Customer Reviews for

Spinning Forward

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

Didn't want to put this book down. Fast reading and delightful. One of the best books I;ve read in a long time. Can't wait to try another of her books.

posted by 2576782 on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Appropriate for an older demographic of women readers; not applicable for the under 40 crowd really

This book was general mind candy although not truly relatable to my generation (30-something). If I was 40 or 50-ish & recently divorced or wronged by my partner then maybe I could feel better about the book.

posted by CharlotteReader on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    Didn't want to put this book down. Fast reading and delightful. One of the best books I;ve read in a long time. Can't wait to try another of her books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spinning Forward is an intriguing tale of a woman who gave up her independence

    Fifty-two year old Sydney Webster has no time to grieve the death of her husband in a car crash. Instead she unceremoniously is tossed out of their house and finds herself overwhelmed by debt caused by her late spouse's gambling addiction and to top off her woes, she is the recipient of their adult daughter Monica's anger.

    Her friend Alison invites Sydney to live at her bed-and-breakfast on Cedar Key, Florida. Needing to pay her bills, Sydney, using her hobby, opens a knitting shop to the chagrin of brusque Noah Hale, who wanted the property. While living on the island, Sydney who was adopted decides to seek out her biological parents after meeting the town grouch Sybile, who Alison agrees looks so similar to her that they must be related.

    Spinning Forward is an intriguing tale of a woman who gave up her independence for comfort choosing to ignore her late husband's peccadilloes. In some ways though. Sydney is over fifty, this is a coming of age or perhaps better described as a second chance coming of age saga. Although the romance seems more a requirement that feels unnecessary, the cast is super strong even the evanescent Miss Elly, but this is the unsinkable Sydney's tale from start to finish.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love, Laughter, Friendship - and Secrets!

    "I love a woman that knows what she wants." Sydney Webster in the course of nine months in which this novel takes place discovers that she pretty much hasn't a clue of who she is and what she desires. In fact, she can't initially even figure out who desires to know her better and who thinks the world of her. It seems complacency and acquiescence have been the order of the day for years, so much so that when Syd becomes a widow she is devastated by discovering a secret that will change her life so dramatically it is beyond belief.

    Her best friend Alison invites her to Cedar Key, a small island off the Florida coast, to temporarily live and heal her wounded spirit. But Ali is a true friend who's not afraid to tell the truth and she begins to encourage Syd to try new things, beginning with a job. Then a quirky trait of Sydney's knitting turns out to be so unique that gradually she begins to receive enough orders that she contemplates opening her own business, albeit with a few accidents that almost threaten to ruin the whole notion.

    A series of baiting dialogues occur between Syd and Noah Hale, a middle-aged artist, that are both funny yet filled with tension that makes the reader want to leave the room and slam the door. But there's a looming spark oh so slowly igniting and yearning to be fanned into flames if only each could think before speaking.

    But above all the aforementioned normal scenarios lies a relationship that is mysterious at first and then blossoms into something feisty and yet poignant as Sydney begins to realize she is clashing with and growing to care for a woman who just might be very special to Syd and her daughter, Monica - for a very short time!

    Spinning Forward is a fun, gracious, anxious, romantic, challenging and finally just plain lovely story that was a delight to enjoy and even think about long after the last page was turned.

    Here's to hoping that this is not the last we've heard from Terri Dulong, who has crafted a unique story readers will want to relish and then share with family, good friends and even acquaintances! What an engaging, endearing novel!

    Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on August 31, 2009

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Disapointing

    Could have been very good, no meat. Just no depth, a silly romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    This is a FREE ebook!

    I just wanted to respond to the previous review - I was charged $0.00 for this free ebook - it is FREE!!! Looking forward to reading it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beware! Not a free e-book!

    Don't download this book! Although it is listed as $0.00, you will be charged $9.99. BN customer service insists the book was never listed as free.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Appropriate for an older demographic of women readers; not applicable for the under 40 crowd really

    This book was general mind candy although not truly relatable to my generation (30-something). If I was 40 or 50-ish & recently divorced or wronged by my partner then maybe I could feel better about the book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    Good Read

    This is the first of Terri DuLong's Cedar Key series. I really enjoyed this first book. The characters are real and relatable. This small town is quirky and funny, and the family and neighbors share everything from love to sorrow. If you read Robin Carr or Debbie Macomber's books, you will enjoy Terri DuLongs writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Highly recommended this book

    This was a great book with lots of hope for late life discoveries. It was filled with life lessons on disappointing spouses, lost mothers, self indulged daughters and the great love of a best friend that refuses to allow you to quit, give up or run away. How enchanting to find out that a hobby can become a life line forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    Spinning Forward is a good quick read. I enjoyed the setting and

    Spinning Forward is a good quick read. I enjoyed the setting and storyline; however, I thought Terri DeLong could have been a little more descriptive. A few similes and metaphors would have made this a great book. At one point in the book, the main character says, "I'm at a loss for words." My thought was, and so is the author; with that being said, I was happy to continue the book to the end. About 2/3 of the way through, I found the book hard to put down because I was curious to find out what happens next. Great story. I look forward to reading future books by Terri DuLong & see her progress into a great story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Started reading the free sample..thought it was pretty good book

    Started reading the free sample..thought it was pretty good book until major flub..author had got on the Internet at least  in 1983.needless to say Goodbye Sorry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Fiona? You here?

    Des

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    It's an endearing book with great characters. The story line and characters are very well developed. You become attached to each one. You get wrapped up in their lives and get absorbed into their story. You can't wait to see what happens next. It incorporated my favorite things; seaside small town living, close "knit" community, good friends, strong bonds between the female character and best of all knitting. Each book in this series develops a newly introduced character in the previous book. You can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Fantastic Story of Finding Oneself

    What an amazing look into one woman's journey to finding herself. In the face of tragedy, Sydney learns to love herself, trust herself and others, and finds her feminine soul. Along the way she finds more than she ever thought possible.
    This novel is inspiring, touching, and motivating. A definite must read for women everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    The author of After the War

    Great. I think Alora (love the name) is female! I predict that her Aunt will be murmured and so will Cora by I frgt who they were. And Alora goes out and tries to end the war to try to save everyone else. Read mine at "fields of gold"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Dauntless

    Love, love, LOVE your story!!! It's great! Great characters, great ideas, great EVERYTHING! (I can't think of many good futuristic names... I've thought of some like Froja, Phoebe, Katatonia, and Aryo. I made some lists at Lone Wings all results, under the name "Fang." Also... Ferrin the cat, Terrin the girl! :) )
    -The author of Dauntless (at Afterwards all results)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    2GA2

    Great transitions! Wow, and to top it off it is in first person!- 2GA2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    The Secret of Castle Hill

    Chapter Four ~

    Brolli sighed as she knocked on the old door. Everything seemed to be spinning around her. Her brother's death. The fact that she was sure that Janred was going to leave for war. And her growing worry that Alora might too.
    She knocked on the rusty door again, checking afterward to see if her pink fingernails were chipped.
    The door swung slowly open and an old lady appeared in the door. She was short, with frizzy gray hair and and bright green eyes.
    "Hello Cora." Brolli said as the old lady smiled.
    "Come in, come in!" Cora said in her squeaky old voice, beckoning for Brolli to come inside.
    Almost immediently, one of Cora's cats padded up, letting out a soft murrow.
    "Hello, Harry." Cora said softly, scratching the light brown tom's ears. The cat purred loudly, then stalked off.
    Cora led Brolli into the parlor, where two cats sat on the dusty couch. One was pure white, while the other was black with orange speckles.
    The white cat leaped down and ran over, the other on her tail. "That's Raina." Cora said, pointing to the white cat. "And the other is Hollow."
    Brolli nodded, uniterested.
    "Raina had kittens a few days ago. There's two little white ones, and three that look kind of like Hollow. And the sixth is a blue gray. And the seventh is a light brown kind of like Harry. I haven't pick out names for them yet, but I'm thinking of calling them Freeze, Song, Speckle, Ep, Roon, Ferrin, and Bugg, after my niece." Cora fell silent.
    "No sign of Bugg, then?" Brolli asked.
    "No!' Cora wailed. "I don't know where she went! She's gone!"
    The lady headed for her couch, but suddenly tripped over Hollow and fell to the ground.
    "Cora!" Brolli cried. The lady wasn't moving, but she was sure that Cora was still alive. Anxious and worried, Brolli dashed for the phone.
    # # #
    The phone began to ring loudly. It was a wonder that the old thing still worked.
    I dashed past Logas and ran to the telephone. It was Aunt Brolli!
    I quickly picked it up, unsure what to say.
    "Alora? Janred?" I heard my aunt say.
    "It's me, Alora!"
    "Thank goodness! Cora had an accident and broke her leg. The ambulence is on it's way right now."
    "Is she okay?"
    "I think so. But I'm going to go to the hospital with her, to make sure. I want you and your brother to stay there okay? I don't know when I'll be back home. Probally by tommarrow morning."
    "Okay, Aunt Brolli." I said sadly, knowing that Janred wouldn't be here when she got back, and neither would I.
    "Are you alright?" She asked.
    "I think so."
    "Take care. I'll see you soon."
    "Bye." I said, hanging up.
    The house was once again deathly silent. I sighed, and headed out towards the couch. Logas was already there and I sat down beside him.
    "Logas... I'm sure what I'm going to do." I whispered.
    He said nothing, and I felt another pang of dread grab me.
    What am I going to do?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Just so-so

    This book is very well written but the main character is rather unpleasant. The other characters are better drawn but it's a problem when you can't 'like' the main person the story is focused on. Didn't inspire me to continue with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3