Customer Reviews for

Spiritual Warfare for Women: Winning the Battle for Your Home, Family, and Friends

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Get armed for battle!

    Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy is a book written by someone who really knows how to do some battle as the stories that Leighann shares from her own life really help to show the reader that this isn't just a pie- in- the- sky book, but one written by someone whose battled it out in the trenches and lived to tell about it. As I first picked up the book and read the introduction I almost said, maybe I won't read this book after all because if my experience is like that of the authors then maybe I might want to skip some battles and keep things easy, but it turns out that I pressed on and read the book and I'm glad I did, even with the battles that I am facing, but at least I am better prepared. The book is divided up into 4 sections. The first is exploring the great love of God and how that impacts our lives, followed by section 2 where the enemy and his tactics are explored. Part 3 explores the Targets that the enemy tries to get at us with- our marriages, children, friendships, health, church, etc. And lastly in part 4 is finding Victory in Christ through our standing in Him and why we have nothing to fear. I truly appreciated all of the great scripture mentioned at the end of every chapter with great ideas for different tricks with how to commit them to memory. My absolute favorite part of the book was at the end where the author points out 5 stones with which to do battle against the enemy with. Just like David against Goliath she delves into what those stones are and how they can help you to stand against the enemy- perseverance, faith, confidence, etc. This is one of those books that will stay on my shelf so that I can refer back to it again and again. I am a woman of God, wife, mother, friend and ministry worker who wants to be fully armed for battle and this book helps me to be ready to do just that. 4 out of 5 stars I was given a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes by the publisher. The review written was my opinion and I was not required to write positive review.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Powerful tool to help women protect their families

    Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy is a powerful tool for women looking to help women win the battle against Satan for their home, family, and friends. McCoy wants to empower readers to recognize the tools Satan uses to attack their lives, but she warns them at the outset, reading this book is a call to battle for the devil. Shortly after she started writing the book McCoy was diagnosed with cancer, her church faced $250,000 in flood damage, and her eighteen-year-old daughter moved in with her boyfriend, turning her back on college scholarships and her family. This isn't a book to be picked up without heavily weighing the possible consequences. Readers who decide to carry on will find a fascinating look at McCoy's personal struggles with spiritual warfare and how she has used the mistakes of her past to teach others. McCoy is a humble and open writer who engages readers through her honesty and genuine love for them. She breaks down the most common areas of attack: marriage, children, friendships, health, and church. I've found myself considering and using several of McCoy's points while reading this book and in the days after. I've recommended it to several people as well for it's down to earth approach and essential information.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Winning the Battle for Home, Family, Friends, and Yourself

    There are many books available on the market about spiritual warfare. I found Leighann McCoy's book, Spiritual Warfare for Women, to be the best I've read and easy to relate to. It's specific, with a cohesive format that brings continuity to the subject of spiritual warfare.

    Leighann's transparency, shown through her own personal stories, helps to bring her points across with clarity. Her life is living proof that God is greater than the enemy.

    Her book is Biblically sound, using Scripture to back up her precepts. Each chapter has personal questions to apply to your own life, a prayer that specifically relates to what you have just learned, and a challenge to memorize God's Word to use in your own spiritual battles.

    She covers four specific parts:

    The Most Powerful Weapon of All-The Love of God (Love's completed work)
    The Enemy Exposed (Warfare is real; Who the enemy is and what he does)
    The Targets in Our Lives (My Marriage, Children, Other Women, Church)
    Victory is Mine (Who I am in Christ; Defeating the enemy; Nothing to fear)

    Leighann's book will help you learn to protect your family, friends, relationships, and yourself during spiritual warfare. "The enemy comes to steal, kill and destroy, but Christ came that we might have life, and that more abundantly," John 10:10. This book will help you separate the enemy's subtle lies from the truth of God's Word for your life.

    Spiritual Warfare for Women is a book that every woman needs on her bookshelf for study and encouragement. Great to use for a Bible study!

    This book was provided by Jim Hart of Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spiritual warfare is real, but through Christ we have the victory!

    With a subtitle like "Winning the Battle for Your Home, Family, and Friends", I was very excited about diving into this book. Spiritual Warfare for Women is split in to four parts. The first part is about the Love of God - the most powerful weapon of all. Many people approach this subject with fear, but Leighann McCoy reminds us that "the best place to anchor your understanding of spiritual warfare is in the firm foundation of God's constant love" (pg. 22). {Amen!} In Part 2 Mrs. McCoy exposes the enemy as she explains who he is and what he does. Spiritual warfare is real. Satan is a liar, and he is especially wanting you to be offended at anyone and with anything. However, again she points back to Christ. "Satan is a formidable foe; that is certain. But he's defeated as well. And you and I have power and authority to whip him every time. Be reminded of this truth" (pg. 98). Part 3 expands on what areas of our lives are targets for attack. The chapters focus on our marriage, children, friendships, health, and church. The finally section encourages the reader with "Victory is Mine." Mrs. McCoy shares the Truth about who we are in Christ, how to defeat out enemy, and why we are to fear not. Any woman who wants to understand this subject of spiritual warfare and the victory we have Christ needs to read Spiritual Warfare for Women. It would also be an excellent resource for group study. I appreciated the way the readers are pointed back to God's Word throughout the book. At the end of each chapter, Leighann McCoy provides a prayer and verses to memorize. This is a great way to help the reader apply the truths they are learning. Knowledge and application of the Truth - that's what I need! Disclosure: I received the book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers' program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Gear Up with This Book

    Bethany House Publishers sent me a courtesy copy of Spiritual Warfare for Women: Winning the Battle for Your Home, Family, and Friends in exchange for a review. Leighann McCoy, author, is a straight-talking, to-the-point lady who wants to empower women with God's spiritual armor for when the enemy attacks. She particularly wants to engage the enemy when women are prone to listen and take heed to those inner whisperings that they aren't measuring up, that they aren't good enough to be the daughter of an awesome King. This book is filled with God's Word and fictional stories to relate some of the verses more definitively to a woman. The latter fourth of the book she informs us how to keep our defenses up and shows women that victory is ours.

    Spiritual Warfare for Women consists of four parts in a bit over two hundred pages. McCoy connects to the reader as she underscores her own battles that she has encountered. If it wasn't for her personal accounts I would find her book a little more difficult to digest. I wasn't brought up to believe in Satan; it has only been in the last few years when I finally submitted my will to the Lord's that I have seen the enemy at work. That being said, the more stringent points were still uncomfortable subject matter for me, though I do agree with them.

    McCoy as a pastor's wife, knowing the talk of Satan is often taboo, emphasizes the need for believers to be aware of their spiritual surroundings. The church doesn't need believers running around in ignorance. The Bible pointedly declares that we are indeed engaged in spiritual warfare. Hats off to Mrs. McCoy for standing her ground! "Because you are a child of the King, you are a target for attack."

    Anytime I pick up a book that even remotely implies that the subject matter is of a darker nature I start cautiously. Due to the fictional stories and the personal accounts of the author I did warm up to the book. I ended up with a lot more dog-eared pages than I imagined. Spiritual Warfare for Women isn't a book for everyone, though it should be. Some ladies just may not be ready for the heavy subject matter. I do hope that if you are ready for battle that you draw on God's power and engage the enemy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    well written

    This is my first experience reading anything by this author and I wasn't sure what it would be like. Let's face it-a lot of these type books are just very boring. But this time I was pleasantly surprised. Leighann McCoy did a great job in getting to the meat of the issue while keeping the attention of the reader. Her book is divided into four parts where she reminds us of the love of God, defines who the enemy is, reveals the targets in our lives and explains how we can have victory in our spiritual warfare. Sprinkled throughout the book are stories of her own personal struggles and victories that help make it more personal. Each chapter ends with a prayer, pertinent scriptures and tips on memorizing them. As I read the book I was encouraged and uplifted by the reminders of just how much God loves us. I believe that every woman can find food for thought in this book. I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishing for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Have

    This is a great book that every woman needs to read. Leighann McCoy is a great writer and I refer back to this book oftern.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    We live in a fallen world and our days are filled with spiritual warfare. Few of us are truly ready for the battle. Not many of us even want to venture to understand our true enemy in this world.
    I appreciate, very much, the "Scriptural foundations and truths" that Leighann has shared in her book to help us understand and prepare ourselves daily for the battle. Relationships and other things are crumbling all around us daily. Yet, few of us stop to realize that we are women who need to stay firmly grounded and protected in God's truths and promises daily. It's not a battle we can fight on our own.
    Leighann has done a great job of sharing her heart and personal circumstances, to convey the truths that can and will anchor us in our trenches.
    I hope others will read this book to help them become more informed and ready for the battle. It's out there, ready or not!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1