Customer Reviews for

Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife

Average Rating 3.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Conditionally, this may be the best book you ever read

This book was amazing and I think it deserves a five star review. But only certain people would like it. First of all, you have to appreciate Mary Roach's style of sarcastic humor. I think it's hilarious but some people don't like sarcasm. Secondly, you have to have an ...
This book was amazing and I think it deserves a five star review. But only certain people would like it. First of all, you have to appreciate Mary Roach's style of sarcastic humor. I think it's hilarious but some people don't like sarcasm. Secondly, you have to have an open mind or a be able to suspend your disbelief. Narrow-minded people who don't look up when someone says "gullible is written on the ceiling" won't enjoy this book. You have to believe from the start that scientific experimentation can measure spiritual phenomena. Also, I'm one of those people who enjoys ghost/haunting shows so if you aren't an avid fan of Ghost Adventures or you're not at all curious about whether ghosts or the afterlife exist, you won't like this book. This book covers many different topics like does the body become lighter at the moment of death as the spirit departs, is reincarnation plausible, are seances legit, near death experiences, etc. I thought it was all very fascinating. You just need an open mind, some curiosity, and a sense of humor to like this book.

P.S. You don't have to be a crazy cat lady or psychic to enjoy this book. Also, if you read Stiff and liked it, Spook is narrated in the exact same way aka it is equally as awesome.

posted by TrickyTasty on December 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Spook left me a little disappointed......

Having read and enjoyed Ms. Roach's previous effort "Stiff," I looked forward to reading Spook. I was a little disappointed however because at the end of the book, you come to realize you haven't really discovered anything. For a book to explore the possibility of life ...
Having read and enjoyed Ms. Roach's previous effort "Stiff," I looked forward to reading Spook. I was a little disappointed however because at the end of the book, you come to realize you haven't really discovered anything. For a book to explore the possibility of life after death, all you come away with the same realization that no one knows for sure what happens to the soul. But it took 200 pages to see I was pretty much right back to the same question. I don't profess to expect her to unlock the secret of course, but I thought the research left a little something to be desired. I guess "Stiff" could be better enjoyed considering it's subject is a tangible matter (even if that matter is corpses). I just felt the Spook was a wasted read.

posted by nycfs on April 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Conditionally, this may be the best book you ever read

    This book was amazing and I think it deserves a five star review. But only certain people would like it. First of all, you have to appreciate Mary Roach's style of sarcastic humor. I think it's hilarious but some people don't like sarcasm. Secondly, you have to have an open mind or a be able to suspend your disbelief. Narrow-minded people who don't look up when someone says "gullible is written on the ceiling" won't enjoy this book. You have to believe from the start that scientific experimentation can measure spiritual phenomena. Also, I'm one of those people who enjoys ghost/haunting shows so if you aren't an avid fan of Ghost Adventures or you're not at all curious about whether ghosts or the afterlife exist, you won't like this book. This book covers many different topics like does the body become lighter at the moment of death as the spirit departs, is reincarnation plausible, are seances legit, near death experiences, etc. I thought it was all very fascinating. You just need an open mind, some curiosity, and a sense of humor to like this book.

    P.S. You don't have to be a crazy cat lady or psychic to enjoy this book. Also, if you read Stiff and liked it, Spook is narrated in the exact same way aka it is equally as awesome.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spook left me a little disappointed......

    Having read and enjoyed Ms. Roach's previous effort "Stiff," I looked forward to reading Spook. I was a little disappointed however because at the end of the book, you come to realize you haven't really discovered anything. For a book to explore the possibility of life after death, all you come away with the same realization that no one knows for sure what happens to the soul. But it took 200 pages to see I was pretty much right back to the same question. I don't profess to expect her to unlock the secret of course, but I thought the research left a little something to be desired. I guess "Stiff" could be better enjoyed considering it's subject is a tangible matter (even if that matter is corpses). I just felt the Spook was a wasted read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    A Little Disappointing

    I've read Stiff and Bonk, both by Mary Roach, and enjoyed them immensely. I was super excited to get this book for Christmas, but found that I was really struggling to get through it. I believe this is her second book, and it sounds like she's struggling with her voice a little: this one read more like a research paper, lacking somewhat in her characteristic sense of humor. The subject matter is interesting, and, as usual, you can tell she knows her stuff, but I didn't find it to be as absorbing as her other books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I was dissapointed with this book after reading "Stiff" by Mary Roach.

    This book was not as entertaining to read as Mary Roach's book "Stiff". It had many interesting facts, yet I was glad when I finished reading it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Not So Good

    I've read a couple of Mary Roach's books and this one was not as good as others, in my opinion. I felt it was an overambitious attempt to answer certain questions. There weren't complete answers and it left me unsatified. I also thought there was too much emphasis on certain parts of science and not enough on other areas. I felt there was too much subjectivity and not enough objectivity, which makes for a bad science-based book.

    But that is my opinion. Mary Roach is a fantastic author that tackles amazing topics! If you like death and the afterlife, I'd get "Stiff" if I were you!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling and Thrilling Read

    Mary Roach followed up Stiff with another home run. Spook is exceptional in both depth and breadth. For me, Mary Roach is what you would have if you combined Michio Kaku and David Sedaris.

    In this clever study of what happens to our spirit and/or soul after death, she presents a witty and entertaining look 12 different arenas that deal directly with after-death. While maintaining a skeptic's edge, Mary nonetheless seems to give the died-in-the-wool (pun intended) believers the benefit of the doubt as she joyfully pursues her research.

    From the silliness of ectoplasm to the sadness of medium school, the author takes us on an original ride that fascinates while repelling and attracting. I really appreciated the footnotes except that I wished she had explored these side roads a bit more. Oh well...maybe in another Roach book.

    I hope you find my opinion helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch
    Author of Wingtips with Spurs

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Not as exciting as I'd hoped

    After reading Stiff, I tried this one. It's a good book, don't get me wrong. Unfortunately it didn't really answer any questions or shed any light on anything new for me. I suppose that's because she subtely debunks a great deal of meta-physical nonsense that so many poeple in the world (not including myself) believe. I went in to this book already feeling a certain way. All she did was show me that I'm most certainly not the only one was ultra-sceptical when the lack of any emprical evidence is provided for mediums, afterlifes, out on a limb Shirley McClaine craziness. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    fantastic

    another fabulously interesting book from mary roach

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun for Anyone

    This is a great read whether you are a believer or not. Like Roach's other work, the book is incredibly well-researched and allows for your own opinions and interpretations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Dissapointing

    Interesting subject, but quickly became bored.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    misleading

    Ms Roach carries on and on about ancient history! She has no more clue to the afterlife than the rest of us! I didn't find the book-on-tape the least bit witty or funny. Discarded it after suffering thru 5 of 6 tapes. Some of us unfamous,quiet souls DO believe in an afterlife. Many of us have had unexplained experiences.It's not funny. It's not to be scoffed at. It's real! Don't look to this book to give you an explanation-she laughs at anything paranormal!Who cares about the ancient pygmies when there's something in your very own bedroom! And Ms Roach:not everything is sexual!

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spook....a terrific follow-up to Stiff

    Mary Roach is an extrodinary writer. The reader accompanies Roach as she travels the globe finding answers, different point of views, and ideas. It is a broad perspective that covers the logical to illogical, always letting the reader draw their own conclusions on the after-life. It is a wonderful follow-up to Stiff, Roach has really mastered the genre.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    Decent Book

    As someone who has interest in science and the unknown, I was looking forward to reading this book. I must admit there were some very good discussions, and the writer explored a number of different experiences. In the end though, was looking for more substance even though the writing style made the book enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Spook

    Mary Roach has quickly become one of my favorite writers. She is funny and interesting, and always picks a provocative subject to write about. Her books are very well researched and besides being entertained I always feel like I learned something. Spook is great (not quite as good as Stiff) and I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read I recommend all of her books

    Mary Roach has a great depth of knowledge of her subject matter and presents it in an understandable, witty and humerous fashion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    It's worth every penny.

    I really enjoyed reading Spook. Mrs. Roach knows her trade. I'm looking forward to read her other two books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Fascinating.

    Mary Roach is like any other person who wonders about the afterlife. She cleverly wrote this book providing background information and experiences on her journey to find out the inevitable question: Is there really an afterlife? Not really for the religious reader, I would say, simply because religious readers know what they believe in and are very passionate about it. But for others, it is definetly one of the most interesting things you will ever read. This book is fascinating and gives you A LOT to talk about. Good for someone seeking answers and information. Not only that, but Mary Roach is hilarious. I literally L-O-L'ed reading this book. It's a book you don't want to put down. Highly (and I mean highly) recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've been laughing aloud reading this book. Her deadpan writing style is great, and the history of spirituality is fascinating, not to mention current research. I can't help but notice that the only negative reviews given this book here are from those who already believe strongly in the ghosties. grin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    What a weird thing death is

    Have you ever wondered what would happen after you die? So did Mary Roach. In her novel Spook she goes on a search for any evidence that can be found about the matter. She first tackles reincarnation, which is being born into another life after you die. To study this, Roach teams up with Kirti S. Rawat and together they traveled to India to interview children ages 2-4 about their past lives. She then tries to figure out if a soul really does exist and if so, does it weigh something and how much? Another question is if one can you actually see a soul and how? Roach also studies a great deal about spiritualism and mediums. Spiritualism is connecting to the dead through mediums, while mediums are people who talk to the dead. In her book she also addresses mental patient ¿voices¿ and how Wilson von Duson thinks them to be actual spirits and not their imagination at all. She also talks about other peoples own experiences with spirits, and how some are their own relatives supposedly come to tell them important news. This mind boggling question is very hard to handle or even just to think about and I give Roach much credit for her novel. I do believe that this novel was very well written. I would probably recommend this book to skeptics about spirits or the after life, even though they would probably become more confused about what they believe after reading this book, as I have. The writing technique was not my favorite but I did like how she explored many solutions to the same question. Mary Roach is a very good writer who tries to answer her own questions along with others, thus I am very much looking forward to reading many more novels by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    It was ok in parts, but then author tries to be too cute when sh

    It was ok in parts, but then author tries to be too cute when she tries to be funny. I get the feeling if you met her, she would be making fun of you as soon as you left. I can't take her seriously, and I will not read any more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6