Customer Reviews for

Split Second (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci hit a home run !

As a retired cop I was a little hesitant to start this series about federal cops but I found this very believable and a great read.

posted by DewdLM on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

ok

It reads incredibly fast. The ending is what just killed me. Everything was tied together in about two pages it seemed like. Plus the ending itself was surprisingly horrible. Still worth reading though I couldn't put it down till I was finished.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 391 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Matt

    Ther's nothing here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I recently got into the thriller genre and this is a brilliantly written novel. It keeps you guessing, but at the same time seems realistic which you do not always find. I look forward to reading the second book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    This book goes into the beginning of the King and Maxwell team. I
    am looking forward to reading the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    great book

    i enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Entertaining

    Entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Recommend

    I decided to read the first of the series because of the King and Maxwell series on TV. I was immediately hooked. I have now read Series #1 and #2 and plan on reading the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Awesome book!!!!

    I loved this book and have already ordered the next couple of books in the series. The storyline is a little different than the TV show but the characters are the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    After watching the first season of KING & MAXWELL on TV this

    After watching the first season of KING & MAXWELL on TV this year, I really wanted to begin reading the books that the series was based upon.  Definitely glad that I did.  Lots of similarities to the show, but takes off with it's own plot too.




    Both Sean King and Michelle Maxwell have been Secret Service agents.  King fell out of the Service when the presidential candidate he was guarding was shot on his watch.  He has since set up a lucrative law practice, built himself a beautiful home on the water in Virginia, and has enjoyed all of his water crafts.  Michelle has just lost her presidential candidate when she allowed herself to be talked out of continuously watching the man at a funeral home.  Now King & Maxwell have teamed up to find the missing candidate.




    Enjoyed the building up of the personalities of both King and Maxwell.  Mystery was exciting and chasing down clues and suspects kept me thoroughly involved.  The ending was a bit too much too soon.  Perhaps this is why the TV show has left this mystery as the continuous background "hook" for the series.  Looking forward to reading more in this series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    A must read

    Couldn't put it down, EXCELLENT. A must book to read.

    Carol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Absolutely a must read

    Great background into how the dual came to be; amazing how the TV show adheres to the book!!! Couldn't wait to read the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    good read

    Liked this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I enjoy this author, and after reading Spit Second it confirms I

    I enjoy this author, and after reading Spit Second it confirms I very much like David Baldacci books. A great story that moves quicly.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Very good read

    After seeing a few episodes of the tv show i wanted to read the books. I reallt liked this book. Good story and interesting plot. I never thought the book dragged. I do agree with others that the ending was a little lacking, but overall I highly recommend this book. Now time for the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    Great Read

    Another great page turner by Baldacci. I love his books. He makes it easy to connect with the characters, and the twists and turns keep me coming back for more. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    47 pages

    This is only a sample. Consists of 47 pages. Do not purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Far-fetched and a bit frat-boy-ish. King isn't a particularly c

    Far-fetched and a bit frat-boy-ish. King isn't a particularly compelling or attractive character, yet two supposedly intelligent, savvy, with-it women pant over him, complete with verbal cat-fights? I don't buy it. Dillinger changes her spots shortly after she appears in the story, but the first impression of her is so strong that I can't reconcile the two versions of her. The sight that distracted King enough to let his protectee be shot isn't fully disclosed until the end, but the hints throughout the whole book are so obvious that a yawn is all I could muster when the truth finally came out. The ending comes off like an episode of Batman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    David's fan

    I love all of his books. My first book of his is the Forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Pass!

    Every action movie cliche rolled up with a truly absurd 'plot.' It's a page turner early on but then gets so ridiculous it's hard to read with a straight face. The antagonists are poorly developed and their motives are far fetched and in some cases seem to be thrown in there on a whim without much thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    I have really enjoyed reading the series with the characters Michelle Maxwell and Sean King. The only negative (and I'd still recommend reading them if you like this type of story, detective mystery) is I've felt somewhat let down by the end. In other words, I enjoy the story, become enthralled with it but when it's solved have always (I've read 3 of the series thus far) felt like, "Really, that's it?" So all in all, I'd recommend reading the series, I'd recommend reading them in order but they're still good and easy to follow whatever order you read them in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Weak motive

    Easy read, but the story had too many twists that did not tie together very well. The motive was weak for such a complicated plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 391 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 20