Customer Reviews for

Split Second (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci hit a home run !

As a retired cop I was a little hesitant to start this series about federal cops but I found this very believable and a great read.

posted by DewdLM on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

ok

It reads incredibly fast. The ending is what just killed me. Everything was tied together in about two pages it seemed like. Plus the ending itself was surprisingly horrible. Still worth reading though I couldn't put it down till I was finished.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 393 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Baldacci hit a home run !

    As a retired cop I was a little hesitant to start this series about federal cops but I found this very believable and a great read.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling!

    I wasn't sure I would like this author but I am now an avid fan. Good plot, good timing and a good story. What more can you ask for?

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    ok

    It reads incredibly fast. The ending is what just killed me. Everything was tied together in about two pages it seemed like. Plus the ending itself was surprisingly horrible. Still worth reading though I couldn't put it down till I was finished.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    Good book, unpleasant reader

    Audiobook version. Scott Brick's New York accent so thick you could spread it on a bagel is annoying and irritating. He must be an unhappy man because his reading depicts the characters are very combative and not nice people in general. Wish I'd bought the abridged version with someone else reading.

    Great story though. I recommend the book, just not this audio version.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Can't sleep, the book to keep your mind going through the late hours.

    I have not read any of his books where I was let down or found myself putting the book down to do something else. It is always from start to finish, don't let go, continue the reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Awesome book. Baldacci is a terrific write. Exciting.

    Great story line and fast paced. If you like action. This is your book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Great Book

    I have read all of David Balcacci's books and can say I am a fan. All of his books fall into the category of "Hard to put down". Split Second is no different.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A lot of good action

    I enjoyed the action from the start all the way to the finish. Sometimes, Balducci bestsellers are to neatly wrapped up in the end, but I enjoyed the story line and characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    An Odd Couple - But Fun

    This introduction to the King and Maxwell series starts off in great fashion winding two tales together causing the main characters to interwine - fate is a strange mistress indeed.

    The story clips along at a good pace with some believable side characters. However, the conclusion felt rushed with even weaker character development at the end. Also, very, very predictable villian (Really, a tennis ball?).

    Baldacci has got a good duo here even if the plot development is extreme including final character revelations and plot developments that are a little disjointed from the previous even flow of the story.

    If you will just remember that anything is possible where politics are concerned, you'll have a good time with this odd couple and will be looking forward to the next installment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Loved the book!

    I loved this book! I used the audio book and couldn't wait to get back in my car to listen to it! I usually don't read Baldacci but this sounded so interested I decided to try it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Scott Brick stinks!

    I will never again listen to a book read my Scott Brick. He ruins every book I've ever listened to. His voice is so combative and argumentative. He must be a very unhappy person. Authors...PLEASE stop using him!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Hooked from the First Page!

    I got my hands on an advanced copy of this one last week and just couldn't put it down! Baldacci, already recognized for several other great thrillers, has really outdone himself this time around. Excellent plot, intense thrills, awesome characters: This one will top the bestsellers in no time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great book. As usual spell binding, really enjoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I started reading this because a friend recommended it. I wasn't

    I started reading this because a friend recommended it. I wasn't sure what I would think, but I got hooked within the first two chapters! 
    I would describe it as a thriller, crime, and mystery type of novel. Just when you think you got it all figured out, a twist turns it around. At the end, the pieces are put nicely together and everything becomes incredibly clear. The books becomes fast paced at moments, but not overwhelmingly so. It really puts you into the mind of the killer, as well as the main characters. They are all unique and their character developed nicely.
    The writing style is not over-bearing either. It is detailed but not to the point that skimming over becomes a habit. Instead, only the necessary details are added and clearly written.
    It is not something easily put down once started. Once you read it, you will become a fan of the series, if only to feel the rush and excitement while reading about crazy chases, gun shoot outs, and crazy clues that make your head spin (in a good way). 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    I love David Baldacci's books and this one certainly lived up to

    I love David Baldacci's books and this one certainly lived up to his books' reputation. Gripping from the very first chapter, I culdn't put it down. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Fast paced, & interesting, will have to add my list of serie

    Fast paced, & interesting, will have to add my list of series' to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Decent Read

    I mistakenly read "Simple Genius" in this series first, and absolutely loved it. Just finished this, and while I'm pleased that I now know King and Maxwell's history/beginning, I was ever so slightly disappointed in the brevity of this novel. Overall, a decent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Hard to put down

    Good read. Lots of twists. Would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Great book

    One of my favorite authors . Gripping story line AAA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    What a great read!

    love the King and Maxwell series. have read them before and now I am putting them on my Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 393 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20