BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Spire

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fascinatingly the suspense is not driven by action, but by how deep Richard North Patterson enables his fans to know Mark

Football star Mark Darrow receives an athletic scholarship to play at Caldwell College in Wayne, Ohio. While there he discovers the corpse of African-American student Angela Hall. The police arrests Mark's best friend Steve Tillman, who is convicted for murdering the ...
Football star Mark Darrow receives an athletic scholarship to play at Caldwell College in Wayne, Ohio. While there he discovers the corpse of African-American student Angela Hall. The police arrests Mark's best friend Steve Tillman, who is convicted for murdering the coed.

While Mark goes on to law school and becomes a nationally prominent defense attorney, Steve remains in prison insisting he is innocent. Sixteen years since Angela was murdered, Caldwell College is in deep trouble over an embezzlement scandal of a just under a million dollar endowment. Desperate to save the college, Mark's former mentor at the school and current Provost Professor Lionel Farr asks him to return as the school president so that alumni money does not stop. He agrees as a favor for his friend. However, he also looks into the embezzlement that got his predecessor in trouble and the homicide that has locked away his best friend. His efforts has some people wanting him stopped anyway they can even murder.

Fascinatingly the suspense is not driven by action, but by how deep Richard North Patterson enables his fans to know Mark; thus everything that he does or occurs to him is enhanced by him seeming like a relative or close friend. His escapades to learn the truth then and now places the hero in danger from someone who wants the facts to remain interred and if necessary inter the amateur sleuth. Fans will enjoy SPIRE simply because of the dedicated obstinate Mark, who is The Little Engine That Could (die).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Spike It

The author describes this novel as a "psychological thriller' and that is his right. The fact that it has little thrill is the judgment of the reader. It's surprising that such a talented author can write such an uninteresting book. A woman has been killed, the wrong ma...
The author describes this novel as a "psychological thriller' and that is his right. The fact that it has little thrill is the judgment of the reader. It's surprising that such a talented author can write such an uninteresting book. A woman has been killed, the wrong man imprisoned, and all signs point to another man as the killer. So, of course, he couldn't be the one. Not if there was supposed to be psychological thrills. Unfortunately, it doesn't take much for regular thriller readers to figure out who the real killer is. There go the thrills, and the book was only halfway over.

posted by KenCady on September 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    nice "who done it"...

    if you read a lot of mystery "who done it", you may be able to figure it out...nice read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spike It

    The author describes this novel as a "psychological thriller' and that is his right. The fact that it has little thrill is the judgment of the reader. It's surprising that such a talented author can write such an uninteresting book. A woman has been killed, the wrong man imprisoned, and all signs point to another man as the killer. So, of course, he couldn't be the one. Not if there was supposed to be psychological thrills. Unfortunately, it doesn't take much for regular thriller readers to figure out who the real killer is. There go the thrills, and the book was only halfway over.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinatingly the suspense is not driven by action, but by how deep Richard North Patterson enables his fans to know Mark

    Football star Mark Darrow receives an athletic scholarship to play at Caldwell College in Wayne, Ohio. While there he discovers the corpse of African-American student Angela Hall. The police arrests Mark's best friend Steve Tillman, who is convicted for murdering the coed.

    While Mark goes on to law school and becomes a nationally prominent defense attorney, Steve remains in prison insisting he is innocent. Sixteen years since Angela was murdered, Caldwell College is in deep trouble over an embezzlement scandal of a just under a million dollar endowment. Desperate to save the college, Mark's former mentor at the school and current Provost Professor Lionel Farr asks him to return as the school president so that alumni money does not stop. He agrees as a favor for his friend. However, he also looks into the embezzlement that got his predecessor in trouble and the homicide that has locked away his best friend. His efforts has some people wanting him stopped anyway they can even murder.

    Fascinatingly the suspense is not driven by action, but by how deep Richard North Patterson enables his fans to know Mark; thus everything that he does or occurs to him is enhanced by him seeming like a relative or close friend. His escapades to learn the truth then and now places the hero in danger from someone who wants the facts to remain interred and if necessary inter the amateur sleuth. Fans will enjoy SPIRE simply because of the dedicated obstinate Mark, who is The Little Engine That Could (die).

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Very good read

    I found it hard to get into the book but once i did, it had a gripping plot with an unexpected ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    A real dud

    Wouldn't recomment this book at all. Plot was weak kept going back and forth. Really wouldn't recomment it. His other books have been much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Personally I didn't like this book at all. The book was filled

    Personally I didn't like this book at all. The book was filled with all these off the wall words that you had to spend time thinking about what they meant. If he meant to dazzle us with his use of big words instead it just made for heavy reading. I like to be entertained not sent back to college. I thought this truly was a boring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Engaging story

    Although I knew "who did it" quite early in the book (and wondered why it took our "superman" hero so long to figure it out, the book was entertaining and a good read, overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not My Favorite

    This one was a hard read for me. The author used a LOT of big words that made me feel like I needed to have a pocket dictionary with me. I struggled through the pages. I can usually read a paperback in 1 week and this one took me 2. The plot was good though and I didn't see the ending until it was upon me at the very end. I thought I had figured out who the killer was but was wrong. All in all, this book was just okay for me as it moved a little slow and awkward at first by bouncing back and forth from present to past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Great Book

    It will keep you reading nonstop!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this is one of the best. could not stop listening.

    if you like a mystery this one is really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great Book

    This book kept me on pins and needles until the end. Usually I can figure out the killer half way through a book, on this one I guess wrong. The author Richard North Patterson did a wonderful job on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Another page turner from a great author

    I started reading Richard North Patterson's books a number of years ago and always look for his latest. I read this in three days in September, so you know it it good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not up to his standard

    This book had an interesting plot and character development. It is worth reading but just not up to Richard North Patterson's standards. For a great book by this author read "Exiled".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    Good Old Fashioned Mystery Thriller

    It's a good mystery story with a surprise ending. Not as political or complex as Richard North Patterson's other novels. Easy reading. Good for those who enjoy light story telling novels. Not Patterson's best novel but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    Terrific Reading

    This is a "can't put it down book" One of the best books that Richard North Patterson has written. The plot twists and you won't believe the who the guilty party is. Exceptional!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    good quick reading

    follows the basic formula.
    nice short chapters, makes for quick, easy,
    light reading.
    All the books this guy write always look forward
    to reading.
    Sheer pleasure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Worth your time!

    This book was much better than I thought it was going to be. The storyline really captured my attention, and the characters were all interesting on more than a surface level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    Patterson's worst!

    I've been a fan of Patterson for years, looking forward to each new work. In my opinion. Patterson's best work compares to some good Ken Follet novels. In context of his overall work, The Spire is a complete disappointment. Others have noted the ponderous, stilted dialog - it is that bad. More generally, much of the prose is unworthy of a writing workshop excercise. I nearly slammed the book shut after the third description of mildly humid Ohio weather. The romance seems just an excuse to cut and paste a few sex scenes from any of a thousand other novels. The final plot twists are implausible and the finale is just cheap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Not up to his usual standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Writing Style Made This Book Difficult to Read

    Not being familiar with this author I maybe gave up on this book a little prematurely. The first hundred pages the author jumps back and forth between flashbacks and then flashbacks within flashbacks, which made my head spin and had me rereading earlier pages to figure out what characters he was talking about.

    The story focuses on Mark Darrow who is a lawyer who is indebted to a benefactor law professor named Farr. Farr took an interest in Darrow in high school and helped him better his academic performance and get into a college instead of Darrow going on to be a high school football coach.

    Darrow's best friend in high school and college is serving a long sentence for murdering a girl (Angela Hall) during their college years. Farr persuades Darrow (now a successful lawyer) to take over as college president (apparently the current president is being ousted for embezzling school funds).

    While the book description sounds great I had a difficult time slogging through the writing style and tried to force myself to finish the book through normal reading rather than skip to the ending. Knowing the author is well reviewed I will not give up and will perhaps try one of his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3