higher because underneath the repetition was a decent story bringing closure to that particular storyline

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Greatest book of ALL time

    Awsome pure awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best continuing story in a long time

    Go Spider!! A regular "High Noon" story. It was great that at least one villan got their come uppance and Spider had closure for her kin.
    Of course there must be more adventures coming and I will be looking forward to reading more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Highly recommend

    This 4th book in the Elemental assassins series finally has Gin going up against Mab and her army of henchmen--and bounty hunters--since Mab has gotten frustrated and called in outside help to take down the Spider, Gin's nom-d'morte. It also shows more interaction between Gin and her baby sister, now that they have re-united. The rest of Gin's usual "gang" are there too, and there are re-appearances of those that Gin's helped in the past, all joining in to help protect her.

    Really good read, and I did enjoy having the final confrontation with Mab.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    must read

    as good as the other books in series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    I must say that I was very disappointed in this book. I can't q

    I must say that I was very disappointed in this book. I can't quite put my finger on it but something about this story just rubbed me the wrong way. Maybe it was the story, or lack there of. The fact that with the exception of the last couple of chapters the story was exactly the same as the other four stories before it. Maybe it was the style of writing itself which wasn't exactly how I prefer to have my writers write. Maybe it was the fact that the author seems to go out of her way to be crude just to prove that she can. And maybe it is the fact that if I have to read one more character who thinks that they are in love but also try to tell the world that they are so messed up that they can't admit it, and they certain don't act like it I think I'm gonna have to punch someone in the face. Whatever the case I hope the next one in the series is better otherwise I might finally have to give up on this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This series started off great, but has become very predictable a

    This series started off great, but has become very predictable and repetitive. Estep uses the exact same phrases and descriptions she's used in each of the previous four books. Feels kind of cut-and-paste at this point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    enjoyable series

    I enjoy the series waiting for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    AWSOME BOOK

    A deffiniit must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review: I¿ve been in love with this series since book one. I¿ve

    Review: I’ve been in love with this series since book one. I’ve enjoyed watching Gin grow and her battle with Mab escalate. While there were a few stumbles along the way, Ms Estep is back on track and with this latest installment, she has a winner .

    In Spider’s Revenge, Gin is finally ready to exact her revenge on Mab, who killed most of her family years before. She’s honed her assassin skills and with the support of her friends and family, it’s now time. Over the course of the series, Gin has slowly eliminated Mab’s goons and has crept closer to her ultimate goal. And Mab knows she’s coming. Oh the suspense!

    There are flashbacks galore and all our favorite characters are back. Gin is getting closer to her long-lost sister and her romance with Owen is really heating up. There’s a lot of action and a variety of bad guys to keep the reader on edge.

    But this series isn’t done. I’m really curious to see where this series is going to go… and I can’t wait for By a Thread (Feb 2012) to answer all my unanswered questions.

    Reviewed by: Jen
    Book provided by: Author
    Review orginally posted at Romancing the Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    To firegazer

    I would like a kit. Please send him or her to into the wild res 2.
    ----Emeraldglow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Raymoss

    Can u send two kits to snake result 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Nightstar

    Tango is coming for Firegaze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I woulxd like three

    Can i have sugarkit, sparkkit, and sapphirekit at velvet result one? Thnx! Mossshaddow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Cat

    Ok thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9