Customer Reviews for

Spirit Fighter

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

OMG

It is sooooo gooood. I got it at my local barnes and nobles. I havent finished it yet, but it is so good. =D Take a chance and get it.

posted by 9049497 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Jonah Stone is a somewhat-below-average kid, struggling to keep

Jonah Stone is a somewhat-below-average kid, struggling to keep his grades up and avoid getting picked on at school. Until one day, he suddenly seems to be able to do things most athletes can't even do.
That's when Jonah's parents decide it's time to tell him the truth:...
Jonah Stone is a somewhat-below-average kid, struggling to keep his grades up and avoid getting picked on at school. Until one day, he suddenly seems to be able to do things most athletes can't even do.
That's when Jonah's parents decide it's time to tell him the truth: his mother is a nephilim, the daughter of a human and a fallen angel, making Jonah one quarter angel. Suddenly Jonah is a different person - from standing up to the bullies at school to embarking on a mission to rescue his mother after she is abducted by fallen angels.
I was very disturbed by the content of this book, mainly because it is intended for young children - the main character Jonah is thirteen. This isn't something I would want my children reading, for several reasons.
Reason #1 - In Spirit Fighter, Jonah is something of a loser until his 'angel powers' kick in. Then suddenly he's the strongest, fastest kid around. If this is the kind of fiction we're giving our kids to read, how long will it be until a kid who has just flunked a math test or failed to make the football team starts thinking 'Man, if only I was part angel'?
Yes, the nephilim are real beings whose existence is recorded in the Bible. Yes, fallen angels really did have offspring by human women. But on no level is this normal or okay, and we should not be 'normalizing' it by writing modern children's fiction about it. Why would we want our children even thinking about things like that? The Bible makes it clear that the days of the nephilim were dark days, when man's thoughts were only evil continually.
Reason #2 - I'm not convinced that Law's portrayal of parenthood in this story is biblical. I'm a writer, so I do understand that the parents frequently have to be out of the way in order for children to be able to have their big adventures; that being said, in Spirit Fighter, Jonah's mom is kidnapped and the task is apparently something that a fully human person can't do, so Jonah's dad is forced to sit at home against his wishes, doing nothing while Jonah and his sister are sent to rescue their mom with their angel powers.
Reason #3 - I don't like the attitude the author takes towards spiritual warfare. Yes, I absolutely believe in a spiritual realm and spiritual battles being waged around us. I believe that humans are occasionally called to play active roles in these spiritual battles, and sometimes humans are even given glimpses into the spiritual realm. And I believe that God gives us whatever we need to do what He wants us to do. But Jerel Law's portrayal of this - Jonah's sister throwing up a 'force field' around them when they're in danger, an enemy with an opposing force field that saps her strength, a bow and arrows that just materialize when needed - is way too flippant, more like a video game than serious spiritual battle.
Kids don't need to be reading books that are going to make them think spiritual warfare is no big deal ("I'll just say a little prayer, throw up a force field, take down a demonic cougar with a shovel, and it'll all be good, right?"). I understand that this is fiction, but it is fiction written about real spiritual matters - matters that are not something to be toyed with or taken lightly. Yes, even faith as small as a mustard seed can do wondrous things - but the spiritual war going on around us is not something we should be taking as lightly as it is taken in this book.
I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

posted by MaryRuthP on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    OMG

    It is sooooo gooood. I got it at my local barnes and nobles. I havent finished it yet, but it is so good. =D Take a chance and get it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Jonah Stone is a somewhat-below-average kid, struggling to keep

    Jonah Stone is a somewhat-below-average kid, struggling to keep his grades up and avoid getting picked on at school. Until one day, he suddenly seems to be able to do things most athletes can't even do.
    That's when Jonah's parents decide it's time to tell him the truth: his mother is a nephilim, the daughter of a human and a fallen angel, making Jonah one quarter angel. Suddenly Jonah is a different person - from standing up to the bullies at school to embarking on a mission to rescue his mother after she is abducted by fallen angels.
    I was very disturbed by the content of this book, mainly because it is intended for young children - the main character Jonah is thirteen. This isn't something I would want my children reading, for several reasons.
    Reason #1 - In Spirit Fighter, Jonah is something of a loser until his 'angel powers' kick in. Then suddenly he's the strongest, fastest kid around. If this is the kind of fiction we're giving our kids to read, how long will it be until a kid who has just flunked a math test or failed to make the football team starts thinking 'Man, if only I was part angel'?
    Yes, the nephilim are real beings whose existence is recorded in the Bible. Yes, fallen angels really did have offspring by human women. But on no level is this normal or okay, and we should not be 'normalizing' it by writing modern children's fiction about it. Why would we want our children even thinking about things like that? The Bible makes it clear that the days of the nephilim were dark days, when man's thoughts were only evil continually.
    Reason #2 - I'm not convinced that Law's portrayal of parenthood in this story is biblical. I'm a writer, so I do understand that the parents frequently have to be out of the way in order for children to be able to have their big adventures; that being said, in Spirit Fighter, Jonah's mom is kidnapped and the task is apparently something that a fully human person can't do, so Jonah's dad is forced to sit at home against his wishes, doing nothing while Jonah and his sister are sent to rescue their mom with their angel powers.
    Reason #3 - I don't like the attitude the author takes towards spiritual warfare. Yes, I absolutely believe in a spiritual realm and spiritual battles being waged around us. I believe that humans are occasionally called to play active roles in these spiritual battles, and sometimes humans are even given glimpses into the spiritual realm. And I believe that God gives us whatever we need to do what He wants us to do. But Jerel Law's portrayal of this - Jonah's sister throwing up a 'force field' around them when they're in danger, an enemy with an opposing force field that saps her strength, a bow and arrows that just materialize when needed - is way too flippant, more like a video game than serious spiritual battle.
    Kids don't need to be reading books that are going to make them think spiritual warfare is no big deal ("I'll just say a little prayer, throw up a force field, take down a demonic cougar with a shovel, and it'll all be good, right?"). I understand that this is fiction, but it is fiction written about real spiritual matters - matters that are not something to be toyed with or taken lightly. Yes, even faith as small as a mustard seed can do wondrous things - but the spiritual war going on around us is not something we should be taking as lightly as it is taken in this book.
    I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    great Christian book for kids or adults!

    This is one of the most well written Christian Fiction books for kids that I have read yet. It uses the Bible as a tool to help the main characters to save their mother, who is a Nephilim, or the offspring of a fallen angel and a human.

    This story has angels, and it keeps the proper hierarchy/ dogma, guardian angels are different than warrior angels, who are different from Archangels for example. It has actual quotes from the Bible that become literally true when the kids pray to God, who they call Elohim (the Hebrew word for God), for help along the way for example, they are granted the use of the shield of faith, it’s strength is based on their faith in God.

    This book is fast paced and has a ton of action. This book demonstrated several important themes, such as team work, faith in God, that size/age doesn’t matter, even the small/weak can be strong, with the help of the Lord, and that even someone born from sin, can choose to follow God, among others.

    This book would be enjoyed by both girls and boys. The two main characters are siblings and both are strong, faithful kids, who make great role models for young Christians. They have their doubts, but in the end have faith in God, who helps them. There is no sex or any romance or love at all, except the love between family, and towards God.

    I recommend this book for kids of any age, depending on their reading level, probably somewhere around 5th grade, but adults will like this book as well for its powerful message.

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist parents and clergy in recommending appropriate books for kids to read.

    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Spirit Fighter is the ┬┐Percy Jackson series for Christians┬┐, a

    Spirit Fighter is the “Percy Jackson series for Christians”, and is a
    wonderful, fiction for any bookshelf. What if you were told you were
    one quarter angel, how would you respond? When Jonah and Eliza Stone
    are told their mother is a Nephilm, their world is turned upside down.
    Following their mother’s disappearance and the appearance of a world
    they didn’t know existed, the Stone siblings are thrust into a story of
    mystery, danger, and fast paced excitement. It’s a story of the
    supernatural for children of all ages. The writing is well done, the
    plot well told, and the characters are dynamic. A wonderful free read
    for young people today. Score ~ ¿¿¿¿ Violence ~ 2 Indecency ~ None
    Language ~ None Age Appropriateness ~ 10 and above, boys and girls

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson and want to add a spir

    If you like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson and want to add a spiritual twist, then Spirit Fighter may be the book for you.

    My Fav Things: I thought it was a very creative concept and a fun adventure story, great for teaching middle school aged kiddos about spiritual warfare. I enjoyed the use of Scripture, and the explanation given by Henry (a guardian angel) about spiritual warfare.

    My Not So Fav Things: The writing is sometimes awkward and clunky. I found some of the images of the fallen angels to be a little intense for the age range of this book. I found it extremely annoying that the only name any one of the characters gives to God is Elohim. It makes sense if all the angels did that, but the fact that Jonah's parents do too seems weird to me. And speaking of parents, I find it the most annoying that Jonah's dad is a pastor and yet Jonah and Eliza don't seem to be as knowledgeable about prayer, Scripture, spiritual warfare, etc that you would think pastor's kids would grow up knowing about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    #5 out of 5!!!!!!

    Great book. Love the action and adventure. Must have for avid readers. Christion version of Percy Jackson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    This book is packed with action

    This book is great for 11-13 years of age

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    #theJman

    It is at jesus walter res1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    This is a good FANTASY read for all age levels. Keeping in mind

    This is a good FANTASY read for all age levels. Keeping in mind this is a work of FICTION nothing in this book should offend or disturb the reader. The main character is given the traits of an AVERAGE kid his age and some of the typical struggles life can present. The author is targeting a particular age group and I for one am very happy to see this type of option available to my teenager. Will be getting the entire set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Fighter of sprit

    This is a very good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Yes! Such a great book! Loved it

    This was an amazing book. Jonah stone finds out that he is a quarterling. By definition his grandfather is a fallen angel. Jonah and his sister, Eliza set out to find and rescue their mother who is a nephilim or half angel. Elenor their mom was captured by Abaddon or Satan. As Jonah and Eliza are discovering their angelic abilities they must rescue their mother with help from their family's guardiaan angel,Henry. This is a fast paced fantasy with a supernatural twist. Great for any readerlooking for a good series to latch on to. I cant wait to read the next book!

    ~ Anonymous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Loved it! My husband and I read this book with my 11-year-old da

    Loved it! My husband and I read this book with my 11-year-old daughter. It was a very exciting story with an excellent message! We've already bought the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    If you want to join darkclan...

    Go to icy nights res one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great

    It was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Great book I loved it

    It is good for everyone it talks about angels . Itis interaning it is based on genioss love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    Book 1 of a Great Series for Teens and Pre-Teens This book b

    Book 1 of a Great Series for Teens and Pre-Teens




    This book begins with a bang and races from there. I actually got the third book first, but quickly realized that I needed to read books one and two to complete the story. The children learn that they are special kids destined to fight in the spiritual warfare battle of good against evil. What child (or any age for that matter) can resist that! The kids learn to put on their armor when they are called on to go into battle by going to school with others who also have special gifts. The book uses versus from the Bible to back up the story. This should be in every library that has a Harry Potter book, and gifted to every child that loves to read. I would much rather see kids consuming this than Harry Potter. I highly recommend this series for lovers of action and supernatural forces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    AWSOME

    Great book loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Awesome

    I am reading this book and i want to be a teacher and i play school a lot and i feel like this is the perfect book to do while working on the armor of God

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Love it!

    I love these books. Mr.Law has a way withbwords. He came to my school told us ALL about it! I think its cool because it has simalarities from the Bible. You should read this because it is fun and adventureous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Cheis

    Kk

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2