Customer Reviews for

Spindle's End

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Magical!

Even though this book was a bit boring at points the ending was amazing!!! I loved this book. I think she lived up to her Beauty and the Beast books with this one, It was a sleeping beauty redone in a special and memorable way... It truely sparkled with magic. I suggest...
Even though this book was a bit boring at points the ending was amazing!!! I loved this book. I think she lived up to her Beauty and the Beast books with this one, It was a sleeping beauty redone in a special and memorable way... It truely sparkled with magic. I suggest it to older readers (ages 14 -20 ) because it is a bit hard to understand because of all of the descriptions each chapter is filled with...!

posted by pinkfairytale on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Expected More

This book was okay, although a bit slow at some parts. It's definitely an interesting take on the fairytale- Sleeping Beauty. It was exciting reading about Rosie's journey as she matured over the 21 years. However, the ending was a huge letdown; I wanted a fairytale end...
This book was okay, although a bit slow at some parts. It's definitely an interesting take on the fairytale- Sleeping Beauty. It was exciting reading about Rosie's journey as she matured over the 21 years. However, the ending was a huge letdown; I wanted a fairytale ending. In my opinion, it sort of ruined the fairytale of Sleeping Beauty. Overall, the book is so-so, although, I can't shake off how disappointing the ending was. Agh.

posted by 8914526 on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Expected More

    This book was okay, although a bit slow at some parts. It's definitely an interesting take on the fairytale- Sleeping Beauty. It was exciting reading about Rosie's journey as she matured over the 21 years. However, the ending was a huge letdown; I wanted a fairytale ending. In my opinion, it sort of ruined the fairytale of Sleeping Beauty. Overall, the book is so-so, although, I can't shake off how disappointing the ending was. Agh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Well kinda

    Um I mean i read the book and at first I thought it was good and i couldnt put it down! The ending kinda bugged me though

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    Spindle's End

    Robin McKinley grabbed my attention and yet let it go on the first page. The way she writes is mesmerizing but dull. It is hard to explain. You see, half the time I was sucked into this book, and the other half of the time I was dying of boredom, skimming through the paragraphs of details and descriptions that began to get muddled and boring. It starts with describing a world in which magic is commonplace. A place where magic is controlled but normal. The description of fairies and magicians and how the lands magic was 'so thick and tenacious that it settled over the land like chaulk-dust and over floors like slightly sticky plaster-dust,' goes on for quite a while. Now, don't get me wrong, I have an extreme admiration for details so that you can picture everything in your mind and truly absorb the story, but I began to get bored. However, it began to pick up when McKinley introduced actual characters with dialogue. Katriona is a fairy, though she is skeptical of this, and young, only age 15, at the beginning of this story. She is compassionate and loves her guardian, whom everyone calls Aunt, and admires her skill in magic and charms. Immediately you can tell there is a bond between her and another character named Barder, though it is subtle. But the story truly starts when the Queen finally has a child (her name is the incredibly long Casta Albinia Allegra Dove Minerva Fedelia Aletta Blythe Domina Delicia Aurelia Grace Isabel Griselda Gwyneth Pearl Ruby Coral Lily Iris Briar-Rose) and you begin to see the Sleeping Beauty theme. A name-day is announced and it told that one person from each village may come. Katriona is chosen. It is a long journey, but her skill (which is called baby-magic as it eventually dies out and she will no longer have the skill) of speaking with animals helps her along the way. When she gets there, the evil fairy comes and ruins the festivities by declaring her revenge on the royal family by casting a curse on the baby saying that she will die on her twenty-first birthday by the pricking of her finger on a spindle. We all know that part, of course. Katriona finds it her task of saving/kidnapping the child and bringing her to safety. With the help of the milk of various animals, the child survives and Katriona goes home to Foggy Bottom. Aunt decides that they will call her Rosie. So we follow through their journey of protecting and loving Rosie. We watch and get to know Rosie's very un-princess-like personality, and find ourselves also learning to love and care about her. So you see, the book begins to pick up a faster and more interesting pace after much tried patience from me. The book continues almost like a L.M. Montogomery book with many, many details, that can interest you and bore you. However, I did enjoy it by the end and found the ending satisfying. But though it was very good, and her writing is excellent, I can't say it was a favorite, since so often I felt the need to skim over pages and found myself staring at the wall for a while instead of the book. My favorite books are the ones that suck me in and don't let go. The ones that I don't want to stop reading even when my favorite TV show comes on. And this one wasn't like that. However, I do think that maybe if I had taken the time and forced myself to read every word, I would have understood some things better and maybe would even have a better review. So, I do recommend it, though those who have little patience with slow-paced books might be better off reading something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Okay

    Well, I was madly in love with Robin McKinley's book, The Hero and the Crown, so when I saw this, it grabbed my attention from that wooden bookshelf across the room. When I started to read it, I noticed it really lacked some of that substance to keep me entertained. So overall, it get's three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    disappointing

    my friend had raved and raved about this book, yet when i finally did read it, i found it to be long and too descriptive. at times, she would go completely off topic, and for the next 3 or 4 pages,i'd have to endure her rambling on about something until she finally could get back to the topic at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    Wouldn't recommend it

    I read Spindle's End and even though the plot was intriguing, it was very thin. Add that to the agonizing descriptions, and it made for one of the longest, most excruiating reads ever. The author has a plot that is shallow, and writes excessive detail. I wouldn't recommend it to someone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    Who's the real star in the story THE PRINCESS or PEONY

    I was looking forward to the book after the novel Beauty, very beautifully written and a very original version of Beauty and the Beast. But Spindles End disappointed me because I feel that it did not hold true to the fairy tale. There is a basic construction which exists that made the fairy tale so special and last for so long. It was a different perspective, the princess being the true heroine. But her prince and their relationship was very ambiguous until the end. And the queen's reaction to her daughter in the last paragraphs were heart breaking if you didn't skim through the first few chapters. But the princess not being beautiful was a nice touch because of the conformed image of beauty. And she didn't have to marry her best friends love, Ikor said the bond could be broken.! but that is just my opinion. Wanna debate about it Email me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Confusing

    This book had a very good plot, and very good ideas, but it was extremely confusing. There were many parts of this book that I had to read over because it is just so hard to read. The beginning and the end were good ideas, but the middle was sort-of lost and I personally think, had to point to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1