Customer Reviews for

Split Second (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci hit a home run !

As a retired cop I was a little hesitant to start this series about federal cops but I found this very believable and a great read.

posted by DewdLM on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

ok

It reads incredibly fast. The ending is what just killed me. Everything was tied together in about two pages it seemed like. Plus the ending itself was surprisingly horrible. Still worth reading though I couldn't put it down till I was finished.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    It's just okay

    Love the will robie books. This seemed over long, and the ending was dumb. Getting revenge on people who didn't have anything to do with who he wanted revenge on? (trying not to spoil the end for anyone wanting to read)
    Read the Will Robie books inatead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Far-fetched and a bit frat-boy-ish. King isn't a particularly c

    Far-fetched and a bit frat-boy-ish. King isn't a particularly compelling or attractive character, yet two supposedly intelligent, savvy, with-it women pant over him, complete with verbal cat-fights? I don't buy it. Dillinger changes her spots shortly after she appears in the story, but the first impression of her is so strong that I can't reconcile the two versions of her. The sight that distracted King enough to let his protectee be shot isn't fully disclosed until the end, but the hints throughout the whole book are so obvious that a yawn is all I could muster when the truth finally came out. The ending comes off like an episode of Batman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Pass!

    Every action movie cliche rolled up with a truly absurd 'plot.' It's a page turner early on but then gets so ridiculous it's hard to read with a straight face. The antagonists are poorly developed and their motives are far fetched and in some cases seem to be thrown in there on a whim without much thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Weak motive

    Easy read, but the story had too many twists that did not tie together very well. The motive was weak for such a complicated plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Weak

    Plot was weak and predictable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Lame lame lame

    This is a poorly constructed, implausible, soap opera of a book. In no where else, but bad ficiton, would a something like this happen. Blech. Of course...still much better than anything I have ever written. :-'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    DISSAPOINTED

    IT STARTED OUT GOOD , BUT RAN OUT OF STEAM HALF WAY THROUGH. A TWISTED , MADDENING PLOT. I MANAGED TO FINISH IT , BUT WAS VERY DISSAPOINTED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    This Story Drags the Reader to the End

    Not Baldacci's best work--this behind-the-scenes look at the Secret Service gets dragged down with too much irrelevant information and characters that did not keep my interest. Could have used a good editor and a re-write, but I haven't given up on this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    Impossible to believe Baldacci wrote this.

    Mr. Baldacci must be trying to help out a beginning writer - someone who's into melodramatic scenes, feeble dialog, and an inconceivable plot. Next time Mr. Baldacci please don't publish it under your name and disappoint your fans. ABSOLUTE POWER is one of the best thrillers ever written - please, Mr. Baldacci, go back to that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    Not his best work !

    Lots of characters introduced quickly and then it got pretty boring reading. Glad this wasn't the first book of David's I read or I wouldn't of read any others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    suspend your logic when reading this one!

    i've been a baldacci fan for a while but i was SHOCKED by this book. the plot was incredible! you will be forced to make leaps of herculian efforts to retain a grasp of what was going on. it read like a sixteen year-old was writing this. was there some attempt at romance between ANY of the main characters? major personnel's involvement was never explained!!!! it felt like really bad dinner theater; very disappointing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Not up to par

    Hard for me to believe that Baldacci wrote this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    Disappointing Read

    this was certainly not mr baldaccis' best effort; the time frame; # of characters and storyline lacked credibility. It was very difficult keeping track of the characters and their place in the story. I was very disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2