Customer Reviews for

Split Second

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ROX!!!!!!(OUT LOUD)

I think Split Second is one of the most captivating books I've ever read.It is a spine tingling,bone chilling book! Just like A Perfect Evil& Necessary Evil!All of them fabulous like every other book written by Alex Kava!

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awful

Kava's writing style isn't bad, but follow through is seriously lacking. The heroine is a big fat zero in the likability department. No suspense, nothing to keep you reading. This was my 2nd Kava book and it is my last.

posted by Jenrae on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awful

    Kava's writing style isn't bad, but follow through is seriously lacking. The heroine is a big fat zero in the likability department. No suspense, nothing to keep you reading. This was my 2nd Kava book and it is my last.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    O'Dell no Starling

    To be fair to the author, Mira had given Sharon 'Alex' Kava only six months to produce this followup to A PERFECT EVIL. This, unfortunately, is typical of the publishing industry and its 'Strike while the iron is hot' mindset. <p> It's as obvious in SPLIT SECOND as it was in APE that Kava takes many of her cues from Thomas Harris and his now-legendary Hannibal Lecter series. Harris obviously benefited enormously from being able to take over a decade in writing HANNIBAL, while Kava's editor gave her only one twentieth the time. In fact, Kava had once told me that the first seventeen chapters were written in the first month alone. <p> Still, the so-called central theme of crossing the line separating good and evil in a 'split second' isn't addressed at any appreciable length until the last 60 or so pages of the book. It's a theme that Kava could've explored in a more provocative way even given the brevity of her publishing window, even if for no other reason than in justifying the title. <p> This is a fast read, with smooth pacing, and the return of Nick Morelli, perhaps the most incompetent sheriff in the annals of fiction, is nonetheless a comforting presence. However, many of the male characters, of which there are plenty, are cookie cutter constructs and I find it hard to believe that O'Dell would even still have a badge and a gun given her shrill, strident and paranoid nature throughout the book. AD Cunningham comes across as a washed-out version of Harris's Jack Crawford and Albert Stuckey, too, is a similarly generic serial killer, something that a hack would've created after reading a Writer's Digest book entitled HOW TO CREATE A SERIAL KILLER. <p> The conceit of a killer choosing victims in close proximity to the protagonist is a well-worn theme that has been better employed elsewhere. The denouement, also, is reminiscent of countless other serial killer thrillers in which the heroine has the final confrontation with the bad guy (WATCH ME, CATCH ME, LAST BREATH, SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, etc.). <p> However, Kava seems to have finally done some research in order to make Maggie O'Dell a more believable profiler. However, the author's Catholic sensibilities are reflected in O'Dell and what could have been a rousing love scene (virtually an obligatory ingredient in a Mira book) degenerates into a sloppy handjob because O'Dell is still technically married to her estranged husband Greg. <p> As in the end of APE, Kava sets the stage for the next sequel by occasionally mentioning the Rev. Everett and alluding to Father Keller. I can't help but feel, however, that if Kava were allowed the time, she could create a real winner out of the first meeting between Maggie O'Dell and Albert Stucky that culminated in that Miami warehouse. With the proper treatment, she could make a viable sequel out of that backstory. <p> I'll wait until O'Dell's next adventure comes out in paperback next August or buy a used hard cover on eBay. If Mira cannot give Kava the time to write a better book, then I cannot spend over $23 buying those books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Slow Moving

    After reading A Perfect Evil, which I thoroughly enjoyed, I couldn't wait to read Split Second. I must say that the book just seemed to drag on and didn't have the energy as A Perfect Evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1