Customer Reviews for

Split

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Such a good book.

    I couldn't put it down - it's a detailed and great story without being too dark and heavy to read. His emotions are described in words, but there's also room for you to read between the lines yourself. Best book I've read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    life in a harsh world

    The story is about Jace, a teenager who lead a tough life in his parents home. His mother was abused by his father and Jace stepped in the way and took the beatings so she would not get hurt. He gets thrown out of the house when he hits his dad, and he drives fifteen hours away to a place he had never heard of, looking for someone he has known his whole life. When he gets there, his life changes drastically, and until he tries to get his mother out of the violent situation she still is in, he realizes that everything that happened when he was a child in his parents home is not his fault.

    This book had my attention the entire time. I never wanted to put it down! It was a very easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Split is a riveting page turner. A seamless narrative, appealing on many levels, Split tackles a powerful topic, made palatable by engaging, well-rounded characters, a plot that keeps you moving, and the kind of details we read fiction for.

    Aside from the heavy issue of domestic abuse, the writer paints a picture of the dynamics of high school relationships with intimacy and accuracy (specifically dealing with competition and how we treat the opposite sex), delves into a scarred relationship between two brothers and asks the questions: What can we ask of family? Is it ever too late? Young readers will also be drawn in by the questions: What is inside me and what have I learned? Can I be a better person?

    You will be with Jace every step of his journey, rooting for him in all his humanity.

    A positive, but real message about the truth and consequences of a family living with violence and what lies beyond that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    An invaluable glimpse of an ugly reality that all kids will see

    I read "Split" with gritted teeth. As the mother of two young sons, it wasn't pleasant to think that this would be a story relevant to their childhood. Thinking back to my own childhood, however, it was a fact of life that I accepted without question. Also not pleasant to think.

    Swati made me think about it, however. "Split" is an unflinching, unapologetic look at the pathological devastation a battering husband and father can strew across generations of his family and everyone around them.

    Swati made me realize that my family doesn't live in a bubble. Even if my kids' home life is "normal" (and somebody can explain to me what that means), chances are that one of their friends, classmates, or teammates lives with an abuser.

    "Split" is a blinding halogen spotlight, glaring at the life of Jace Witherspoon. As if it weren't hard enough to be the teenage son of a highly successful father, he's also the younger son of a batterer and his doormat wife. In my own mind, it's a draw as to which of the two parents is more cruel: the one who batters or the one who allows it to continue, but that's neither here nor there. Swati does not let you avert your eyes. She does not sugarcoat, omit or elide scenes because they are ugly. Jace has to deal the ugly, and we're in it with him, so we do, too.

    Jace is no hero, if we look only at his actions. He, too, has a terrible temper and hides a terrible secret. We can see that simmering inside his head. But he has the potential to rise above his nature and his upbringing and overcome the baser instincts to lash out and become like his father. Swati doesn't go into the "nature/nurture" argument (it doesn't address how to solve the problem; and that's the goal we need to attempt). Instead, she directs our attention to Jace's own self-determination, which is an empowering theme for any adolescent reader. "You are who you choose to be" seems to be the takeaway. And isn't it the goal of every child to become his or her own person, separate from parental advice or expectations?

    There are no Darth Vader vs Luke Skywalker moments in this novel. Those aren't plausible in real life anyway. There is no quick fix. That's another quality lesson to learn. Life doesn't consist of 30-minute episodes with laugh tracks and an eccentric neighbor.

    The more I considered "Split," the more I realized that Swati is showing her readers something real and valuable. It's not pretty, but neither is life. Parents, teachers, mentors, advisors.we all have to have these difficult conversations with the kids we are invested in because they will have questions that we can't leave hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3