Customer Reviews for

Spirit Walkers: Curse of the Cypress Witch

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Good Game

"Cypress Witch" is a good, entertaining, and very short Nook Tablet game. I finished it in 2.5 hours. That is really short for a G5 game. Normally, I can get 4-6 hours out of one game, depending on the difficulty. At $5 each you should get your moneys worth out of every...
"Cypress Witch" is a good, entertaining, and very short Nook Tablet game. I finished it in 2.5 hours. That is really short for a G5 game. Normally, I can get 4-6 hours out of one game, depending on the difficulty. At $5 each you should get your moneys worth out of every game time. However short, it was fun to play anyway.

Some of the puzzles need more detailed instructions. I had to do the "generate colored smoke" task 3 times before I worked it out. About half of the mini games were do-able for me. The other half abused the "help" or "skip" buttons.

I liked the way that the story was told between sections did not use the usual cgi "cut scenes." Instead it used a series of single frame pictures to keep the story moving quickly. It explained some things, but not everything. It was a unique way to describe the storyline. It worked out well here.

The voice acting was better than usual and seemed to fit the characters this time. Normally, I turn the sound off because it is annoying, distracting, or too loud.

I wish the game was longer. I spent a lot of time on the boat, in the grooms familys home, and decorating tne hotel and grounds. But, the wedding was skipped over. I am disappointed. I would really like to know what happened after they crossed back into their own time. Did they continue camping and hanging out? Did they run away screaming? Did she write a book about their experiences with the good tree witch?

The best things I can say were that the graphics were good. Movement was good. There were no penalties for over clicking. You could find useful items laying around without having to complete a mini game every time.

And it did not say ( ...to be continued... ) I hate that so much! Paying $5 should get you a complete game, unless it is mentioned in the B&N description. (e.g. This is one part of a three part game.)

-AvidReader

posted by AvidReader0 on February 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Although I loved the idea of the game and the game was wonderful as expected coming fom G5 I was disappointed that the game was so short. There was a lot of time spent just walking back and forth. I don't think this is a 5 dollar game maybe 2 or 3.

posted by nermel1982 on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Disappointed

    Although I loved the idea of the game and the game was wonderful as expected coming fom G5 I was disappointed that the game was so short. There was a lot of time spent just walking back and forth. I don't think this is a 5 dollar game maybe 2 or 3.

    52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Okay game

    Great graphics! Wish the game was longer with less narrative and more games.

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Good Game

    "Cypress Witch" is a good, entertaining, and very short Nook Tablet game. I finished it in 2.5 hours. That is really short for a G5 game. Normally, I can get 4-6 hours out of one game, depending on the difficulty. At $5 each you should get your moneys worth out of every game time. However short, it was fun to play anyway.

    Some of the puzzles need more detailed instructions. I had to do the "generate colored smoke" task 3 times before I worked it out. About half of the mini games were do-able for me. The other half abused the "help" or "skip" buttons.

    I liked the way that the story was told between sections did not use the usual cgi "cut scenes." Instead it used a series of single frame pictures to keep the story moving quickly. It explained some things, but not everything. It was a unique way to describe the storyline. It worked out well here.

    The voice acting was better than usual and seemed to fit the characters this time. Normally, I turn the sound off because it is annoying, distracting, or too loud.

    I wish the game was longer. I spent a lot of time on the boat, in the grooms familys home, and decorating tne hotel and grounds. But, the wedding was skipped over. I am disappointed. I would really like to know what happened after they crossed back into their own time. Did they continue camping and hanging out? Did they run away screaming? Did she write a book about their experiences with the good tree witch?

    The best things I can say were that the graphics were good. Movement was good. There were no penalties for over clicking. You could find useful items laying around without having to complete a mini game every time.

    And it did not say ( ...to be continued... ) I hate that so much! Paying $5 should get you a complete game, unless it is mentioned in the B&N description. (e.g. This is one part of a three part game.)

    -AvidReader

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great game. I was to short.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Cyprus witch

    Love the game just wish it had been longer for a 4.99 game

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Shorty

    Great game! The only thing is that it is much too short. It seemed to have ended in the middle of the story.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Ok

    This is a pretty cool game

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    You could do much worse!

    The game looked great and I enjoyed playing it. Fabulous graphics! However, some of the puzzles were aggravating because they required random luck rather than logic or skill - I never could figure out the rug weaving thing, for example. Also - and this is my fault - I found some of the pseudo-mysticism irksome. I should have anticipated that from the name, which is why I take the blame for that aspect. I did enjoy it despite all that, though.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Fun & challenging!

    Another, great G5 game! Fun & challenging!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Annonymous

    No I am not enjoying the game. It refuses to start if you save it and then goes to the start up screen. You have to push play ALOT before it starts and it usually tries to get you to buy another game before it will start. I have a nook hd + and don't feel I should be having this aggravation. I will finish because I like the story and want to see how it ends, otherwise this game would go in the cloud. The story is the only reason it gets a star.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Great game!

    Lots of puzzles. Fun to figure things out. Good story line. Keep these types of games comming they are my favorite. I also loved the Abyss game very cool.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    ( 3 it

    hi this is isaac mccarthy and I love this game my fave

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    La la love it

    I love these clue finder games with hidden object meshed in!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Not hard, but not easy.

    I enjoyed this game. Yes there was alot of time spent walking back and forth, but I found it did not detract from the game. Puzzles were not easy. You had to think or not think as the case may be. It was challenging.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Fun game

    Lots of different activities.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Fun

    Fun

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Spirit walkers

    Always enjoy g5 games. This one was a little different but still great. Annonamous

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Nice game

    Only gave it four stars because it was too short--unless another spirit walker game is coming soon? Worth the money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Love this game

    I love this game


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Spirit walkers

    This game was the best g5 so far and I have been playing quite a few. The graphics......gorgeous. The story great. Puzzles were hard and took a bit of work but were not impossible. Enough hints without giving things away. I highly recommend this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5