Customer Reviews for

Splashtop Remote Desktop

Average Rating 4.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

107 out of 132 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

This app is excellent! I am now able to connect to my desktop fom my nook and do almost anything! Screen res. Could use some adj.

posted by 7667754 on November 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Nifty..

Its cool and easy to use but you have to leave the computer running and you cant move files from computer to nook with it. I dont find it very useful but you might.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    When you purchase a Windows Remote Desktop Client product, you w

    When you purchase a Windows Remote Desktop Client product, you would expect it to work with the native Windows environment and connect via Port 3389. NOT so for Splashtop! They have you install a Splashtop Streamer on your Windows Machines and even have you login to their Server for Streamer 2 function. Streamer uses THREE ports (6xxxx), NONE of these are Port 3389. I was expecting to have to setup Port Forwarding on my Router and know my Router's ISP-provided IP address to get to the particular computer on my home network for Internet Access. I certainly didn't want to get involved in STUN servers or having to depend on Splashtop's Servers to connect to MY computers from the Internet. Besides 99.999 percent of my usage would be on my own 192.168.1.xxx wireless home network around the house with the Color NOOK. I don't do "gaming" and watching Video on a Color NOOK.... well. I basically wanted this for control and some E-Mailing. Does it work for THAT. YES. Do you need to Login to Slashtop to get local function, NO.
    At least the EULA is sensible, the usual "don't reverse engineer" or obfuscate the Copyright information.
    BUT having WHINED about all this, I guess what do you want for $4.99 + Tax? Yeah, it does work, but
    if you have vast IT experience and can handle a Router and manage a Windows Domain and a Cisco Network, then this is NOT for you. Splashtop: I want a Windows Remote Desptop Client for the Color NOOK period, that connects to Windows on Port 3389 and no special anything installed on the target host.
    Can you give me THAT? Her husband the "IT guy".............

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Crashes My Home Network

    Only got this program to work once. Whenever I try to connect to my home pc, my home network crashes. Removed program from my pc. Will possibly try with my Apple Mac at a later date. PC was Windows 7.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Not good!

    This app did NOT work well with my Nook Color. It constantly froze up and made my computer lag as well. Description said I could play facebook games but it didnt work for them at all!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Computer need to be ON at all time!

    Can't access computer if it is not on, i find it not useful.

    6 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Not happy

    I got this so i could access computer from school and ha it wont let me i can when i am in my home but nowhere else

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    X

    This app doesnt work you have to dnld it on your computer also dont buy this app waste of money

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Thumbs down

    This app is awesome sometimes but it will only work when I am at home, and that is only sometimes. I got this so I could work away from home and it's not working

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Anonymous

    Bad app. It wont support nook color.do not get this app

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    This is pure switch and bate

    You cannot use this app outside the range of your wireless network. It is a MASSIVE scam. I will be contacting BBB about this. No different then stealing!

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    No Good for Nook

    Unless I'm mistaken this app does not support dual monitors for Nook devices. Would not recomment

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    really inconvenient.

    dont buy this app. even though it is on sale, it is VERY INCONVENIENT. it wont work if your computer isnt on either

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No powerpc mac support!!!

    The only computers i have are powerpc macs and linux boxes!!! No support whatsoever!!! I spent rhe money for nothing!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    A toy

    I only played with it a few short while, could not do anything except look at screens so I got rid of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Used to work great! Doesn't work any more :-(

    See headline

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Useless

    After an update I am unable to access the app
    A link to fix password does not work
    I feel like I wasted my money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Where iis Streamer???

    I can't find the Streamer app on desktop. Just an endless series o streamer links

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1