Customer Reviews for

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2078 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1676)

4 Star

(274)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Series! DONT pass it up!

I agree with "Twilight who". I LOVED the Twilight Saga and have been crazy for that whole series but I was not expecting the thrill and the way I connected to the characters in this series! It has been a wonderful series to read and I'm SO excited for the next book to c...
I agree with "Twilight who". I LOVED the Twilight Saga and have been crazy for that whole series but I was not expecting the thrill and the way I connected to the characters in this series! It has been a wonderful series to read and I'm SO excited for the next book to come out. I read the first 4 books all in one week because I was that excited and wanted more, more and more! I cried, laughed, got angry and clapped! I have the HIGHEST hopes Richelle Mead will not let us down and find some way for Roza (as Dimitri puts it) and her true love Dimitri back together and I'm hoping it comes from the grand healing of Lissa! Rose can be bonded to 2 people...Lissa and Dimitri...how awesome to have them all together. I'm also hoping that dream Rose had with Dimitri being together in the end...is fulfilled in the next book. The twists and turns (Rose's dad) in this series was just incredible and unpredictable. I can NOT see Rose with anyone else...Richelle made that connection between the two of them SO REAL and connected that they shouldn't be with anyone else...just can't see it. I love the dynamics between Rose/Dimitri (soul mates they are) and Rose/Lissa (bond mates). This book should be a movie as other comments have been mentioned. It is a vampire type book but it far more in depth with its characters and they are not just plain old "vamps"...awesome books! It would be an outstanding movie! The characters are young and some are older, which is great for us older people who can connect on a different level. Counting the days down for book #5!

posted by CrazeeLuv on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

LOVE this series - - did NOT like this book

I thought the storyline was lame. It seems like Richelle Mead wrote this book just so she could write a 6th book. I LOVE the VA series and waited a long time for book 5 but was completely let down. When i finished last night, I literally wanted to throw the book at the...
I thought the storyline was lame. It seems like Richelle Mead wrote this book just so she could write a 6th book. I LOVE the VA series and waited a long time for book 5 but was completely let down. When i finished last night, I literally wanted to throw the book at the wall. Rose annoyed me with her "I loooooooooove Dimitri and can't go on without him" feelings; yet, she's shacking up w/Adrian the whole time and she thinks she loves him too. The end was anti-climactic to say the least. I was bored throughout most of the book. As a lover of this series, I was hoping there would be more about Dimitri in this one, but there wasn't. Sorry, Richelle....major let-down! Now we have to wait till December for the final chapter. PLEASE don't let us down w/that one!

posted by Rosalie1313 on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2099 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 105
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    The last 2 books in the series have shown a different side of Rose. She's showing more emotion, putting her self first more offten. I love her as a badass who can take care of her self, and others, but it always annoyed me that she couldn't fully live her life. In this book she's putting herself first. She's still protecing Lissa, but she risked everything for Dimitri. She risked her future for him. All of Mead's book keep me on edge as i'm always shocked at what happenes. These books are so different from Twilight because ROSE CAN KICk ASS! I find myself torn between Dimitri and Adrian in this book. All in all i recommend this book to not just vampire fans, or romance fans but anyone who loved reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spirit Bound

    Finally the fifth book in the highly addictive Vampire Academy series,personally i have been dying to read this novel and now that i did i couldn't wait to write a review.Let me start by saying how shocking this novel was,It continues the story of Rose as she graduates and becomes a guardian officially,They travel to the royal court to get a feel of how life is there.Rose is currently dating Adrian,Lissa still by her side but not often as she is pulled away to attend events and meet the Moroi queen Tatiana,Rose and Lissa break Victor out of jail with lot of hard work and also help from Eddie,They do so to find out if there truly is a cure for Strigoi and apparently there is,Dimitri kidnaps Lissa and Christian on their visit to Lehigh college so the guardians form a huge rescue with Rose tagging along,Lissa has been secretly training to stake a Strigoi with the help of Christian,Serena and Grant her new guardians.It was startling that she was successful in doing so for Dimitri and miraculously he riveted back to Dhampir but upon return to the royal court he is in confinement and refuses to see Rose and says to the ever persistent Rose that his feelings for her are gone much to her shock and heartbreak but she doesn't believe him then all of a sudden she is arrested for the murder of Tatiana that was that most shocking thing of all and so i know i have to grab Last Sacrifice because this novel was amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT!

    I love this series like no other! It is a total cliff hanger an dI find myself reading the books over and over again! The relasionship Rose and Dimitri have is just wonderful and so romantic. It is the best forbidden romance I have ever, ever, ever read! I can't wait til The Last Sacrifice comes out! I just can't wait! You should read the 1st chapter on The Last sacrifice online! It's really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd Ending

    This book had such an odd ending to a long and drawn out story (it was about 500 pages). I was ultimately disappointed since it seemed like such a filler to the series. It's funny, I thought for some reason that this was the last book of the series so I was very angry when this one ended (but later found out that there's another one). It annoyed me how nothing much went on except at the end where it left a huge cliff-hanger. Books like that annoy me because it seems like the author is just making an excuse for you to read the next one. I was also having trouble throughout remembering some of the past references and characters (since it took such a long time for this book to finally come out!). So I wish that Mead had recapped some of the previous events to understand this story a little more. As for the characters, I wasn't pleased with Rose. All the little things that I remember liking about her before were not really present in this book. It seemed like all she could do was chase what she wanted, but little changed in the end. Dimitri, of course, was a let down (I don't want to give too much away). As for Adrian, at the end of Blood Promise, I was into the possibility of him being with Rose. But now that it was actually happening, I didn't feel the same love for him that I felt for Dimitri. Fortunately, I highly doubt that he'll end up with Rose. I think Mead will pull Stephanie Meyer's Edward vs. Jacob thing, but of course Rose, just like Bella, will always run back to her true first love. On a positive note, I enjoyed the adventure and the anticipation that something great will happen and it kept me excited throughout the book. But the fact that it did not live up to this is what was so disappointing. I think the next (final?) book will be amazing so I can't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    love this book

    i dont have the books but my friends have them and i would annoy her until she brought them and the last book i had to wait 3weeks i was going throu withdralws it wasscary but when i finally read spirt bound i was on the edge of my seat and all emotional and i loved it (the book mot the emotional part)....... any age should beable to read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Wonderful read

    I think this series is great and has left me crazy waiting for the next.I love the Rose character and was so sad for dimitri.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    just wonderful

    this series was great i was alot like the other readers i did not want to finish this book knowing there is not another one and now that i finished the last book i pray she writes another one this is such a great story i love this vampire book and i also hope she writes another series about vampires i loved vampire academy it was the best go ahead new readers you won't be up set by this story now i also hope they come out with the movies wouldn't that be great but the books are better then any movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series, love her style

    I'm 50, this is a great read at any age, I didn't want to finish the last book knowing there wasn't another. I got lost in her stories and with an intense life (I'm a CEO of a major software company) that's a good thing. Thx!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great read start from 1st book and u will be hooked like twilight

    this was an awsome book and the entire series is great my daughter loves it and so do i. this incudes her strange angel books a third coming soon. i know we wont miss out on reading it, it gives vampires many type politics and a great grat love story just as good as twilight series it just great i can see a movie out of this one day!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW....talk about edgy!

    Spirit bound does not disappoint! It's full of action and emotions. I think its the best one so far. I really want Rose and Adrian to be an item though without Rose questioning those feelings. The ending was amazing and I'm mad i have to wait to find out what happens....talk about a cliff hanger! This is definitely a series to pick up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I've read

    I've read the whole series, and this one is one of my favorites. I recommend this book for any teen whole likes romantic vampire books. I couldn't put the book down i read it in two days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Wow!!!!

    This seires is mind blowing. From the first book i fell in love with the characters. I love them all. This book Was possibly the most thrilling of them all. This book had so many twisted to it. Just when you think you know where its headed .. it throws sumthing new at you. This is a great read and its a page turner. It kept my hreat racing the whole time . I cant believe i have to wait until December to read wat i hope is the finial installment and makes everything come together. Though im fearful of the turns rose's relationships with Adrian and Dimitri will take. I love them both so much ....Who will she choose. Im dieing to know.... will she even get the chance to considering the biggest turn at the end of the book....... Cant wait to find out in the "Last Sacrifice"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    This Series Is The Crap. Period.

    years ago I used to think the Twilight Series was God of all books but ever since i stumbled upon the Vampire Academy, i fell in love. well more like fell into an obsession. lol. Spirit Bound was such a fantastic book, im about to reread it again after im done typing this ;D

    if your deliberating on reading any one of these books, you need to. stop wasting time. its worth it. i promise :)

    ORDER NOW!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best series I have read!

    This is the 5th book in the Vampire academy series. It was just as good as the first 4 books. I love the author (Richelle Mead) She is great!!! One of the best in my opinion! I also love the way she incorporates all the emotions into the book. This series is a must read!! I recommend it for young adults. Not for pre-teens. YOu will get to love the characters and just beg for the books to keep coming!! This series is one of the BEST I have read!!! I also recommend the "Marked" series by P.C. & Kristin Cast

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Left hanging!

    I have been anticipating this book for 6 months and now that it is finally here I am thrilled! I read the book and was so caught up with the characters and I love Adrian. As far as Rose is concerned she should stay with him. Anyway, as I am nearing the end of the book I figure things will be wrapped up like most books. But NO! It left me hanging big time on so many issues. I only hope that the next book is not 6 months in coming because I can't stand the wait. It is okay to keep your readers coming back for more but this felt like part of the book was forgotten. It may have been a good stopping spot but there were too many lose strings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Transfixed

    OH MY ADRIAN. I've always loved this series and these books have always taken me for a wild ride that i never want to get off of, and Spirit Bound didn't let me down . . .at all. it was thrilling, exciting, sexy and most of all unpredictable. personally, i found myself actually respecting Rose for her bravery and only hopping i could do the same if i were put in bad situations in the real world. but some things she did were just plain stupid and asking for trouble. but the writing is pretty amazing and realistic compared to some of the other books i've read. it kept my heart pounding and me feel like i was actually walking through Rose's shoes, and seeing things through her eyes. it was almost like i could feel the things she felt and touched and wanted to push her to do what i wanted. this book took me back to the Moroi world with ease and it was a thrilling ride. the entire series is amazing and i can't wait for the last book "Last Sacrifice" and i'm even excited for the spin off series! two thumbs and two toes up! :)
    btw: i have really fallen for Adrian Ivashkov

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best vampire series you could ever read!

    I've read MANY vampire series because I had a huge vampire craze back then and now I'm forcefully trying to finish them all, but the Vampire Academy Series is amazing. It's so thrilling and it's very action packed. It keeps you interested and you're always dying to know what happens next. When Rose was struggling to get back into Dmitri's life and at the same time feeling guilty because she was dating Adrian I could feel her pain. It was so upsetting the way Dmitri didn't want to see her and told her he didn't love her anymore that I wanted to cry. I like how Rose's character isn't too modest and a goody-two-shoes like most main characters in books; it makes her more realistic and I could relate to her more. My heart was breaking for her. If you enjoy reading books with passion and love you will definitely get into this one. I couldn't get my nose out of this book in the past 3 days I had it. I always wanted to know what was going to happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME... SPIRIT BOUND WAS JUST AWESOME!!!

    I have read many series. Many, but nothing like this one... I tell you and anyone who likes reading about love and vampires, this is the series for you. The characters are so unique. The passion of Rose trying to save the man she loves, the passion of Lissa who wants to help Rose with Rose's Love that she will risk her life, the passion of Christian for helping Lissa achieve her goal, the passion of Dimitri trying to keep his distance from Rose but yet still willing to sacrifice his freedom for her and finally Adrian who you cannot leave behind who will do anything that he can to help Rose. and of course all the other character who make the book what it is... Honestly this series is a awesome read... It keeps you at the edge of your seat, and the LOVE its just intense. I recommend this to teens and adults who love reading about LOVE real love. I cannot wait to see what happens next. If Rose will go on her journey with Dimitri or will it be Lissa or maybe even Adrian. So now to wait until December 14th, 2010 for the last book... "Last Sacrifice"...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can Rose and Dimitri find their way back to each other?

    The fifth installment to this series finally gives Rose what she wants but as always its never as easy or as simple as that. Rose finds herself caught between her true love Dimitri and new love Adrian. I know that many people are rooting for Rose and Adrian but I have to disagree. Adrian is a good character and is good for Rose but he isnt the one she wants. After all that they have been through, I hope Rose and Dimitri find their way back together in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Graduation is here

    "Mother of ... all intense literature!" I know it was extremely lame but that's all I could come out with on a second when I look up I saw my 8 year old son looking at me with wide eyed fascination. My face must have shown a lot of emotions while reading this book. (carried away much? what's new?) You see this was that part of the book where I Rose was face to face with Dimitri "inside" that warehouse plus a delayed reaction on how Rose treats Adrian. I understand the feelings churning inside of Rose, Mead made sure that I understood and it was nowhere cheesy on how she detailed those feelings. Dimitri broke my heart. being I too was conflicted whether Rose should kill him or not. The Strigoi cure was a bit sketchy too. Sure Robert "said" he had done it before but this coming out from the mouth of a mentally unstable Spirit User yet Rose's faith in that cure was so firm she made is sound like people around her are the ones who are crazy for not even considering it.So it was really crazy when the result was written up.


    Rose never fails to amuse me. Conducting that prison break was a new record but calling the Queen - a sanctimonious b!+ch and insulting the Moroi law was probably the best part. That smart mouth has finally got her in trouble. Too much trouble that the only way that she could get out of it is they escape or if a miracle happens.

    I have developed a new respect for Lisa. I have always dub the Moroi as a wimp, selfish and a bunch of individuals who keeps complaining about the security of their race. Lisa should have been an exception because Christian, Jill and the others that stand by Tasha Ozera's idea of Moroi fighting beside the Guardians certainly had yet Lisa just stands there give moral support sure but a lot of it too was worrying. I understand she had this gentle healing heart and all that soft girly stuff but so much has happened already and it is time to toughen up, physically. And then that wished happened. I am so proud that she can actually get into that level with her overpowering determination to save someone. All through out the four books and I am just now getting why Rose would actually die for her.

    The ending was climactic. As usual, who will Rose choose Dimitri or Adrian? I don't think any of us can deny how worthy is Adrian now. Not even the most heartless of females can resists all those pledge of love and heartache. Especially now that Dimitri came back different. Battling emotional demons and at the highest level of self pity. Really I am infuriated yet I get it. So I am so so torn. The next question, What will happen to Rose? Who is the real perpetrator? How about Lisa? How is this connected to her? Again this is all torture. Why do we have to wait for December...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2099 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 105