Customer Reviews for

Spinward Fringe Broadcast 0: Origins

Average Rating 4
( 1011 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(480)

4 Star

(270)

3 Star

(141)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Great piece of science fiction!

I started this book not knowing what to expect, but I was quickly drawn into the world the author has created. I had a hard time putting this one down. The characters and situations were very well developed. I am definitely going to be reading more from this author!

posted by CGDave on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Great plot idea but author needs to develop his writing style.

This book had a unique plot idea - so unique, that it held my interest during all 400+ pages. That being said, I have 18 year-old students who write better than this! I kept being distracted from the story by errors: the most common one was the author using the word "...
This book had a unique plot idea - so unique, that it held my interest during all 400+ pages. That being said, I have 18 year-old students who write better than this! I kept being distracted from the story by errors: the most common one was the author using the word "queue" when the word he needed was "cue." There is a difference (just like there is a difference between to, two, and too!) and it was very irritating to see this type of error. The characters weren't well developed, particularly the female characters. The author had a great idea but should have taken more time to really develop his idea and characters - and make this two books. It was also very difficult to follow along when he used first person but meant different people. For example, you read the first several chapters in first person ("I was captain ...") where the character is the Captain of the ship ... then you turn the page and in first person it's saying things like "I wanted to capture that captain." Huh??? The author really needs to understand that writing in first person is fine, but there can only be ONE first person! Once again, I gave as many stars as I did because of the fine idea; the writing was poor.

posted by laurak122 on February 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great plot idea but author needs to develop his writing style.

    This book had a unique plot idea - so unique, that it held my interest during all 400+ pages. That being said, I have 18 year-old students who write better than this! I kept being distracted from the story by errors: the most common one was the author using the word "queue" when the word he needed was "cue." There is a difference (just like there is a difference between to, two, and too!) and it was very irritating to see this type of error. The characters weren't well developed, particularly the female characters. The author had a great idea but should have taken more time to really develop his idea and characters - and make this two books. It was also very difficult to follow along when he used first person but meant different people. For example, you read the first several chapters in first person ("I was captain ...") where the character is the Captain of the ship ... then you turn the page and in first person it's saying things like "I wanted to capture that captain." Huh??? The author really needs to understand that writing in first person is fine, but there can only be ONE first person! Once again, I gave as many stars as I did because of the fine idea; the writing was poor.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Maybe I'm being picky.

    An interesting concept and scenario, but the poor structure of the writing makes it cumbersome and distracting to read. Sentences that turn into paragraphs dependent clauses that require commas or semi-colons to break up the breathless pace all serve to make it feel like you need to take a deep breath before you start reading (see what I mean?).
    Some good editing would have been helpful in tightening up this story.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Good Ole Space Opera

    If you like Space Opera, you'll be quite fond of this omnibus. The story spans three distinct episodes, and you can see improvement in the writing and plot development as you start each new one. The author is improving as he goes along. That speaks well for future offerings by Randolph Lalonde.

    Speaking to this omnibus itself, none of the installments are unworthy of reading. The books move along at a good pace, the main characters are pretty well fleshed out and feel fairly real. There are a couple of moments in the plot that feel a little contrived. Most are in the first book. As I said, the author improves as he goes along. I'd recommend it to a friend who enjoys space opera, and I think I'll be looking to pick up some more books by this author in this setting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Sci-fi has never been my genre of choice, perhaps because I¿m a

    Sci-fi has never been my genre of choice, perhaps because I’m a bit claustrophobic and the idea of being confined to a ship for years and possibly dying the the frozen vacuum of space is a bit, well, awful. However I appreciate how writers of sci-fi stories can be wonderfully imaginative. Free from the limitations of current technologies and geography, writers can pluck choice apples of theoretical physics and bake them into their stories. The pie comes out warm with super sweet gadgets and chewy with fun cosmological science stuff. I love it when authors invent new social and societal structures that are recognizable vectors of current society, with cool original ideas for connecting people across the vastness of space. But regardless of the genre, it is good solid characters, their interactions and personal growth that makes or breaks the story for me.




    And that’s what broke the story for me. With the exception of the character, Oz, I never had any feeling (like nor dislike) for the characters. I had trouble remembering their names, they were just flat, one dimensional things. The author, Randolf LaLonde belabored their development with long discussions that were intended to reveal character depth but in the end just detracted from the story and slowed things down. I kept thinking that a discussion or meeting was somehow important foreshadowing for future events. I would mentally catalog ideas but they never turned into anything. Arg! Perhaps one of the inherent limitations of writing in the first person is that you can only see everyone through the window of one dull character’s eyes. When I mentioned this to my husband, he said, “If he’s really good with the technical stuff he’s probably not that great with people.” Of course! Had Randolf known his strengths better he would have devoted that energy to the plot and technical aspects of the story.  I wouldn't have cared about the characters, they’d just be props in an amazingly interesting story.




    What Mr. Lalonde did well was the application of theoretical physics into the machinery of the story. Their ship is composed of metal that will regenerate itself when damaged, it has inertial dampeners to soften the blow of impacts, they capture a power source that derives energy from a singularity (an itty bitty big bang). They also capture a particle accelerator, and put it to use making antimatter for weapons. The ship can generate worm holes for fast fun travel experiences. Need something? Just go to a handy materializer station. Drop in your garbage, program in what you want, a sandwich say, and it’ll re-scramble the atoms into a hot turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy. Cool. And that’s just the ship.




    The idea that they’re on a “shadow ship” out capturing technology for their home station, Freeground is fun too. The evil corporations are also fun to see operate on a galactic scale. I love how corporate technology is cutting edge (in their time) but mass produced and cheap (like in our time). I liked all the creativity that went into how the disparate governments and corporations and the inevitable politics therein work on a grand galactic scale. *Breathe* He did a great job revealing all of this in small digestible pieces, that you eat up and ask for more. And then the characters start talking again...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    This book is for the age group of 18-40. The author tends to ove

    This book is for the age group of 18-40. The author tends to overstress details. The story line is good but is overpowered by constant details of the scene and the invovled characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    recommend

    do recommend this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Solid Genre Fiction

    This book is actually three novellas combined, about 1250 pages by the ereader. I think that packaging was a good idea as by the end it has hit a good stopping point, and anything earlier would have been unsatisfying. From the conclusion here you could comfortably move on to the other books in the series, or not.

    The writing, plot, and characters are all solid. Nothing amazing, but it is an entertaing read. It does hit kind of a weird point between hard versus squishy scifi, but there's no particularly outrageous howlers. In short, a surprisingly solid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    A Good Clean Space Opera

    I was surprised at the quality of this free book. The story follows a captain and crew of a privateer starship. The difference is that the officers of the crew had been a group of gamers who hacked into the simulation programs for the fleet and beat all the trainees. They are offered a deal: crew the starship under the guise of a rogue vessel and steal, trade or buy badly needed technology for home, a space station in the Rift part of the galaxy or face trial and sure imprisonment. The gamers end up as the officers of the ship. They deal with hostile corporate elements, make deals for some incredible technologies and stay one step ahead of the law. Characterizations are satisfactory, don't expect anything deeper than a TV show. Mr Lalonde's imagination is vast and his details make for some hard science fun. I'm looking forward to Mr. LaLonde's subsequent writing efforts as he polishes his craft. A fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    well done

    Great story and worth the read. great structure and very original

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    nice

    exciting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Good and Bad

    Slow start, quick in the middle, but the last too boring. Not sure I will buy the subsequent books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    good story but where's the editor?

    I had some issues reading this book due to repetitive word use and grammatical problems. The word "whisper" for example is used too many times and inappropriately. I found myself rewriting the sentence so I could read it. Though I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed the story. I really hope that the author reads this and goes through his book with a fine tooth comb.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Decent, but not great

    This book has potential, but falls a bit flat on dialog. I admit that the story kept me interested to the end, a tall order for a fairly long book. It reads like someone's first foray into writing. With a little editing though, this author could be a decent writer. If the other books in the series are a bit more polished, I would consider buying them.

    A good read if you are a sci-fi fan. As a free book there's no reason not to give this book a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8