Customer Reviews for

Spindle's End

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Magical!

Even though this book was a bit boring at points the ending was amazing!!! I loved this book. I think she lived up to her Beauty and the Beast books with this one, It was a sleeping beauty redone in a special and memorable way... It truely sparkled with magic. I suggest...
Even though this book was a bit boring at points the ending was amazing!!! I loved this book. I think she lived up to her Beauty and the Beast books with this one, It was a sleeping beauty redone in a special and memorable way... It truely sparkled with magic. I suggest it to older readers (ages 14 -20 ) because it is a bit hard to understand because of all of the descriptions each chapter is filled with...!

posted by pinkfairytale on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Expected More

This book was okay, although a bit slow at some parts. It's definitely an interesting take on the fairytale- Sleeping Beauty. It was exciting reading about Rosie's journey as she matured over the 21 years. However, the ending was a huge letdown; I wanted a fairytale end...
This book was okay, although a bit slow at some parts. It's definitely an interesting take on the fairytale- Sleeping Beauty. It was exciting reading about Rosie's journey as she matured over the 21 years. However, the ending was a huge letdown; I wanted a fairytale ending. In my opinion, it sort of ruined the fairytale of Sleeping Beauty. Overall, the book is so-so, although, I can't shake off how disappointing the ending was. Agh.

posted by 8914526 on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Expected More

    This book was okay, although a bit slow at some parts. It's definitely an interesting take on the fairytale- Sleeping Beauty. It was exciting reading about Rosie's journey as she matured over the 21 years. However, the ending was a huge letdown; I wanted a fairytale ending. In my opinion, it sort of ruined the fairytale of Sleeping Beauty. Overall, the book is so-so, although, I can't shake off how disappointing the ending was. Agh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical!

    Even though this book was a bit boring at points the ending was amazing!!! I loved this book. I think she lived up to her Beauty and the Beast books with this one, It was a sleeping beauty redone in a special and memorable way... It truely sparkled with magic. I suggest it to older readers (ages 14 -20 ) because it is a bit hard to understand because of all of the descriptions each chapter is filled with...!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For Younger Readers

    Ok, I'm an overall fan of Robin McKinley's books, and before this book I've been fairly satisfied with her work, but I found this book so boring I didn't even bother to finish it. Of course, The book might have gotten better, but I just couldn't get past the slow, too detailed beginning. Other than that, I felt that the characters were funny and quirky, although at some points kind of dull, and I liked how throughout the book (the part I read anyways) there was always some little joke that lightened the mood while keeping the story on track. Still, I feel this is for young teens, or even younger readers, but I just couldn't get into it. If you're thinking about buying this book, don't bother its not worth it, buy one of the books I suggest below by McKinley, or check it out at the library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    not all it's cracked up to be

    i first saw this book in barnes and noble and glanced at the back. it looked like a good book, but when i read it, this book was a real drag. i am that type of person that has to stick a book through, no matter how bad it is, but this one tempted me to throw it in the trash. McKinley's descriptions go on for pages and pages, and the only good part was the first 25 pages or so and the last 50. everything else in there was boring and slow and just....grr! i expected more out of mckinley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    How in the WORLD could you keep reading this??? I think I stopped before page 100 because I literally felt my brain go numb from the endless rambling. I'm sure it has got some point in it somewhere, but I was half tempted to wage a highlighter on it and highlight all the stuff that would actually contribute to the plot (even said, I would probably only get to highlight about twenty pages out of the 300 some that would be of some interest to the story). This book could be good, but I got confused too often and thrown off by the lengthy descriptions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Great

    This is a great book. I just wish they had her other book "Beauty"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Horrible

    This book was so boring. I mean in this book the author can not stay on topic. I was dissapointed. This book is a disgrace to all of the fairytale world. Thi is the only book i could find that was in my lexile and my favorite topic. It is not not not not not not good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    I was very disappointed with this book.  I read it because I was

    I was very disappointed with this book.  I read it because I was in the mood for a fairy tale escape.  I don't mind when author tries a new take on an old story.  But when I read a story based on a fairy tale, I would like it to retain some of the magic of the original tale.  This story was dry, bland, and retold in a way that was extremely disappointing.  Yes the princess has s curse placed on her by an angry fairy who was not invited to the party.  Yes, the princess is raised by fairies until her 21st birthday.  But the life she lived as described by the author, I found it to be dreary and uninspiring.  Yes there is magic, but this book was not magical.  I found myself flipping through pages just to get through it.  I'm one of those people who hate to not finish a book.  SPOILER ALERT: In the end, the sleeping "princess" isn't even the real princess and she is not awoken by the prince.  She is woken up by a kiss from the real princess.  I found it boring and could not recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun new spin on a fairy tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Loved this book

    Great retelling of the original. Love all of Mckinleys books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Awesome

    A great new take on Sleeping Beauty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Very Boring

    When I started this book it was okay, but it got slow. I like description in stories but this one was overkill. And the ending was so weird that I pretty much zoned out. I could not figure out excactly a what happened because of all the extra stuff! I would only recomend ths book to anyone unless they liked stuffy, mentaly exhausting stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Excellent retelling of Sleeping Beauty

    I loved this version of the Sleeping Beauty story and would recommend it to anyone that enjoys fairytale retellings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Really enjoyable. Well written!

    Spindle's End by Robin McKinley is a detailed, well-written new take on the classic Sleeping Beauty story. It is highly entertaining and a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    She rambled on and on and on...

    This was an extremely BORING book. She would give these extremely long and excruciating descriptions for one little thing. Rediculous and I would not reccomend this book to a friend. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    My Thoughts:

    I absolutely loved this book! It was one of the best fairy-tale rewrites I've ever read. I highly recommend it; it was very clean, well-written, and I had a very hard time putting it down. If you love fairy-tales, you should definitely read this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Sounds good

    Look up BEAUTY ... another great book by robin mckinley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Excellent!

    I have has this for years in book form. Decided to read it again for fun, so I purchased it as a Nook book. As always, it was wonderful. Robin McKinley is a great writer. I would recommend aby of her works.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Cute

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Wonderful book by wonderful author

    This is a creative reworking of the Sleeping Beauty story. The world is so complete, the characters so real, and our heroine is anything but a fragile victim waiting to be rescued!
    Read this book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Loved this version of a classic Piglethero

    I read this book a few years ago and loaned it to a co-worker and never had it returned. I highly recomend this new version of a classic fairy tale. The characters, action, and scenery brougt me right into the book and I loved it! This book should hold the interest of pre-teens to adults. I'll never forget the lovable characters and the villians. Give the book a chance and enjoy the story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7