Customer Reviews for

Spontaneous Happiness: A New Path to Emotional Well-Being

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Depression reconsidered:

Anyone seriously interested in this topic should read Robert Whitaker's 2010 book "Anatomy of an epidemic." After that, Weil provides the multiple strategies useful for becoming positively engaged with living.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth Your Time

This book was touted very highly as something new and better than the average self help book. In fact, it is just that. I should have learned long ago that when an author writes more than one self help book, the ones past the first are just more of the same.

posted by Molomolo on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Practical, doable solutions for feeling better

    For many years I have suffered from mild to moderate depression. I found the scientifically based information in this book to be extremely helpful. Dr Weil provides many ideas based in sound research for feeling better. I started with two of the easiest; increased Omega 3 and increased moderate physical activity. Over the course of several months, I have been able to incorporate additional useful suggestions. This book is not a meant to be a magic pill, but rather a set of useful tools that can be tailored by an individual based on what works for them.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Fantastic

    I am extremely grateful I had the opportunity to come across this book. It captured my attention from the start and I picked it up everyday to read after (and still use it for reference often).

    I love how to-the-point he is about depression in general. I've read many sources about depression, saying you can ban it forever- but this book is different, and teaches you depression happens, and how to fight it and overcome it.

    The tips and advice, as well as the plans created are wonderful and ones I do my best to follow everyday. I've never dealt with major depression, but even when the slightest amount of stress or sadness shows up, I've used his methods and have dramatically noticed a difference in my everyday mood. I even often find myself quoting this book to others. I can't recommend it enough.

    This book has changed many little things in my life and I'm happier because of it. You don't have to be dealing with major depression to pick this up and read it- it's for everybody and I highly encourage you to read it and try it out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Extremely helpful

    I've read a few things Dr. Weil has written and seen him interviewed on television. He is very knowledgeable and sensible in every health topic he responds to. Spontaneous Happiness has been most enlightening to me since I associate with people who have "problems being happy" for one reason or another...it helpful for me to know what they are going through mentally and try to be kind and understanding. I recommend this book to everyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Must read

    .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    This book deconstructs the possible causes of depression in laym

    This book deconstructs the possible causes of depression in layman terms and provides possible tools for  modifying them.  Dr. Weil makes you feel comfortable as he shares some his own personal experiences and is never preachy as he  explains possible solutions.  For once I feel like I understand what's going on with my moodiness and will no longer judge myself or feel stuck .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    I want a job!!!!!

    ~missy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Am so excited to get and read this book...

    Am so excited to get and read this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Yrina to Willow

    I got lockd out

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Bye

    I have a deseese that makes you just a pile of skin. Bones erode. Bye.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Suneagle

    Thanks ill have to tell my parents that. Gtg bye

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Turtlestar

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Marvin to kayla

    Go to wolf result 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Will this give me insight

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Excellent information

    Inspiring! Can't wait to read more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Chey

    Kk sexy stuff

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2