Customer Reviews for

Splendors and Glooms

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    To Please tell

    It is and amazing book and even though it costs a lot it is TOTALLY worth it.

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    An amazing and origanal book

    It was a great book,definitly a late night reader.I loved this book so much I read it in three days!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    What a story!

    I absolutely loved this story. Great use of "real" magic, I loved how well it performed as a period peice. Please read the sample if you are unsure if you would like this book. Then get the book. I feel it wont dissapoint.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Very good book.  Couldn't put it down.

    Very good book.  Couldn't put it down.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Splendors and glooms

    AMAZING book. Wow. I think this is my 3 review. A MUST read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not just for kids, it is a magical world for the young of heart

    Not just for kids, it is a magical world for the young of heart at any age.

    I picked it up to give to my son to read and loved it myself. Written by a Newberry Medal Winner who never delivers a less-than-stellar book. A confused little girl. A master puppeteer. A missing child. A witch. Betrayal via a criminal past of one you trust. Dickens-era locale. Mystery. Magic. Written for ages 9 and up, but caution for kids: the initial premise begins with reference to the death of children and the guilt of the child who survived. Once I started, I couldn't put it down.
    - Clay Stafford, author and founder of Killer Nashville

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    I was wrong.

    I thought this book was depressing, dark, and gruesome when i first started reading it. But yhen i kept reading and i couldnt put it down. It kept me reading past dark (which is not normal for me haha.) Ii found that i could relate a lot to the characters in the book, except grisini :) Dont hesitate to read this book, just read it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Wow- i Loved it!

    A story for kids of all ages!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Great

    I loved it
    Hastercial

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Hi

    Is this worth it! I'm not sure if I should get it?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Read this book!!!

    Splendors and Glooms is an amazing book that captivated me from the first page. It is suspenseful and very well written with just the right amount of hilarity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I love this book!

    It is exciting and captures your attention almost as soon as you pick up the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Anything helpful?

    I only bought the sample, is it a good book or should I not waste my money on it?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Ivan

    Sad

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Comment

    Just sayin, i think that the nook should have apps like clash of clans, bloons tower defense 5, wipeout, and real temple run

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    To below...

    Bla bla bla you do not make sense stop yakin'

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Fascinating, unusual, wonderful for all ages

    SPLENDORS AND GLOOMS takes magic and fantasy a dark direction at the same time that the young characters attain strength, dignity, and the light of goodness. A Dickensian world creates a realistic background for hard choices and compromised morality, as the orphans, Parsefall and Lizzie Rose, come to grips with the danger to themselves and others. Parsefall,in particular, copes with that world by compromise and manipulation, even as his true self comes to the fore when he begins to comprehend what the puppet master has created. The Wintermute family provide readers with an understanding of the tragic elements of Victorian life for even the rich, when death, unexpected and terrible, alters their world forever. Retreat from joy, survivor guilt, and adherence to mourning control Clara's life to the point that she becomes a participant in her own abduction--unwilling though she is--to escape her stifling existence in the splendor of her own home.

    Witches, puppets, the battle between good and evil, and the innocence of children come together in a morality play that never preaches. Even the names evoke time and place--and they indicate the reading level expected. This is no simple children's story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1