Customer Reviews for

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2067 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1667)

4 Star

(274)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Series! DONT pass it up!

I agree with "Twilight who". I LOVED the Twilight Saga and have been crazy for that whole series but I was not expecting the thrill and the way I connected to the characters in this series! It has been a wonderful series to read and I'm SO excited for the next book to c...
I agree with "Twilight who". I LOVED the Twilight Saga and have been crazy for that whole series but I was not expecting the thrill and the way I connected to the characters in this series! It has been a wonderful series to read and I'm SO excited for the next book to come out. I read the first 4 books all in one week because I was that excited and wanted more, more and more! I cried, laughed, got angry and clapped! I have the HIGHEST hopes Richelle Mead will not let us down and find some way for Roza (as Dimitri puts it) and her true love Dimitri back together and I'm hoping it comes from the grand healing of Lissa! Rose can be bonded to 2 people...Lissa and Dimitri...how awesome to have them all together. I'm also hoping that dream Rose had with Dimitri being together in the end...is fulfilled in the next book. The twists and turns (Rose's dad) in this series was just incredible and unpredictable. I can NOT see Rose with anyone else...Richelle made that connection between the two of them SO REAL and connected that they shouldn't be with anyone else...just can't see it. I love the dynamics between Rose/Dimitri (soul mates they are) and Rose/Lissa (bond mates). This book should be a movie as other comments have been mentioned. It is a vampire type book but it far more in depth with its characters and they are not just plain old "vamps"...awesome books! It would be an outstanding movie! The characters are young and some are older, which is great for us older people who can connect on a different level. Counting the days down for book #5!

posted by CrazeeLuv on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

LOVE this series - - did NOT like this book

I thought the storyline was lame. It seems like Richelle Mead wrote this book just so she could write a 6th book. I LOVE the VA series and waited a long time for book 5 but was completely let down. When i finished last night, I literally wanted to throw the book at the...
I thought the storyline was lame. It seems like Richelle Mead wrote this book just so she could write a 6th book. I LOVE the VA series and waited a long time for book 5 but was completely let down. When i finished last night, I literally wanted to throw the book at the wall. Rose annoyed me with her "I loooooooooove Dimitri and can't go on without him" feelings; yet, she's shacking up w/Adrian the whole time and she thinks she loves him too. The end was anti-climactic to say the least. I was bored throughout most of the book. As a lover of this series, I was hoping there would be more about Dimitri in this one, but there wasn't. Sorry, Richelle....major let-down! Now we have to wait till December for the final chapter. PLEASE don't let us down w/that one!

posted by Rosalie1313 on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd Ending

    This book had such an odd ending to a long and drawn out story (it was about 500 pages). I was ultimately disappointed since it seemed like such a filler to the series. It's funny, I thought for some reason that this was the last book of the series so I was very angry when this one ended (but later found out that there's another one). It annoyed me how nothing much went on except at the end where it left a huge cliff-hanger. Books like that annoy me because it seems like the author is just making an excuse for you to read the next one. I was also having trouble throughout remembering some of the past references and characters (since it took such a long time for this book to finally come out!). So I wish that Mead had recapped some of the previous events to understand this story a little more. As for the characters, I wasn't pleased with Rose. All the little things that I remember liking about her before were not really present in this book. It seemed like all she could do was chase what she wanted, but little changed in the end. Dimitri, of course, was a let down (I don't want to give too much away). As for Adrian, at the end of Blood Promise, I was into the possibility of him being with Rose. But now that it was actually happening, I didn't feel the same love for him that I felt for Dimitri. Fortunately, I highly doubt that he'll end up with Rose. I think Mead will pull Stephanie Meyer's Edward vs. Jacob thing, but of course Rose, just like Bella, will always run back to her true first love. On a positive note, I enjoyed the adventure and the anticipation that something great will happen and it kept me excited throughout the book. But the fact that it did not live up to this is what was so disappointing. I think the next (final?) book will be amazing so I can't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Even Mead's blah novels shine brighter than the ones with sparkly covers and formulaic plots.

    SPIRIT BOUND by Richelle Mead (3 stars). Okay, the writing is as solid as ever EXCEPT that all of her characters are OOC (out of character) in this one Vampire Academy novel. But you have to read it to understand the rest of the series. So forget this and just read it anyway. Just be prepared for the characters to piss you off royally. You might even say a few "what the f*cks?!" It's Richelle Mead for heaven's sake. Even her blah novels shine brighter than the ones with sparkly covers and formulaic plots. Thank God for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unrestible blood sucking series....

    The Vampire Academy is not your average typcal vampire story. This series will take you to a jearny that you cant resist and wish you where one of the characters. Through out the series you will never figure out whats really going to happen next....

    First when i read the first book i thought, great, just another twilight series but it changes your mind and you just cant help and get caught with the series. This vampire series is the best through out many others i have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Spirit Bound" by Richelle Mead

    "Spirit Bound" is the fifth installment to Richelle Mead's "Vampire Academy" series, of which I have been a dedicated reader since the beginning. It is not my top rated series, but it holds its own luster. After reading this book, it may have lost some of its shine with me.

    I will not say that "Spirit Bound" was a bad book; on the contrary, it carried on the saga, if you will, of Rose Hathaway and Lissa Dragomir. If you have read Ms Mead's other books in this series, then you must read this one. Perhaps your feelings on this will differ to mine. I hope so.

    Many things happened in this book. Rose and Lissa graduated from St Vladimir's Academy. They both broke into a high profile, well-protected prison and broke out a high profile prisoner. Through information gathered by Rose, Lissa saves, or heals, Dimitri from being Strigoi. Lissa's courage and gift continues to grow. Relationships develop. However, with all that happens in this book, I felt like there was something missing.

    As I continued to read, I felt as if I was reading a report, something that Rose may have had to write for the guardians. The story held a fluidity of facts, which allowed you to follow the lives of each character. However, it did not draw me in by my emotions. The only thing keeping me turning the pages were the facts. I wanted to stay connected as best I could, to the characters in this story.

    As I said, this read like a report or a retelling of a story. It lacked emotion in parts. There lacked any build up of tension or angst that we are so used to experiencing in this series. Some of the fight scenes seemed to lack description or follow through. There was no strong emotion relayed in the love triangle created with Rose, Adrian, and Dimitri. I kept wondering what kind of a pansy ass Adrian was to take a back seat with Rose. I also wondered why Rose and Dimitri did not either break down into a knock down, drag out fight between each other or a forgiving passionate love affair. Their passion seemed lost. All you really experience is a teen who must deal with rejection. Boohoo. Yes, I did cry when Dimitri spoke out some harsh words to Rose, leaving her to feel his rejection. And yes, I really hoped that Rose and Adrian would just get it on and have sex. Instead, she did the one thing we have heard her say repeatedly that she would not do . "She would not become a blood whore." So, instead of sex, she lets him drink her blood.

    Finally, about the last few chapters, I felt some emotion, some angst. The ending did leave me wanting more.

    I hope that in Ms. Mead's next installment, "Last Sacrifice", that she brings back more of the tense emotion and angst that the whole series holds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    What Happened?

    Basically...I'm pissed off at all the characters for one reason or another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4